Mary and The Witch's Flower - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Mary and The Witch's Flower Reviews

Page 1 of 6
May 9, 2019
great story from the Studio Ghibli new series.
½ March 13, 2019
Take Kiki's Delivery Service and Castle in the Sky and mash them together.
March 5, 2019
So near perfect. I was so gripped throughout. Everything about it is top-notch. The only complaint I have is that Mary And Peter go from sort of rivals to BFFS to quickly.
½ February 6, 2019
i don't usually like these type of 1 off anime movies but the animation of this was well done. the voice acting of the English version was outstanding.
December 19, 2018
I really enjoyed this movie on boxxy software I thought it was great.ÔĽŅ
½ December 13, 2018
'Mary and The Witch's Flower', the first film from Studio Ponoc which arose from the remnants of Studio Ghibli, is a 2017 Japanese animated fantasy film directed by Hiromasa Yonebayashi (When Marnie Was There).

The movie is beautiful, it's wonderfully scored, but there's not something about Mary. The film takes a while to fire but when it does it's fun, unfortunately it's short lived. It was very unclear what the villains were attempting to accomplish. Mary was not written as a hero, but rather just someone who was there. The animation is glorious, but next time around let us hope we have a script to match. This is an on the fence recommendation. Final Score: 6.8/10
½ December 7, 2018
A shameless and talentless rip-off of Studio Ghibli. The story is clichÔŅ 1/2 (C) and predictable at best, and the characters and their motives are laughable. The world itself seems very poorly thought through, being derivative not only in an obvious way, but in a way that actually undermines the story itself and the rules it presents.

Truth be told, it's only quote as awful as I'm making it out to be if you compare it to a Studio Ghibli movie. If you think of it as just a kids movie - with no depth or greater meaning to anything that goes on - then it's probably just fine. It has beautiful animation, after all. And if you're showing it to your child, they're not likely to pick apart the characters motives or the plausability of the world itself, and will likely enjoy it simply for the pretty effects and mildly wholesome story aspects.

But I've got to say, my brother and I have been lifelong Ghibli fans, and we couldn't stop finding aspects to criticize for a single minute out of the nearly 2hr long movie.

My favourite part - without a shadow of a doubt - was the epilogue. There was a whole minute or two of wholesome animation undercut by a beautiful song, in which there was no diologue, followed by credits in which the song continued.

In summation, it was a complete and utter waste of nearly two hours.
½ December 2, 2018
A fantastic film by Ghiblis successors
November 30, 2018
I didnt particularly like nor dislike this movie. The story wasn't particularly interesting to me, definitely aimed more at children. The film was very well animated and clear and easy to follow, just really not my type of film.
November 19, 2018
So recently I saw Mary and the Witch's Flower and it was... decent. This is definitely one of those films where even among those interested in anime as a medium will be divided as to whether or not this is a good film or not. It definitely has good qualities to it, but for every positive this movie has, there is a corresponding negative.

The performances were good I suppose, the cinema I saw this movie at played the English dubbed version and so there were well known western actors filling in the roles, Kate Winslet was easily the standout and Jim Broadbent was fun as usual, other than that the movie felt really stale. The main character was really unlikeable, the plot was at times super predictable and at times super confusing, and not in a good way. Some of the plot threads don‚(TM)t even make any sense; so we‚(TM)re supposed to believe that inside a book of spells there is listed a spell that can remove all magic spells (notice I said ‚removes‚? and not ‚undoes‚?) and they say it and all the magic is removed, except the magic taxi people still move, and the Headmistress can still fly, and Mary can still fly on her broomstick. Also if you‚(TM)re going to use a spell that removes magic then doesn‚(TM)t that in itself cancel itself out thereby creating a paradox? There are so many inconsistencies that arise when you write a script that doesn‚(TM)t explain the rules of your universe.
This had the potential to be a really amazing start to the studio‚(TM)s pantheon, but instead this was a beautiful looking disappointment, I only hope that they improve their products in the future‚¶ and I‚(TM)m giving this one a 5/10.
November 19, 2018
This film was both entertaining and somewhat irritating throughout the duration of the film. The hand-drawn art direction typically found in works by Studio Ghibli was a surprise as many animated films use 3d animation instead of the hand-drawn style.

The story attempts to take the audience on an emotional journey by making the main protagonist young and clumsy so that you may sympathize with her, however, due to the film being targeted at children it made it hard to feel any connection to the characters at all which lead to me getting bored of the characters. I can't help but compare this to other films of a similar theme such as Harry Potter which achieved pulling the theme off really well that they were able to create 8 movies from the theme.
November 19, 2018
Horrible Movie, The onlything it has going for it is the art style, The story is pedestrian at BEST, it does not follow a cohesive storyline, half the time im questioning how many things going on in the last half are happening, or why. The whole premise for the girl using magic is completely negated in the last 5 minutes making you question what the point was in the first place. Nothing is explained throughout the movie and do not have any connection to the characters or the world. Overall the film just resembles an animated version of harry potter and was just a terrible film overall.
½ November 19, 2018
For someone who isn't a huge fan of anime, i really enjoyed this film. When i first entered the cinema i noticed i was surrounded by people at least 10 years younger than me, which then lead me to think that this film was targeted at people much more younger than me. However, i thought the film was amazing, from visuals to story line, i was intrigued from the moment i sat down. The creative story line took me away from my daily life where i can sit down and emerge into the magic world. I'd rate this film am 8/10 i would definable watch it again.
½ November 19, 2018
This film was so predictable. No spoilers but its just as soon as the 'bad guys' are seen on screen its very obvious that they are going to turn. However, the it was thoroughly enjoyable despite it being a kids film which predominantly follow a similar narrative yet this was different. The voice acting and script could have been A LOT better. The graphics however were really good explosions and action sequences were spot on with no re-callable flaws that come to mind. Overall a very average film will not be a waste of money but not the best £5 you've ever spent, I am happy I got in free.
½ November 19, 2018
I have not been very interested in anime movies, apart from popular ones, I found this film to be very intriguing for a children's rated movie and was personally a good choice of film to see regarding it being my first one of this genre. The narrative as a whole was quite confusing and a little slow at the beginning, but by the end of the film, was personally quite enjoyable and I got more into the storyline as it started to build up more plot twists and more action was happening- making me understand it alot more than from the beginning of it. Regarding the target audience; I felt quite weird and awkward being one of the only teenge/young adults in the room as I saw it with my college and were the only ones who were not children watching this move. I also do not believe that this film was tailored enough for the mass demographic like stated because; it was definitely a children's film but not much content and/or action/narrative for other ages like it suggested at the beginning of the film in general. However; I did strongly like how the film ended and how her family fitted nicely into Mary's narrative overall, as well as how creative and connected all parts of the narrative was. As the film went on, I only got more and more intrigued by the visuals and how creative and well put together they were in comparison to what I thought the film would turn out to be in the end. Overall; my first actual experience of seeing an Anime Film was a success and great enjoyment.
November 15, 2018
This film was both entertaining and also frustrating throughout the duration of the film.
Mise-en-scene
The iconic hand-drawn art direction is a breath of fresh air and the cinematography emphasizes this by having lots of sweeping drone like shots to show the of the environment.

The story tries to take us as the audience on an emotional roller coaster by getting you to try to sympathise with the main protagonist however this film is targeted for children so i didnt feel any connection to the characters witch lead me to get bored of the film and make connections to other and more famous magical films such as the Harry Potter films, which at the time of me watching those films I was the age of the characters in the film which lead me to relate to them more.

When we first get introduced to the magical world through a flying broomstick and we hear the music pick up to come to a rousing score which climaxes with the revival of the magical world. However at this point, I have already lost interest as the film has failed to make me care for the characters so I feel no obligation to care about what happens with the story.
November 15, 2018
This film was both entertaining and visually pleasing to me as an audience member due to its unusual hand drawn scenes and imaginative concepts. The film itself had a very gripping story-line that certainly played upon my emotions, for different reasons. Mary in the film seems to be a very enthusiastic yet isolated character, which is why I would get happy when something good happens to her.
In terms of Mise on scene, the images and animation like scenery, was very pleasing to see as this type of style is not commonly seen by people my age, since we assume cartoons are for kids. However, this cartoon like imagery, made me feel as if I was in my perfect Utopian world, making me feel at ease and relaxed. Expanding on this further, the high key lighting used throughout the film, really added to this friendly and magical vibe.
At times the fast paced edits worked very well, for example when Mary was riding her broom for the very first time, the accompanied soundtrack and fast transitions, really emphasizes this thrilling atmosphere, ultimately gripping the audience.
The camera angles and shots were very diverse. The film used a lot of drone like shots, which captures the amazing surroundings like trees and houses. Not to mention the glorious close up shots, which allow us to get an insight on how the character is feeling.
Finally, the soundtrack used commonly throughout the film, sounded very mystical and magical, enchanting the audience, hence making them feel happy and engaged. On the other hand, when it came to moments of sadness, the music was very monotone to set this mood, triggering an empathetic response from the audience.
½ November 14, 2018
For a studio that's meant to be the new Ghibli, this wasn't the best debut. Not only is it derivative of better stories of that ilk, but it's also repetitive as heck.
½ November 2, 2018
Horrible movie. The only thing it has going for it is visuals. The story is pedestrian at BEST. It does not follow a cohesive storyline, half the time you're questioning how any of the things going on in the last half are happening, or why. The whole premise for the girl using magic is completely negated in the last 5 minutes making you question what the point was in the first place. Nothing is explained, you don't have any connection to the characters or the world. Just bad.
October 28, 2018
After wonders like Spirited Away and Howl's Moving Castle, it's quite disappointing to see Studio Ghibli release such childish films. In the last few years we've seen a good deal from Studio Ghibli but non live up to Miyazaki's creations. The stories are mediocre and although the animation is breathtaking as always, the movies feel like their target audience are only kids. Mary and The Witch's Flower is entertaining but boring much like all Studio Ghibli movies in the last few years.
Page 1 of 6