Marriage Story - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Marriage Story Reviews

Page 1 of 17
November 1, 2019
I felt that I was watching "acting"- since his protagonists are show people, Baumbach has allowed them more theatricality, thus risking the naturalism he wanted to portray.
November 22, 2019
Their privilege is rarely checked or acknowledged, while the plight of others is never really addressed even slightly. It all feels very worthy, hoping insight will outweigh specificity, but it's something we have, literally, seen before...
November 13, 2019
It can be disheartening to watch these tropes play out over and over again without filmmakers seriously reflecting on the men's treatment of their spouses.
January 10, 2020
Noah Baumbach's script, about the trials and tribulations of divorce and custody battles, is really nothing we haven't seen before, on big or small screens.
October 16, 2019
The perfect example of how misogyny manifests among the artistic classes.
December 10, 2019
Marriage Story is a promising film that has carved out powerful performances from the cast, but Baumbach's strategies in drawing out his character arcs are uneven, insufficient, and disappointing.
December 13, 2019
What should feel authentic can often feel hokey, sanitized and a fairy-tale of what a divorce could look like if people just got out of their own way.
December 6, 2019
Baumbach deserves kudos for highlighting the adversarial nature of divorce court...but his odd storytelling decisions too often undercut the human dynamics he's trying to explore.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 16, 2019
It's insupportable, false, pretentiously realistic, inhabited by heavy characters, dialogue and situations. [Full Review in Spanish]
December 20, 2019
The lawyers topic closes with an incongruity: Nicole's gratitude betrays all previous representations of vileness and affirms the superficiality of the film. [Full Review in Spanish]
December 13, 2019
Marriages can, do, and in certain cases ought to end, and bravo to [Noah] Baumbach for his candor in examining his own. But just as some matrimonial ties should be severed, so too should Marriage Story have pared down its fussy indulgences.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.1/10
November 29, 2019
It's not a terrible movie, there are things to admire about it, but you leave the theatre underwhelmed and wondering what all the fuss was about.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
October 8, 2019
Getting hit with such a snootful of mega-misery is not necessarily what I'm looking for in a relationship movie. I don't find catharsis here. All I see is a kind of cinematic therapy session.
December 4, 2019
Think Kramer vs. Kramer meets Husbands and Wives with smartphones.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
November 8, 2019
While admit that this a beautifully-written movie... I can't help but see this movie from this rarefied perch.
November 15, 2019
Marriage Story falls short of its models because it doesn't reflect contemporary -- Millennial -- problems surrounding intimacy. Hence, Baumbach's reluctance to call the movie what it is.
January 16, 2020
Elegant, eloquent, deep and heartbreaking, it is a film that will stay with you long after you've seen it.
December 31, 2019
Marriage Story drops Baumbach's trademark comedic quirkiness and embraces a much more melancholic tone in this raw and intimate character study of two individuals.
December 11, 2019
The little moments mean so much and Baumbach doesn't waste a single one.
November 21, 2019
With its stellar performances, Marriage Story will simultaneously move you and devastate you. Keep an eye on Adam Driver and Scarlett Johansson come Oscar season.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Page 1 of 17