Mamma Mia! - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Mamma Mia! Reviews

Page 1 of 1641
May 31, 2019
Without The Music I Don't Know What I Am Watching?? The Story Is Flimsy & It Seems More Like A Kareoke Holiday Of B-Grade Actors. Even They Gave Looks Of 'Whatever Am I Doing Here!??' On Their Faces.
May 17, 2019
Musicals hinge on one thing, whether their songs are worthy of humming along to and making a film featuring some of the catchiest pop songs of all time is a genius idea. Unlike other ghastly jukebox musicals like Rock of Ages (2012) and Sing (2016) this one actually manages to make it's cheesiness work as top flight actors like Meryl Streep and Stellan Skarsgard whore themselves out for a paycheck. This is a film that I will always be able to rewatch despite knowing all of the plot beats and understanding why this is objectively a poorly made film. It would be one of my biggest guilty pleasures but I refuse to define it that way because I love it unabashedly and although the fact that it brings tears to my eyes is embarrassing it shows that it is able to successfully emotionally manipulate me.

Sophie, Amanda Seyfried, lives on the Greek island of Kalokairi with her single mother Donna, Meryl Streep. As she prepares to marry her fianc´┐ 1/2 (C) Sky, Dominic Cooper, she worries about who her father is and after discovering her mother's journal she realizes she has three possible fathers. Bill, Stellan Skarsgard, is a Swedish hippie, Harry, Colin Firth, is an uptight British man who is hiding a secret and Sam, Pierce Brosnan, is a successful architect who has never gotten over Donna. She invites all three of them to her wedding leading to wacky hijinks all around and some great chances to awkwardly shoehorn in classic ABBA songs.

The staging of all the song and dance numbers is hardly as stylistically impressive as The Sound of Music (1965) or even say Newsies (1992) but the songs are undeniably great and the sight of Meryl Streep with her dress flowing behind her on a yacht is more enjoyable than anything found in West Side Story (1961). The "Dancing Queen" scene always makes me think of my mother and her indomitable spirit even as she ages naturally and the sight of a Greek woman joining Donna and her friends as they gallivant around the island inspires an inexpressible joy in me. "Slipping through my Fingers" is the one that always makes me cry and although ABBA deserve most of the credit for writing touching lyrics Streep's lines before she begins singing the song kill me every time. Every song featured on the soundtrack is a bona fide hit and that means the whole film is like a big warm hug.

The performances in the film also raise the film above the average cash grab to me. The male cast members can't really sing and nobody can really dance but they're all enjoying themselves and poking fun at their personas which is endearing. Streep is the exception as she can sing very well and she gives a fantastic performance in a movie that really doesn't ask for it. As previously the mentioned in the scenes she has with her daughter she gives a wonderful natural performance as a loving mother with a wild streak and somehow I am able to forget that she's Meryl freaking Streep. I don't usually like Brosnan and Firth but it's funny to watch them try to sing, both "SOS" and "Our Last Summer" are cringey but delightful. Baranski is perfectly cast as Tanya and her performance in the "Does Your Mother Know That Your Out" sequence is Best Supporting Actress worthy.

Don't expect something super artistic and deep when walking into this jukebox musical that made $615.7 million at the box office, expect an extremely fun romp that doesn't ask anything of you. To people who get sniffy about this film in the age of the Marvel Cinematic Universe you are not my friend because this movie manages to do much more with it's source material, ABBA music, than those films do with comics. I wouldn't place this in my Top 10 Favorite Films because I have some dignity but this is a film that I could throw on anytime, anywhere and watch uninterrupted. Girls need bad movies to love too and although I was thoroughly disappointed by Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again (2018) this will always be nostalgically remembered as an integral part of my childhood.
April 23, 2019
Mamma Mia! is and always will be considered my favorite movie of all time. The setting is magical and transportive while being the perfect housing of the film. The story is heart-warming and I love stories where the focus is not romantic love but familial. I refuse to see the play version, purely because I love the cast so much, I could not see anyone else playing these characters. Finally what is the best part; the music. The tracks by ABBA are obviously beautiful and, as much as people criticize Pierce Brosnan's singing, The songs are all sang wonderfully and the cast clearly put effort in. If you love musicals or are a middle-aged woman, you'll love this movie.
April 23, 2019
Mamma Mia! Is a 2008 musical directed by Phyllida Lloyd. The film stars Amanda Seyfried as Sophie and Meryl Streep as Donna Sheridan.

The acting was steady for the most part, but my gosh some of the secondary actors were horrible.

The characters I personally hate and think are some of the worst in big budget movie history. In my opinion the characters were just shallow and unlikeable.

The cinematography was probably the best part of the movie and even then it wasn't spectacular.

The setting like the cinematography was strong, but a setting doesn't help with the characters and story.

The set design and costume design were steady, but I still think that they could have made it more colourful and vibrant.

The style wasn't bad, but I thought that the colour scheme was way too dull compered to the vibrant music.

The film also had a couple special effects which I can tell you were not pleasant to look at.

The film also had some very spontaneous and bad editing.

The music was hard for me because most of the songs weren't bad, but a lot of them were sung very badly especially the songs sung by Meryl Streep and Pierce Brosnan.

The story follows Sophie a girl who is getting married. She then decides to invite three men to her wedding to find out which one could possibly be her father.

The comedy in my opinion really didn't work, and just felt out of place throughout the movie.

The film is also really painful to watch and something that I hope to never watch again.

Over all I give it a 2/10 - painful to watch
April 20, 2019
A fun musical, with a great cast assembled.
April 20, 2019
If you're into musical romantic comedies, then why not, but then again there are better options.
April 18, 2019
A very simple movie about Amanda Seyfried trying to figure out who her father is between three men (played by Pierce Brosnan, Colin Firth and Stellan Skarsgard) before her wedding, with some of ABBA's biggest hits worked into the plot.

There's not much of a story, but that's not the point of the movie. The point of the movie is the big musical numbers, with Hollywood actors showcasing their vocal range and singing talent. I could see myself enjoying this simplistic musical based on ABBA's biggest songs (even though I don't care for ABBA all that much) if the cast in this film could sing.

Amanda Seyfried and Meryl Streep are noticeably better than the rest of the cast, but they're also noticeably flat at times, especially Meryl Streep's performance of "The Winner Takes It All". The male cast members have more trouble hitting the right notes, as Colin Firth looked and sounded uncomfortable when he started singing, and Pierce Brosnan sounded like a horse. Or if any other farm animal comes to mind, Pierce Brosnan sounds like that too. His singing in the movie was so laughable, I could watch him sing "S.O.S." many times, as it makes me wish that this movie was campier.

Musical numbers are also awkwardly placed in the movie. During dialogues, characters would randomly start to sing, and some of the back-to-back musical numbers were grating and unpleasant to my ears. This movie is made for the fans of the musical, and while the movie can be fun at times, watching Hollywood actors do drunk karaoke isn't always a pleasant sight.
April 12, 2019
good silly fun, great music, too bad meryl streep is so hideously ugly, cant stand her. Christine baranski makes up for it, though.
April 9, 2019
Abba is done a great disservice by the terrible plot. This limits its appeal and makes the plot sequel an unmitigated disaster.

But what great music! The writers had so much to work with and could have done exceptionally well with plot. Instead, they have done exceptionally well with the musical production. It sounds grand -- almost as spectacular as ABBA. It does not capture what could have been the musical of the century, given all that it had to work with.
½ March 31, 2019
3.5/5. A fun movie that ranges from silly to baffling.
½ March 29, 2019
Trash. Has nothing on Tusk. Which is a great movie... check it out
March 28, 2019
It's just good fun with music. I couldn't stop smiling.
½ March 28, 2019
Super fun movie. The music is great, it's super funny, and all the actors seem to be having a blast making fools of themselves while singing and dancing to Abba.
Also, Meryl Streep is in it.
March 26, 2019
IT IS BETTER THAN THE BEST. It is like heaven in wonderful clouds.
March 8, 2019
Fun movie to watch, sing along at the goofiness and enjoy
March 3, 2019
This movie is for the girls and the gays so it´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)s understandable how most of these straight males can´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)t see it´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)s true potential
February 23, 2019
It's like they made karaoke night into a movie...
February 14, 2019
The best movie with an amazing story to it also has many many catchy songs in it! This is my favorite movie ever it is such a good romantic and comedy movie. Especially how Shopie envited all of her dads and thought to keep a sercret from her mom because she would freak out while Donna(Sophies mother) was thinking that Sophie would freak out if she knew about the dads! This movie has an amazing story and will always be my favorite ever! With the most best songs.... I almost memorized them all! If you like sexual related content and fun comedys then this is the movie for you!
January 27, 2019
even though the plot is questionable the performance and liveliness are there.
½ January 22, 2019
Quite possibly the most dire acting and singing of any musical ever!
Page 1 of 1641