Magic Beyond Words: The JK Rowling Story - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Magic Beyond Words: The JK Rowling Story Reviews

Page 1 of 2
½ July 22, 2018
It's not bad, but it's failing to balance "TV movie" with "documentary" properly and although it has 2 moments where you can see hints of the magical mind of JKR, this movie is about as fun as a deflated balloon.
April 5, 2016
Absolutely inspirational and completely amazing. I love the back story in how JK Rowling came up for some of the ideas in the Harry Potter Books
February 11, 2016
Seriously a really awesome movie! Met beyond my expectations. I loved every bit of it.
August 3, 2015
Magic Beyond Words: The J.K. Rowling Story is an interesting dramatization on the life of author J.K. Rowling that's worth a watch to witness the efforts and conflicts she faced, all leading up to the creation of the Harry Potter saga
July 5, 2015
A good depiction of her story, and where she had gotten the ideas for Harry Potter from. A good nod to the writer. Not a regular rise to fame story
February 3, 2015
Truly magical and inspirational, if you love Harry Potter then you should watch this lovely story.
½ February 1, 2015
Really, really crappy low budget, cheesy bio pic of J.K. Rowling. Failed to highlight a lot of major moments in her career and the acting wasn't good either.
January 30, 2015
I don't know enough about JK Rowling to know how much of this movie is true, but considering it's not trying to hide the fact that it's unauthorized, I really didn't care about that. I enjoyed the performances and found it to be a much better film than the reviews it's gotten. You shouldn't always expect the worst of something just because it comes from Lifetime.
September 27, 2014
While I'm not sure how accurate it is, this is a well written "dramumentary", with great acting performances by the entire cast. I loved it, I can really relate to her story & found it very inspiring!
½ June 21, 2014
En comparación con otros biopicks, este es uno sencillo en todo el sentido de la palabra; a pesar de todo, resulta ser un trabajo agradable gracias a las ligeras chispas de ingenio y brillantez que el director sabe como aplicar en los momentos oportunos. Recomendada a todos los fans de las obras literarias de Rowling, y para todos aquellos que quisieran ser escritores algún día.
May 11, 2014
Awesome dramatic documentary movie loved it.
½ September 11, 2013
No es por na, pero I know a lot about JK's life. There's some thing that this film do beautifully, but there's some lot that... ugh!! And It's so cheesy in lots of times...
August 22, 2013
While I'd say the film itself is a 2.5 at most, for fans of Harry Potter there's at least another star in there so I split the difference. Using some known facts (they made a point about putting dates when everything is happening) about Rowling and combining them with some fictional dialogue and events that relate back to the Harry Potter series, the filmmakers have put together something that may truly entertain fans of the series. As long as viewers can figure out fact from fiction and not get too wrapped up in the facts and any mistakes (fans can get pretty catty about that stuff) Magic Beyond Words should prove to be a better than normal low budget biopic that manages to entertain and inform at the same time.
½ March 25, 2013
An excellent biopic providing a great insight into perhaps the greatest author of our era. Very interesting the way in which she became one of the richest people in Britain. I enjoyed Poppy Montgomery in this role.
February 8, 2013
I knew her story cause I'm a great fan of her and Harry Potter of course!But I liked watching it as a movie!A great woman,with a great personality and a great talent!I love her and thank her very much!
September 25, 2012
I wish this was never evar made but it did for the LIFETIME channel (TV). I have read many critiques of admirers of literature and her work with Potter and they agree on something (I think I do too): this movie was made with no charm and it tells her life like it was taken from Wikipedia instead of watching her interviews, getting the facts (THE REAL ONES, since in this movie I just saw to many FLAWS and yes, lies over lies). If the one who wrote this (this was based on an unauthorized biography of her) did a real research, maybe this movie would have been better in dialogue, acting (yes, the acting is awful and Rowling was blond after HP3 some say not since she was born), music is amateur (it doesn't sound that bad at first but you know is not by pro's) and in the end...pardon, won't say no more. Watch it if you care and if don't...DON'T!

PD: I just hope nobody get's inspired enough to make that other authors life...it would be like this: 'an emo's life turned to reality with a skin that sparks and ballet proms and a baby vamp'...you get the awful idea, do you?
½ July 23, 2012
Magic Beyond Words: The JK Rowling Story es uno de los mejores biopics jamás realizados. Cargado de emoción, drama y sobre todas las cosas: Magia. Es una pieza magistral realizada de la manera más sublime posible y de igual forma interpretada, a la altura que se merece J.K Rowling la persona que invento todo un mundo. Por si no fuera poco, este Documental explora una parte mucho más personal de Jo. Aunque claro, con algunos detalles suprimidos.

Básicamente la lucha, la esencia, ingenio, poder e influencia que tiene Rowling quedo plasmado con esta bella obra. Por más que lo intente no puedo ser más objetivo con mi opinión respecto a esta ya que sin duda esta una producción que todo fan (incluyà (C)ndome) de la saga de Harry Potter debe ver.
½ May 24, 2012
La actuacion de Montgomery me impresiono. Sin duda alguna es una biopic incompleta pero es rescatable en ciertos casos.
April 22, 2012
I am impressed with her story
best scene: the full JK Rowling story
April 13, 2012
i loved it, it was so inspirational and the actress was pretty good at showing Rowling's emotions. It was very believable.
Page 1 of 2