Lionheart - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Lionheart Reviews

Page 1 of 23
October 23, 2018
Van Damme in a fight club for charity. Great Action, Great story. Iconic!
½ July 28, 2018
Another direct to video actioner for the 11 year old in you!!
This feels more like an 80s film and it's all the better for it.
Not much of a plot, just a set-up.
It was called A.W.O.L. in England which is a better name by the way. Anyways, JCVD goes A.W.O.L. from the foreign Legion after his brother's death, and gets involved in an underground fighting scene to help his brother's family out with money.

Lots of high kicks and action and most of the film feels like it's building for a big Rocky-ish finale.

Fun for fans, newer audiences would probably dismiss it.
½ December 25, 2017
A good Van Damme movie. Lost of splits and funny dialoge. It is well paced and shot and it gets more fun to watch from viewing to viewing. Good martial art show, funny bad guys, funny dialoge and more.
November 23, 2017
If it were filmed as a cartoon character it would have been more believable.
September 5, 2017
Good action for a 1990 movie. Liked the characters and some of the banter.
May 23, 2017
If you watched this in the 90s and you were less than 30 years old, you'd understand why I gave it 5*

JCVD was the man of our generation.

I feel so sorry you guys didn't have the pleasure to enjoy it with eyes of our generation. Today's eyes wouldn't appreciate it the action movies of the 80's and 90's
January 30, 2017
A favorite growing up, I recently rewatched it. I thought it held up very well. It's a bit laughable how the introduce the little girl in the opening credits then play cheesy music each time she's on screen. Other than that, it's a great fighting movie.
January 8, 2017
Not his best film, atleast not in retrospect..
½ April 26, 2016
He has the heart of a lion, he is known in the underground fighting circuit as Lionheart. Saw this one in the theatres way back. One of Van Damme's better efforts and has grown on me more. Helped by his likable manager, Harrison Page. French Foreign Legion going to have a tough time recruiting given the way they are depicted here although I did like the change of heart at the end.
Super Reviewer
April 7, 2016
One of his better films.
March 19, 2016
Van Damme co-wrote this action flick with director Sheldon Lettich, which involves a soldier drawn into the world of bare knuckle fighting, an illegal sport for the amusement of the rich, after his brother is seriously injured.
Lyon (Van Damme) is a member of the French Foreign Legion who decides to go A.W.O.L. (Absent Without Leave), when his brother is seriously injured in a drug deal. Lyon decides to enter the world of illegally street fighting to raise the money for his brother's hospital bills as well as to help his brother's family.
Van Damme has never been great at acting but he pulls of a decent performance here and his raw power & charisma comes through. The fight sequences are nicely choreographed and are a pleasure to watch. This was made at the time where the cheesiness of his roles disappeared while appearing in a good film but before he was giving decent performances in terrible but watchable films.
The plot is basic & works, the action is raw & enjoyable, & the script is solid. All in an enjoyable film that sadly should be better known as it features one of Van Damme's better performances. Known as A.W.O.L. In the UK.
½ January 13, 2016
Love watching this movie always will
½ August 5, 2015
Not even close to Bloodsport in terms of quality, but the final fight is worth watching. It's kinda fun, although the story just feels like it was forced in as an excuse to see The Muscles From Brussels kicking butt. I really didn't connect to it and would've perhaps preferred a more fitting plot (not that JCVD films require great plots, but I think they require plots that can be adjusted to the Belgian legend). But if you're a JCVD fan, you might like this one.
June 4, 2015
One of my fave films of Claude's great in blu Ray
½ April 8, 2015
(62%)
Without doubt one of my favourite early(ish) Van Damme movies that is so much more like Street fighter the video game than the actual Street fighter film. This is nuts and bolts late 80's early 90's action B-movie fun right from the very beginning. Van Damme is on physical top form with some impressive moves from the many fights featured, the story is good simple action movie stuff, and even though this is clearly a lowish budgeted film it's always watchable and entertaining. Performance wise this isn't anything of course worth speaking of, but Harrison Page is good fun as the sleazy manager, while Deborah Rennard gets plenty of screen time wearing some of the periods' more curious fashions. Overall any true of Mr Damme should certainly check this out.
March 25, 2015
One of the best JCVD which isn't saying much.
January 16, 2015
that os a good movie I want to see it
½ January 7, 2015
The man sure had the heart of a Lion in this
Robbanflix
Super Reviewer
January 2, 2015
One of van dammes earlier movie and contains pretty much fights and story is okey.
December 16, 2014
WOW......WOW.....WOW.....SO SO SO SO SO BAD......MAN THIS IS SUCH AN AWFUL MESSY MESSY MOVIE 2 WATCH, IT IS SO SO SO SO DREADFUL, IT IS SUCH AN AWFUL MOVIE 2 WATCH, IT IS SO SO SO AWFUL MOVIE 2 WATCH, IT IS SO SO SO DREADFUL, IT IS SO SO SO DREADFUL, IT IS SUCH AN AWFUL MOVIE 2 WATCH IT IS SUCH AN AWFUL MESSY MOVIE 2 WATCH.......WARNING THIS MOVIE CONTAINS STROBE LIGHTNING EFFECTS THROUGHOUT THIS MOVIE......MAN THIS IS SUCH AN AWFUL MOVIE 2 WATCH, IT IS SUCH AN AWFUL MESSY MOVIE 2 WATCH, IT IS SUCH AN AWFUL MOVIE 2 WATCH, IT IS SUCH A BAD MOVIE 2 WATCH, JUST AVOID THIS MOVIE AT ALL IT IS SUCH A BAD MOVIE 2 WATCH, JUST AVOID THIS MOVIE AT ALL COSTS IT IS THAT BAD.....JUST DO NOT WATCH THIS MOVIE IT IS SO AWFUL.......ITS GOT A GOOD SOUNDTRACK THROUGHOUT THIS MOVIE.....BUT MAN THIS MOVIE IS SO SO SO AWFUL 2 WATCH....
Page 1 of 23