Light from Light - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Light from Light Reviews

Page 1 of 2
January 16, 2020
Beautiful drama about loss gently touches on supernatural.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 28, 2019
Haunted - and haunting.
December 19, 2019
Light From Light finds and dissects the pangs that plague the lonely and the lost, for whom it offers a prayer of restoration.
December 9, 2019
Very little else in my year at the movies has stayed so vividly on my mind as Light from Light. It's haunting me.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
December 3, 2019
If Ireland and Gaffigan aren't up for awards come the year's end, it will be a crime.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
November 26, 2019
...a quiet, intimate ghost story, in which there may not, in fact, be a ghost.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 8, 2019
[Light From Light] knows that the most resonant movie isn't a creed, but a question.
November 7, 2019
It's as if Harrill took the very concept of horror and stripped that fear down to its essence: the dread and longing for meaning, for some sign of life after death.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 5, 2019
An unusual, almost meditative film that reverences the mysteries of death, grief, and loneliness.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Top Critic
November 4, 2019
Nothing ever happens of any importance in Light From Light and nothing makes any sense, including the title.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 3, 2019
Light From Light concerns ghost hunting, but Harrill characterizes the process in practical, mundane terms; it's the emotional implications of the endeavor that interest him.
Full Review | Original Score: B
November 3, 2019
More of an All Saints' Day ghost story than a Halloween one, director Paul Harrill's Light From Light is as low key and quaint as supernatural stories get.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
November 1, 2019
Defiantly avoiding clichés about hauntings and the supernatural, this sharply observed character study lingers after the lights go up.
November 1, 2019
I'm tempted to call 'Light from Light' the first ghost story I've ever seen that I completely believe.
Full Review | Original Score: A
November 1, 2019
An uncommonly compelling work that, like an actual spirit, will linger with you long after it ends.
November 1, 2019
For a movie about grief, it's surprisingly even-handed, not too melancholic, heavy or existential but mostly pensive.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 1, 2019
Not your typical jump scare ghost story. Instead a quiet, slowly-paced character film that is worth a watch.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 31, 2019
While it starts as a more literal kind of ghost tale, the film evolves its outlook as we start to learn about these characters...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 31, 2019
Sure, Sheila has some "ghosts," and her large eyes carry the weariness of her past, but don't worry about getting struck with that metaphor: Harrill is a far more skilled and subtle director than that.
October 29, 2019
Only in focusing so thoroughly on the normal does Paul Harrill's film stumble upon the paranormal.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 2