The Last House on the Left - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Last House on the Left Reviews

Page 1 of 110
May 15, 2019
Sick. Agree with critic Rob Aldam's review - "If you enjoy watching women being raped and tortured to the most inappropriate music imaginable, this is for you."
March 21, 2019
Wes Craven's debut is thrilling. Especially during the third act when all hell breaks loose.
½ March 18, 2019
To avoid fainting, keep repeating 'It's only a movie'...

This was a really good movie that was more tame than I was expecting (mind you expectations were set very high due to the publicity and reputation that film has garnered), but I'm sure it was extremely shocking 47 years ago (evidenced by the protestors and censorship that was levied on the film). It's an epic tale of revenge for the parents of their slain daughter. My only pet peeve is with the music/score. This movie could have easily been a 4* if they had done a better job with the music/score selection, plus better decisions re when to use music and when to have none. Most of the music in the film sounds like it's out of Sesame Street, which is day and night different from this dark exploitation horror film. There were some really really tense scenes that were interrupted by comical sounding songs. That really got to me after it happened 3-4 times as it really definitely became a distraction and took away from the terror being portrayed onscreen. But other than that there are no complaints for this classic. Wes Craven (who for his movie wrote, directed and edited it) did a great job of providing context/depth in act 1 for the shocking events that follow. That really helps you get invested into the fates of the young girls as well for the revenge that follows that. It's a shock that this classic was made for under $90,000. Wes Craven, a horror aster, did a splendid job on his first movie. I would recommend this movie to every hardcore horror fan, but newbies may want to stay away, especially if they can't stomach a woman peeing her pants (which she actually did for real during filming of the scene), young girls being gutted and killed, rape and torture.
½ February 20, 2019
I am thinking... Probably the only reason why this film has such a high rating is because director is the guy behind Hills Have Eyes, Freddy Krueger and Scream.
February 1, 2019
The best thrilling movie ever made!
November 25, 2018
The Last House on the Left 1972, is a daring well made thriller by Wes Craven!
½ November 12, 2018
Jeez .... It was hard to get past the bad acting, but I guess it was Wes Craven's first film. I can only see this as either just crap, unless it's mean to be 'campy'.
November 5, 2018
The last house on the left is just a bad-executed and messy horror movie that overshadows the few good moments it has, leaving a dull outcome and a wasted great story.
½ September 4, 2018
I was powerfully impacted by this film. It is often called exploitation, but I don't think that's accurate. This film does not glorify violence. It does not make sadism banal. It shows it for what it really is - and that is what is so horrifying. There is a difference between understanding that horrible things happen and seeing how and why they happen. How they manifest themselves in the human character. Krug is not some mindless killer like Jason, nor supernatural being like Freddy, nor demented sicko like Jigsaw. He is the genuine article - the embodiment of rapists, murderers, and sadists that have existed in countless numbers throughout history. Who get off on the misery of others, on power in humiliation and suffering. Which is why this film is important in my view. Understanding the how and the why allows us to recognize these traits in ourselves and others and stem the tide - not generate copycats.

Now this movie as obvious and plentiful flaws as well. The first 20 minutes or so of the film are super stilted. Although the actors playing the parents aren't given particularly great dialogue, they don't do a whole lot with it either. The movie is so cut up and diced by individual censors certain cuts make you sure that you've missed something. The ending, at least to me, feels kind of silly and forced.

The real power in this movie lies in the middle, and surprisingly despite the inexperience of the actors I think the performances of the primary cast are very strong. Especially Krug who really carries the movie the whole way.

This is not an easy movie to watch, but it is one you will not forget.
September 4, 2018
Wes Craven's nasty little horror indie is still as effective as when it was initially released. Equal parts Manson family and Bergman's 'The Virgin Spring', no one is spared from the snuff-film-like onscreen brutality especially the audience. Essential for horror fans but truly an excruciating experience for everyone else.
May 11, 2018
The theme is good but the rest is obnoxiously terrible.
December 20, 2017
Really good and gritty and disgusting and hard to watch. Great acting , very raw and vengeful. The torture scenes were very ugly. A great horror/ thriller.
½ November 29, 2017
Very disturbing film that makes you wonder. What If?
October 7, 2017
Sick, sadistic, perverted, and horrific. Also the acting was atrocious, the production value must have cost pennies, and the tone was so all over the place it gave me a headache.
October 6, 2017
Awful. A waste of any time spent watching it. There is nothing scary or interesting about the plot. Just a series of poorly produced scenes tied together with a terrible plot and ugly violence.
June 12, 2017
Craven at his sleaziest. The movie has so much going against it to be able to recommend it. But, it does hold its place in cinema history, and the retribution in the film is fairly satisfying.
May 22, 2017
one of the best horror films ever made
½ May 16, 2017
A bold boundary pushing movie that masterfully blends directing tone and atmosphere and performances to create a very unsettling movie not movie that necessarily recommend
½ April 30, 2017
Low budget independent movie that took the horror genre to a new level by raising the gore voilence and depravity. Its really dated and drags in many area's but the directing by Craven is good. I love the ending.
April 27, 2017
Overhyped with not even close to the shock value it's made out to have. Why was it banned in certain countries? A truly awful film not worthy of one star!
Page 1 of 110