Landline - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Landline Reviews

Page 1 of 3
½ April 30, 2019
I would add more stars if not for the two rape scenes that are played for laughs. I guess a woman forcing herself on to her confused and unwilling male partner is just an act of quirkiness, like getting an eyebrow ring or being a grown adult and ordering a kids drink at your favorite hibachi restaurant! God, I miss the '90s.
December 21, 2018
boxxy software helps me to find movies i haven't seen . Every time i can enjoy watching what i really want
December 9, 2018
It's a canny film that stretches out a plot made of relatively few events and still makes it a pleasure to watch. Such is the way of this mellow dramedy. The cast are all uniformly good, the script makes each scene interesting to be a part of even if it doesn't rocket along with agency and the film ends up being a refreshingly grown up look at infidelity. It's a little too intentionally cute at times, and the meandering plot certainly loses a steam at the end of the film (as often happens with these films that don't have a strong structure to rely on), but it's an enjoyable ride with a lovely relationship between sisters at its core. Plus it's set in the 90s, which allows for a lot of enjoyable (though not distracting) nostalgia. Stone washed denim! Actual phones! Higher Love by Steve Winwood!
September 7, 2018
Doesn't really do anything you haven't seen before, and the script is a bit messy in places. But the direction is good and all the performances are really heartfelt. Much like Obvious Child, the director's previous film, it's not as funny as I expected but it is worth your attention.
January 31, 2018
The movie didn't really get me into the 90's nostalgia that I expected. The movie title wasn't very applicable. The film was just okay overall.
½ January 1, 2018
Nice little conversational family drama / comedy...
½ December 10, 2017
Uncomfortable at times, but overall a good, well-made movie.
November 19, 2017
Another miserable NYC slice of life film. View it with whine.
½ November 18, 2017
Landline is messy and uneven but held up by a great cast and an entertaining look on life.
Grade: B-
November 13, 2017
self-conscious, posturing, and characters drawn in crayon. We made it to the 30 minute mark then sent it to turkey-land. "unsympathetic" about says it here.
October 29, 2017
It never strives for deeper moments other than the Indie rhythmic film beats like brief argument, montage, things get worked out, blah blah. Which gets exhausting to see in these repetitive Indie dramadies. Edie Falco and Jenny Slate are both fun to watch though, providing more nuance in their characters than you would expect with the script.
October 10, 2017
Finally got around to seeing this, and I am far from disappointed! Slate's talent is mind-blowing and Quinn held her own among an incredibly strong cast. Truly impressed by the performances and how much this movie was able to make me laugh. Looking forward to seeing what's next from Robespierre.
½ October 7, 2017
Landline is a spectacular failing. It tries so hard to be cute and quirky and charming, it achieves none of these, and is instead chintzy and insufferable.
½ October 5, 2017
Landline gebruikt een bekend verhaal over vreemdgaan en opgroeien, en mixt dit goed samen met een onderhoudend script dat scherp spel biedt van zijn spelers.
September 2, 2017
I thought the script was phenomenal. The acting above par and the whole film a pleasure.
August 28, 2017
Enjoyed. Kept my interest. Love 95
½ August 28, 2017
This independent film is funny and quirky but nothing mind-blowingly-great.
½ August 26, 2017
I'm hard pressed to see this as a comedy. More of a dark drama
August 19, 2017
Jenny Slate is a national treasure!
Page 1 of 3