Kong: Skull Island - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Kong: Skull Island Reviews

Page 1 of 168
May 30, 2019
i enjoyed this film i can watch it over and over again i even liked skull crawlers just like godzilla 2014 starting off slow with the villains
May 29, 2019
great film loved the ending credits.
May 29, 2019
better than godzilla 2014
May 22, 2019
Kong: Skull Island is... okay. That goes a long way considering how boring the titular character was. If not for Brie Larson, Tom Hiddleston, and Samuel L. Jackson carrying this film, I would have fallen asleep. And while the fight scene between Kong and the big Skull Crawler is pretty good, it lacked any emotional weight compared to that epic fight scene between King Kong and the dinosaurs in the 2005 film.
½ May 22, 2019
It's quite likely the best monster movie I've ever seen. From engaging characters to dazzling visuals, a star studded cast with solid acting throughout, and badass creature design, there's almost no flaws to this movie. The production design is phenomenal and the island feels like a real, incredibly fascinating place. I loved this movie, it doesn't make you think too hard but it brings the adrenaline, fear, and awe that a Kong movie should bring. The credits scene literally had me tearing up, great film.
½ May 21, 2019
If I could give it 0 stars I would. What a piece of tripe and a waste of 2 hours.
½ May 19, 2019
How can so many dummies rate this higher than A Dogs Journey! Cause the CGI was good I guess. This movie was rough overall and tough to like enough more than average. I do not rely on CGI ever like so many so called movie critics! Star Wars original had zero CGI please know and was a 10! Overall 4 out of 10 for Skull Island.
May 18, 2019
Unlike anything you seen before!
May 15, 2019
Good movie bit godzilla is better
May 11, 2019
Still dont get why its a 69% its a big step up from godzilla
½ May 10, 2019
The very definition of a popcorn movie. Visual awe mixes with a plot that doesn't take itself seriously. There are obvious nods towards Apocalypse Now, with its war movie spirit. It's worth going bananas over!
½ May 5, 2019
The only film I ever regret going to the cinema to see, Kong Skull Island is just a boring monster action flick with predictable plot and cliches, and overall it is just a plainly boring film
May 4, 2019
Eat your heart out Godzilla, For once King Kong knows how to have a good movie.
April 25, 2019
Solid 'remake' of the original King Kong that manages to find new wrinkles while working into the new Godzilla universe. The cast is solid across the board, with Hiddleston making a nice action (along with a contender for the next Bond) while Samuel L. Jackson gives one of his better performances as a Vietnam veteran driven to the edge. The scene-stealer, though, is John C. Reilly, as a WWII pilot long marooned on the island, providing much of the film's pathos and comic relief. Behind the camera, director Jordan Vogt-Roberts makes a 'loose' adaptation of the original, this time setting it at the end of the Vietnam War while not making Brie Larson's Mason a damsel in distress. The real stars are the creatures of Skull Island, not just Kong (who is a marvel) but also the others, reminding you of the variety of the original movie. It also works in the horrors of war but a bit heavy handed at times. Overall, a solid entry in the Kong franchise and a nice addition to the larger Godzilla universe.
April 22, 2019
An enjoyable film! One of my favorites!
½ April 11, 2019
Great, but Godzilla was better.
April 10, 2019
love this film better than the old 30ft one
½ April 8, 2019
Ok skull island for me is kinda okay and the CGI Is good but the prespective, it is bad
½ April 5, 2019
Needed romance. Why in the world would you not take advantage of the chemistry between the two main leads?
½ March 30, 2019
It has Kong, but not enough of Kong, too much emphasis on the phoney Brie Larsson's character and others you dont care about. Atleast L Jackson keeps things somewhat interesting.
Page 1 of 168