Killing Jesus - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Killing Jesus Reviews

Page 1 of 2
April 30, 2019
Confused within the first 15mt..
Jesus not knowing he was Jesus..
For Christ sake!
April 21, 2019
Too many things wrong with the movie. The movie skipped crucial parts. Jesus battled Satan after his baptism which was skipped over. Jesus got on his knees and wrote on the sand before the lady was to be stoned.
April 10, 2019
I am a Christian and as a Christian I believe that Jesus is God. I also believe that if one depicts Jesus inaccurately or adds or takes away from the biblical texts as this film does that person is blaspheming God. Know the true word of God as its written.
½ April 18, 2017
Highly inaccurate and uninspiring. Completely fabricated and a fictional Jesus not related to the biblical Jesus.
April 16, 2017
Mostly fiction, and poorly done. First of all, Jesus was not killed, He freely gave up His life. That is the belief if you're a Christian. If you're not Christian, or don't believe that, then why would you have a bit of concern if Christians do believe it? But this bogus book and movie is frankly quite poorly documented. We started to watch it and after less than 10 minutes turned it off. Uninspiring, and carries no spirit of truth. Not recommended.
January 13, 2017
Complicated and difficult for me to follow because of all the different characters but a superb film and story and seemed quite a well thought out film.
October 20, 2016
Abismal adaptation of the book by Bill O'Reilly.
Super Reviewer
½ April 7, 2016
A more realistic telling of a familiar tale is a good thing, humanising the central figure, but not showing the miracles as they do begs the question: "what's the big deal about this guy? He certainly doesn't seem remarkable. Why do the crowds cheer him? Why does the establishment want him killed?" And so this telling had no teeth at the end of it, as if they neutered the efforts at the get go. Nonetheless, Rufus Sewell as Caiaphus manages to hold the entire effort together.
March 27, 2016
I enjoyed it but was disappointed that the miracles were left out.
½ February 29, 2016
what a bad movie!! probably yje worst i have seen in my adult life (i am 75). i bought the dvd because i thought it was produced by the national geographic channel as it is misleadingly insinuated on the cover. horrible in all respects, especially for an agnostic like me....
½ August 19, 2015
Better than I expected. I saw this film which is based on Bill O'Reilly and Martin Duggard's book. I am not a huge Bill O'Rielly fan. Overall, it was a good production with good acting by Lebanese actor Hiam Sleiman as Jesus. Most of the actors in top form. The script was more interested in the politics of Jesus' day and how he was perceived as a threat to the power of the elites, both Jewish and Roman. There was a feel authenticity that was good. On the downside there could have been more on the miracles of Jesus, his teachings particularly the parables. Also, where was Barabbas or Simon of Cyrene? The Resurrection sequence was weak too. The strongest part was Jesus being open to the outcasts of society, whether they were lepers, tax collectors, or the woman caught in adultery.
July 26, 2015
wow amazing movie/que pelicula hermosa historia,/wake up people this movie is great films and excellent....
½ June 20, 2015
Excellent, focused in the historical facts, not in weird fanatic fantasies.
June 10, 2015
This film is one of the worst retellings of Jesus Christ's life (and ultimate death) I have ever seen. I don't even know why this is on National Geographic. The film is heavily inaccurate. The directing, acting, writing, all terrible. A movie not worth seeing.
½ May 14, 2015
Killing Jesus is all over the place and suffers from confusing scenes with no explanations. The cast is good, the acting is okay but it was not executed as good as it could have been. It is not like the original Jesus story and changes the story. In this film he seems ordinary. It seemed all wrong until one off the priests wants Jesus's tomb guarded because he is afraid that his followers will remove him from the tomb to make it seem like he has been ressurected. Then the message is clear. What if Jesus was ordinary and not divine? Now its interesting The problem is that it is too little too late.
April 6, 2015
Extremely boring, bad acting, & the story bounces around the life of Jesus so much, and it seems like they do not even want the words of Jesus to be spoken. For all the hype around this made for TV movie they sure did a horrible job with the life, death, and resurrection of Jesus.
½ April 6, 2015
Comparable to the book! Killing Jesus follows the thesis of the book. O'Rielly wanted a historical view of the historical times, which lead to Jesus' crucifixion. Jesus teachings were considered a threat to the establishments money and power of Jesus' times. O'Rielly's movie omits many of the miracles etc, and focused on the historical forces of biblical times and lets the viewer decide his or her opinion on the Son of God question. Killing Jesus mastered the portrayal of Jesus message about a forgiving loving God, and that Jesus was/is willing to sacrifice himself for us. Regrettably, all biblical movies leave room for interpretation and takes liberties of what historical individuals were thinking. A well acted and directed movie with a solid historians view of the crucifixion. 3 and half stars.
½ April 5, 2015
All the reviews says this sucked!
April 5, 2015
It was boring and if O'reilly Is focusing mostly on the political side of Jesus' life then why make it appear he is clueless about his destiny, especially in his 20's?
April 3, 2015
I understand that only so much can be put in a movie due to time limit; trust me I took a class on it, so I understand why the director had to cut some stuff but they cut some of the most important parts of the Bible that a majority of Christians cherish. Like the Last Supper for example.
Page 1 of 2