Kill Bill: Volume 1 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Kill Bill: Volume 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 21231
May 22, 2019
I really love this movie it is excellent very bloody and an love the production
½ May 21, 2019
I feel Kill Bill is where Tarantino is most allowed to be himself.
Tarantino's that one "cool" director that most people like. He's got style, he's got flair, and that's really what Kill Bill is- all the style and flair of a Tarantino film turned up to eleven.
May 12, 2019
Kill Bill is more than just a movie about people killing each other. It's a revenge story best served fresh!
May 5, 2019
bloody but also an amazing movie
April 29, 2019
Probably in my top 3 Tarantino films, an epic martial arts revenge film depicting the journey of **BEEP** as she seeks out the vermin who left her in a 4 year coma. Featuring an amalgamation of Japanese Samurai, Kung Fu, Western, 70s film influences, Kill Bill is an inspiring, thrilling, entertaining, emotional film, that if released in 2019, would be considered a woke display of female determination
April 28, 2019
Marvelous exposition and action for a femme fatale duet series. The characters, story, and choreography are what win this film a sequel. Plus, Quentin's use of the Samurai aesthetic is perfection.
April 23, 2019
Many films struggle to balance style and substance, however Kill Bill: Volume 1 does this so well. Quentin Tarantino is able to blend his signature style so flawlessly with marvelous shinobi style martial arts sequences. On top of that, the style completely shifts at some points from thriller to full-on animated, and it's great. It adds on to just how incredible the overall style is instead of ruining it, and it never stops throughout the excellent revenge story that feels original and isn't something we have already seen several times before.

Uma Thurman dominates in this movie. She is likeable, funny and highly skilled. Within the first 10 minutes of the film you're already shown just how badass her character is. She is never boring or annoying, neither are all the other important characters.

The final act cannot be described with words, It's a treat for anyone who likes movies. 40 whole minutes full of martial arts sword fighting that once it starts, you're hooked until the credits roll. It delivers a satisfying ending to this movie and sets up the sequel in a brilliant way only Quentin Tarantino could achieve. Kill Bill: Volume 1 is easily one of his best works to this day.
April 21, 2019
Man, this movie was interesting. The story is simple: kill a man name Bill and to do so you have to kill his professional hitman. This movie is mix between action, noir, thriller, anime, martial arts, and one of those old Japanese films. I really liked how the movie is split up like chapters, makes it feel like a live-action comic book. Being similar to a comic book, there are some dialogue and scenes that were pretty cheesy. It's really bloody, there are body parts constantly flying off with blood squirting out like a hose. With that, the action and stunts are well-choreographed and very cool ‚" ninja-like. There was a scene where the main character faces like thirty henchmen and she killed every single one of them; that was probably one of the best fight scenes in a movie, very badass. I was never bored with it at all, but a little disturbed with some scenes and the overuse of blood. It doesn't matter though; it makes it more memorable.
April 15, 2019
Thought it was all gratuitous violence the first time. People fawned over it profusely. So I watched it again to see what I missed. ~100 minutes of gratuitous violence. Disturbing.
½ April 8, 2019
A film that personally, I loved it. Although the violent scenes are a bit exaggerated.
April 7, 2019
Artistic violence and catchy music is what Tarantino is about, but this felt to me like it was waaaaay overdone
April 3, 2019
It's absolutely bloody and craziest movie in the history, but in this movie we can see not only fight scenes how you can thought, also here you can see the perfect operators work with great soundtracks like "Battle without honor or humanity". All this aspects made this movie a classic in cinema history.
April 2, 2019
If u ever were curious psychopath minds, this movie is for u. It will not explain it, itÔŅ 1/2 1/2(TM)s just a story. A great one. Or if u like S/M. Anyway. ItÔŅ 1/2 1/2(TM)s a very violent movie, with rage and revenge, but itÔŅ 1/2 1/2(TM)s beautiful and itÔŅ 1/2 1/2(TM)s artistic in its own way. Lovable artsy sinful dirty fun. Enjoy. (If u can).
March 31, 2019
Tarantinos best. Uma is amazing.
½ March 29, 2019
An absurdly fun and well paced romp with stellar action paired with great acting. It's by no means Tarantino's best film, but even after 16 years since it's release; it holds up remarkably well as an action film.
½ March 29, 2019
One of the few revenge movie I liked (volume 1)
March 27, 2019
I like the color of the tarantino's movies for some parts. Seems like this movie is kind of light movie, but isn't at all. This film has own depth and structure. The action is also great tho.
½ March 24, 2019
Great first part...shame the second wasn't quite as good.
March 19, 2019
I feel like Kill Bill was a science experiment for Tarantino, mixing together genres from all over the place that no one else could ever have mixed. It's full of love and energy and it's just perfect. A wonderful synthesis of many Tarantino influences: Asian cinema and manga, American superhero comics and the author's own proclivities for funny, sharp and sometimes borderline satirical dialogues. A deluge of blood and action as only Tarantino knew how to deliver in the early 2000s. That anime sequence was kind of awesome, and I don‚(TM)t even watch anime. What a great idea to put a manga anime sequence in a Hollywood film! deckard36
‚~...‚~...‚~...‚~... Watched by deckard36 18 Mar, 2019

Imagine someone mashing together anime martial arts movies spaghetti westerns and about 10 other genres into one. That's Kill Bill. It's crazy, cool and l totally love it!
March 19, 2019
Adam Cook
‚~...‚~...‚~...‚~...¬ 1/2 Rewatched by Adam Cook 30 Aug, 2012 49

I have an odd relationship with the Kill Bill films because whilst I love volume one I find the second installment a self-indulgent bore, albeit with fleeting moments of brilliance. It is a real shame I so dislike volume two because as enjoyable as this film is it still feels very much what it is; the first half of an incomplete story. It undoubtedly helps that I love the films that this Kill Bill opening homages but this is still a movie that works just as well for film novices as it does for genre fans. It is a super stylish and hyper violent odyssey of revenge with Uma Thurman having never been better. She may have seemed like an odd choice when the film was announced but she proved she was more than up for the physical demands of the role. Tarantino amassed a typically eclectic cast with actors seemingly past their peak (Carradine, Hannah), regular collaborators (Thurman, Madsen) and affectionate nods to the stars that directly influenced the film (Chiba, Liu). Together the casting balance is perfect and it is hard to picture any other actors in these roles.

Whilst the opening half an hour is consistently exciting and inventive it is from the stunning animated O-Ren Ishii origin story to the moment the closing credits begin to roll that is perhaps Tarantino‚(TM)s most sustained period of brilliance as a director. The restaurant sequence in particular, essentially a 40-minute extravaganza featuring some of the best action set pieces in the history of cinema, is a real tour de force of filmmaking. The pacing is perfect with Tarantino fully in command of the ebb and flow of an action sequence and, most importantly, how to actually shoot that action so it is easy to follow. I think I could watch the climax of volume one on a permanent loop and never once get bored of its bloody carnage.

The total package may be flawed but I‚(TM)ll take the series‚(TM) faults when the first film is able to hit such joyous and brilliant heights. Elle Driver‚(TM)s whistling tune (Twisted Nerve) would reverberate back and forth in my ears and drown me out in extreme discomfort. I would become agitated, yet mostly in awe as my body broke out in sweat, certainly flabberghasted, my mind zeroed in on The Bride‚(TM)s iconic yellow tracksuit with her Hanzo‚(TM)s sword clutched tight, lifeless bodies and severed limbs scattered behind ‚" Over the top Anime‚(TM)s gore-soaked carnage - with blood poetically spraying and ‚wig flying‚? in the pristine snow. Lucy and Uma; O-Ren and the Bride; Gogo Yubari and the Crazy 88‚¶Not to mention Quantico Tortilla‚(TM)s obvious fixation on toes. Every time I revisit Kill Bill, I feel the same awe again and again. I am totally in love with this movie, it's the reason l wanna be a director. Needless to say, my life has changed ever since. 5/5! (10/10!)
Page 1 of 21231