Now You Know - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Now You Know Reviews

Page 1 of 8
½ March 5, 2016
Jeff Anderson gives it his best, but his film is not particularly interesting and it goes nowhere. It wasn't completely unwatchable, but I didn't like it. (First and only viewing - 3/3/2016)
July 10, 2012
If this film is guilty of anything, it's trying to please too many groups of people. It has a little bit of everything so just about everybody will find something to enjoy out of this. For me, the lawnmower and the dog scene was the best. For others, it may be one of the romantic scenes. Or maybe the breaking into peoples' homes. It really has something for almost everybody.
hunterjt13
Super Reviewer
June 8, 2012
In the wake of his wedding's cancellation a man tries to figure out what went wrong.
Writer, director, and co-star Jeff Anderson is known for his work in Kevin Smith's films as Randall, and Anderson's friend, Smith, makes a cameo appearance in Now You Know. Their work is remarkably similar, focusing on aimless Jersey men and their woman troubles. But whereas Smith's dialogue is smart, sharp, witty, and rolls off the tongue with an ease that few writers can master, Anderson's dialogue seems more forced, and the jokes seem deliberately set up, as though the characters know the punchline and are working to get there. Where Anderson succeeds Smith is his direction. Anderson's shots are well-framed, and he even moves the camera, something Smith rarely resorts to.
Now You Know is incredibly predictable. We know the resolution of the film's conflict early in the second act, and the reveal of the father of Marty's child is telegraphed almost from the beginning of the film. There are a few clever reveals, like why Gil and Biscuit break into houses and re-arrange the furniture, but mostly, one knows what's going to happen long before the characters do. That said, there are moments that resonated with me, including the feeling of a relationship ending for no good reason and Gil's theory that married men aren't missing out on anything because the only reason to go out is to find the one they're going to marry.
Overall, Now You Know is similar to Smith's oeuvre, which is fine company to be in.
March 16, 2012
jeff anderson show he can write
February 27, 2012
Not too bad. I expected a lot more witty dialogue and cut-downs. What I got was a lot of two people talking to their separate groups of friends about what's wrong with their relationship instead of just talking to each other and working it out. It's not bad that the movie wasn't a sequel to Clerks, but it could have found some middleground between sardonic humor and 1 hour & 40 minutes of beating around the bush. I understand it happens in real life, but I don't need to see it.
January 10, 2012
funny, but jeff anderson fails to write a lot of laugh out loud moments into the script. a lot of waiting around for funny stuff to happen
December 17, 2011
It's like a Kevin Smith movie you can take seriously (like Jersey Girl or Chasing Amy, but with "Randal Graves" directing and co-starring). Definitely worth watching.
November 13, 2011
funny, but jeff anderson fails to write a lot of laugh out loud moments into the script. a lot of waiting around for funny stuff to happen
½ June 4, 2011
Now you know is Clerks' star Jeff Anderson's directorial and writing debut. And it's not what you'd expect from Mr. Randall Graves. Essentially Anderson's character in the movie is the same character he plays in Clerks. The movie has a wonderful story. An unpredictable plot and is overall a very very enjoyable film. 4.5/5
½ May 19, 2011
Great over all movie and has a very Clerks like humor to it.
March 27, 2011
I watched 40 mins of this before fast forwarding it to try and something slightly interesting or humorous - needless to say I found neither,,,
Waste of time, stupid etc etc don't bother...
½ March 15, 2011
Not that bad, but the story didn't really go anywhere. Anyway, this could make a really good buddy comedy. Jeremy Sisto was so dreamy back in the day.
March 10, 2011
Lots of silly humour, but anyone who has ever been dumped without explanation will be able to relate.
February 17, 2011
I'll watch just about anything with Jeremy Sisto, but throw in Kevin Smith's name (and a cameo) and have the whole thing written and directed by Jeff Anderson and I just know fun times would be had. Jeff Anderson's debut outing as a writer/director could have been a whole hell of a lot worse, but it came out as a decent little comedy. Is it great? No. Will you get some laughs out of it? Yes. Most of the laughs come from Trevor Fehrman's character with Anderson contributing, mostly because Gil is basically a watered-down version of Randall from Clerks, but that's why I enjoy Anderson. His sarcasm rivals my own. I hope he continues writing/directing these indy outings. If he does, I'll keep watching.
½ December 24, 2010
Where do I begin? The movie had its funny moments and I will watch Randle unleash about anything but I was severely frustrated waiting for Sisto and Jones to talk . . .to each other. They talked to everyone in their suburb about their relationship except each other. That's why they shouldn't get married. It was a process yes I get that but it took TOO LONG. I thought the side plot between Kent/Anderson was unnecessary. It's a movie about disclosure - it's implied in the title. What needs to be said, agonizing about saying it and how to say it. OK, but it's painful to watch even when you have breaking and entering, dog mowing, hookers and Randle.

I couldn't figure out what went wrong with the casting. I've seen most of the actors in other projects but here they seemed so wooden. Edie McClurg, Rashida Jones, and Heather Paige Kent made me wonder if they were reading cue cards. I was pleased to see Kevin Smith in a role where he had lines. I was impressed by Trevor Fehrman. I never could've called such a performance from Elias.

I'm looking forward to more projects from Jeff Anderson.
November 20, 2010
Nothing too special. Had a few pretty good moments but a good bit of terrible ones canceled them out.
½ July 12, 2010
A fun and quirkly little film that will be thoroughly enjoyed by fans of Kevin's Smith's work as well as Jeff Anderson fans. Worth a watch for the cameos alone. :)
March 18, 2010
alright movie but it's full of crazy chick logic
February 25, 2010
A decent debut film for Jeff "Randall" Anderson, with a simple story and likable characters.
Page 1 of 8