The Keep - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Keep Reviews

Page 1 of 18
December 14, 2018
One of my all time favorite horror films though I'd hardly call it horror really. There are loads of critics of this film in the audience but they shouldn't be mad at Michael Mann the director, the reason why this film is hard to follow is a great example of yet another great movie being destroyed by the studio in the cutting room. There's a reason why Shareholders are not directors and this is why. Anyway once you find the pieces cut out of the film you'll understand the whole film!
January 19, 2018
This film is one of my all-time favourites, I think it's visuals are pleasing, the storyline is good. The atmosphere and the visuals really make this film a classic. The slow motion sequences and the design of the evil man and is dialogue is spot on
January 14, 2018
The Keep is one of the best horror films of the 80's. Despite the serious trouble to make the film and the fact it was cut from almost three hours to an hour and a half it still displays the eerie and dark mood that makes it a great show. Superb locations and a credible story. One of my faves from the 80's.
November 27, 2017
I love this movie, at the time it was something different. The film,effects,acting was great to me.
August 21, 2017
I have watched way more movies than the average person. And I will tell anyone that this is one of the greatest films that I have ever seen.
May 14, 2017
Menuda decepción. Pensaba que The Keep se iba a convertir para mí en esa joyita incomprendida de los ochenta que ahora los amantes del género reclamamos, pero sus problemas son tan grandes y tan imposibles de pasar por alto que el visionado de esta cinta de Michael Mann es una tortura.

Una lástima porque tenía muchísimo potencial...

Echad un vistazo a mi crítica completa en Terror.Team para entender de lo que hablo: http://terror.team/la-caida-de-un-mito-the-keep/
April 30, 2017
Michael Mann's cult favorite has amazing production values but an empty shell of a plot.
March 12, 2017
When I was a kid, this movie terrified me. 25 years later, and I have no idea why...

The acting was top notch with Gabriel Byrne and Sir Ian McKellen. The story is interesting, but just ends up being too dark and foggy, and the 'creature' is nothing more than a guy in a rubber suit.

So much potential wasted. With Nazi's camping in a Keep that the local people said to stay away from, with strange happenings, and soldiers being wasted and torn apart, this should have been amazing, but it just didn't gel like it should have.

The soundtrack was marvelous however, and as I said, some performances were really good, and the premise was great.
½ November 21, 2016
Most of the time I had no idea what was going one
October 26, 2016
Great, dreamy, Nightmarish flick. kOoL Cinematics. I liked the old, ancient Romanian Village....the strange Fortress....the nice German Captain, and the Big Monster !
People just love to beat up the weird flicks Ike this one by cramming the movie into their square peg and claiming the movie makes no sense or whatever. BS !
As Captain Defender of the underdog flicks I say you should give this one a chance if you liked Phantasm and hated Titanic.
If you liked Titanic then you shouldn't be watching The Keep. You should be watching Fried Green Tomatoes. The Keep is for us Boys, not sissy's
August 20, 2016
It starts off as an ambiguous story about a Romanian village with a strange structure (the keep) occupied by the Wehrmacht in a World War II setting. Unfortunately, it evolves into a classical good-vs-bad setup, including a savior figure. The postapocalyptic set at the end of the movie is very good. However, the love scene and the whole soundtrack are completely off. Interestingly enough, Ian McKELLEN plays a supporting character and he even does a Gandalf-like "thou shall not pass" act.
June 25, 2016
This is a very cool sci-fi/horror movie. it has nazis a monster I giant keep and a cool plot. check it out.
May 9, 2016
Vastly underrated, this a completely fascinating film in eerie mood and supernatural atmosphere. Good sound design in music and effects. Production design, especially in the Keep set itself is very effective. To say more, for those who haven't been inside yet, would be most unsettling.........
½ January 31, 2016
A great cast, cool effects and interesting plot line builds the film up to be a cult classic, but, unfortunately the execution is all wrong. The bad end result could be due to the hefty running time cutting made by studio executives or the directors overall execution but either way i wouldn't recommend it.
½ January 2, 2016
I am still trying to figure out what this movie is actually about.Wish I had still missed watching this after watching this.Even over the top for an 80s movie.
Super Reviewer
December 14, 2015
The fault lies with the studio hack job. We can only hope that one day we'll see Mann's true version.
½ September 28, 2015
Com ambientes adequadamente soturnos e uma banda sonora hipnotizante de Tangerine Dreams, é pena que a execução não tenha sido das melhores no que diz respeito ás atuações e principalmente aos efeitos especiais gerados por computador, que hoje em dia não têm outro adjetivo senão "antiquados". Tivessem estes aspetos sido melhorados e teríamos em mãos um clássico pelas mãos de Michael Mann, no entanto o resultado final merece ser apreciado mesmo assim, até porque nunca é demais ver coisas desastrosas a acontecerem aos nazis.
½ September 8, 2015
A classic film that proved to be ahead of its time. Nothing of award worth but a true begining to a amazing directors career. A stellar cast that were not brought to full potential for the film.
½ July 23, 2015
ZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzz
July 4, 2015
You need to watch this movie, it has music, special effects and acting that you don't want to miss, such a haunting atmospheric movie, incredible that people write it off, most likely to it's age.

Despite the poor editing of this film thanks to the studio, many glorious parts remain, it could have been so much more if the director was allowed to show his cut, but alas no.

It remains to me a very special film even after watching it recently, I hope one day the studio will stop hiding the footage and we can have the extended cut which I am sure will be excellent.
Page 1 of 18