Judge Dredd - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Judge Dredd Reviews

Page 1 of 144
April 23, 2019
Beware, Judge Dredd is and underwhelming and un-loyal comic book adaptation. The overall tone of the film is to goofy whereas the comic it is based off of is much darker and serious. The dialog is pretty bad and the acting is rubbish although the special effects don't look as bad as I expected them to. One thing I personally hated was how Dredd removes his helmet about 12 minutes in. In the comics, Dredd is never seen without his helmet, it shows how he is loyal to the law and has practically no emotion. Overall, goofy and action packed film is just another brick in the wall of bad action flics.
October 29, 2018
This movie is garbage. I would like to flick the director and writer on their sacks for making such a piece of cinematic diarrhea. Can you tell I don't like this film?
August 24, 2018
I thought "Judge Dredd" is quite entertaining.
August 10, 2018
Not as bad as everyone wants it to be. Stallone performence is weak, but visually is actually not bad. Amande Assante does a very good job.
½ July 12, 2018
Before this movie even premiered, critics almost universally panned it. Because of this, many made fun of the film and few went to see it (I was among them). However, few days ago, I saw it using boxxy software and was shocked that I didn't hate the movie. While a little dopey at times, the movie kept my attention and surely didn't deserve all the bad press.
May 25, 2018
My theory is that everyone born in the 80s HAVE to love this movie.
½ May 13, 2018
Dreadful, just dreadful.
Stallone thought it was a comedy and the director wanted it to be like Blade Runner, says it all.

A low point for Stallone.
May 5, 2018
The most gung-ho of the Judges (police/judge/executioners in a post-apocalyptic world) is framed for murder by his half-brother who wants to control the Judge force. On his journey to prison, his transport is disrupted and he escapes along with a hacker "nice criminal" used for comedic relief. Upon trying to clear his name he is framed for even more crimes. With a hell of a cast (Sylvester Stallone, Armand Assante, Rob Schneider, and Jürgen Prochnow along with the voices of James Earl Jones and Bebe Neuwirth) this action comedy falls flat mostly due to terrible CGI and a very uneven tone. Also, Stallone definitely had his "magic shoes" on as his 5'9"(5'7"?) height was suddenly 6"+. You can safely miss this one.
May 2, 2018
Shut up and enjoy 90's Action.
April 5, 2018
An unfortunate crossover from a comic to the screen.
½ December 16, 2017
A guilty pleasure of mine. "You betrayed da law! LAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA"
November 19, 2017
lol i like it, i know i shouldnt. but i do
November 13, 2017
THE LAWWWWW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
September 28, 2017
The action is fun, and the visual aesthetic is kinda cool, but Judge Dredd is a failed middle ground between serious action and parody. Sylvester Stallone gives one of his worst performances, and Diane Lane gives the only good performance in the movie. The story is boring and convoluted, the CGI looks fake, and the film as a whole is just okay.
½ September 6, 2017
If i was scaling on awesomeness id go 5.
August 30, 2017
As a child this movie was awesome as an adult it still is!!!
½ August 13, 2017
First things first, I saw the reboot version that just came out before seeing this movie and finally I can compare and the new darker version won but the costumes in this movie is better than the new reboot version because it looks like a kids toy and I want to buy it now. Ok, 80s movie starring Sylvester Stallone and Rob snider or however you spell his God dang last name, it's impossible. For me, this felt like a kids movie, the style of this movie where the superhero saves the day, I know it's a comic and it feels like it, it's trying to be the comic unlike the new version which I like better than the new reboot. Good kids movie but it's rated r, it shouldn't have been.
Super Reviewer
August 8, 2017
A missed opportunity to create a fresh series of movies. Stallone could of been great in the lead but neither he or the script is worth the time. the only redeeming aspect is the creation of the angel family. poorly filmed and ultimately a failed film that deserved more focus. I just watched this again and dropped it to a 1 star, this film does a huge disservice to the comic character of the same name. I still Stallone could have been great in the lead but you can tell his ego got in the way of this film, true Hollywood lead actor ego. The tone is a giant mess and the casting of Schneider tells you how misplaced the tone was. They attempted a buddy sci fi action film with one of comics greatest lone wolfs. The film is terrible in comparison to the remake that went criminally unseen by everyone. Stallone needed to keep that helmet on and respect the source material because this film had the chance to be something great. The love story, villains and uninteresting plot twists should have been saved for a sequel after establishing the lore of the concept. You won't be interested with the plotline because neither were the filmmakers. This is just another property demanding more films. 08-08-2017.
July 15, 2017
This movie could have and should have been much better.
June 26, 2017
Fun action sci fi flick. Very 90s action movie.
Page 1 of 144