Joker - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Joker Reviews

Page 1 of 28
January 17, 2020
Is it good? Parts of it. Did I enjoy it? Not really.
November 21, 2019
Where did the Joker come from? What's up with the clown schtick? Is his mom named Martha? All these questions and more are answered definitively by director Todd Phillips and Joaquin Phoenix, and it only takes two ponderous hours.
October 4, 2019
Joker offers tremendous imagery and a top performance from Joaquin Phoenix, but it fails to drum up any strong themes or interesting statements, leaving it feeling empty.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
October 3, 2019
Joker's intellectual commentary is just a cheap costume.
February 13, 2020
JOKER is a beautiful but simplistically shallow tale of one man's downward spiral, tacked on to a recognisable cinematic icon. Todd Phillips's film is a Batmobile with the engine of a clown car.
October 10, 2019
For all the discourse around Joker, I was expecting something truly abhorrent - for better or worse. What I was shocked to find is how little of a bite it has.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5
October 4, 2019
Watching an emaciated creeper do several "kooky underpants dances" is definitely somebody's idea of a good time. It is just not mine.
Full Review | Original Score: F
October 9, 2019
The film isn't worth arguing over when it doesn't actually say anything at all.
October 3, 2019
Phillips and Silver have no interest in how [Arthur] can rid himself of the clutter that corrupts his existence. They're only interested in chaos; however, they don't elevate the chaos into a meaningful narrative, they pander to the audience with it.
February 11, 2020
The more I watched it, the more I disliked it. Just did not work for me, I hate this movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/5
October 15, 2019
Joker is a visual feast about mental illness, the crumbling of an unstable economic system, and toxic masculinity that thinks it has something groundbreaking to add to the comic book universe, but merely adds an obtuse reflection.
Full Review | Original Score: C
September 25, 2019
A joyless film with the wit and emotional intelligence of a school shooter manifesto.
October 2, 2019
Joker is basically an idiot's version of a thinking man's film.
October 7, 2019
It's unclear if the movie thinks that the Joker doesn't know that his statement is political, or the film itself doesn't understand it's own political nature[...]
January 17, 2020
His story wasn't interesting to me because there never was a valid option for him to chose a different path.
October 3, 2019
That's what makes this film so insidious, the 'Joker' movie might be a far bigger villain than the Joker himself ever was.
October 7, 2019
For all the handwringing over Joker's release to call it dangerous simply imbues it with more coherence and power than it actually has.
October 7, 2019
It turns out the piece of art that has caused such an uproar is nothing more than an incoherent, misbegotten and embarrassingly dull two hours.
October 7, 2019
There's a cowardice about all of this which is really hard to ignore.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
October 2, 2019
Joker plays like the Clown Prince's own propaganda film, a flimsy, sloppy "You Made Me Do This" ex post facto justification for all the criminal havoc he wreaks on Gotham in the ensuing years.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Page 1 of 28