Joker - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Joker Reviews

Page 1 of 28
February 13, 2020
JOKER is a beautiful but simplistically shallow tale of one man's downward spiral, tacked on to a recognisable cinematic icon. Todd Phillips's film is a Batmobile with the engine of a clown car.
February 11, 2020
The more I watched it, the more I disliked it. Just did not work for me, I hate this movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/5
February 10, 2020
The whole damn thing is directed with such boldness and vision that Todd Phillips (yeah, the Hangover guy) should never look back again. A big-screen must see.
February 6, 2020
Not only an intelligent throwback to the feel-bad shock cinema of the 1970s, Joker is all but unique in its social realism...
February 5, 2020
Cinema is dead. Here is your proof.
Full Review | Original Score: F
January 29, 2020
For just over two hours we are forced into alignment with a monster. And, not only that, it wants us to unrepentantly side with him. It feels hyperbolic to say that this results in a terrible sense of inescapable unease when watching, but it's the truth.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 22, 2020
For what it is, it's gorgeously assembled, with a ragged jewel of a performance by Joaquin Phoenix at its center. The problem is, well, what it is... Joker ends up repeating itself and lap-dancing its same handful of nihilistic points again and again.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 22, 2020
Ultimately, Joker blames society for its "hero's" unraveling, letting this maniac off the hook. Simplistic, yes. Reckless, undoubtedly. But not totally invalid.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 21, 2020
...A lethally dull and spiritually deadening exercise whose strained black humor and self-importance makes even the profundities of Christopher Nolan's Dark Knight trilogy feel meaningful by comparison.
January 20, 2020
I implore you: move on from Joker. You are better than this. We all are.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
January 17, 2020
His story wasn't interesting to me because there never was a valid option for him to chose a different path.
January 17, 2020
Is it good? Parts of it. Did I enjoy it? Not really.
January 16, 2020
Todd Phillips creates a terrifying masterpiece and one of the best and most daring comic book films ever made.
January 14, 2020
To celebrate "Joker" as the best of the year is akin to telling your friends of all the celebrities you met while walking through Madame Tussauds. It isn't and you didn't.
January 12, 2020
an original thought-piece that builds on the dissonance of the past as a way to conjecture about the future.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
January 10, 2020
Joaquin Phoenix gives one of the most memorable performances of the year and of his career in Todd Phillips' Joker.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
January 10, 2020
I've seen or read so many types of Joker stories with so many types of Jokers that I can't possibly be shocked or bothered by what happens in the story, but I can say that everyone involved made a good film
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
January 10, 2020
When he finally does put on the colourful suit and painted face, it's akin to watching a horror movie monster emerge.
Full Review | Original Score: Half Price
January 7, 2020
Fear of the masses - in a movie. And a bold, startling when not mournful expression of simmering low wage police state millennial generation misery.
January 6, 2020
Phoenix overcomes the self-pity inherent in the material; he gives Arthur a sweet soul, and makes it hard not to like him, and to cringe when you see his next humiliation coming. In that sense, Joker is compelling.
Page 1 of 28