John Carpenter's Ghosts of Mars - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

John Carpenter's Ghosts of Mars Reviews

Page 1 of 6
March 11, 2020
...a low-budget throwback to the gorefest action sf of the sixties.
April 14, 2011
A rather sturdy modernized mash-up of Assault on Precinct 13 and Escape from New York.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
April 29, 2009
Cheesy D grade popcorn guilty pleasure...
February 4, 2002
You'll wish you were on Mars and not on Earth suffering through this movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
November 12, 2001
| Original Score: B
October 24, 2001
It loves being quick and dirty, and it wants you to love it too. That honesty can be hard to resist, even when the film itself starts to falter.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
October 11, 2001
...no logra superar ese status de ser una película pasajera y punto...
| Original Score: 5/10
September 21, 2001
There's a difference between a simple plot and a stupid one. Carpenter's is a no-brainer, but it's executed with flair, talent, and few lapses in logic.
Full Review | Original Score: B
August 31, 2001
Carpenter's work is recognizable as human art, but art untarnished by the sheen and polish of a global popular culture.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 27, 2001
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 24, 2001
Provides a full-fledged blast of undiluted B-movie zest.
August 24, 2001
It's big, gory, ugly fun, just the way you want it to be.
August 24, 2001
A flawed but worthy effort from an auteur whose near-misses are more entertaining than many others' hits.
August 24, 2001
Carpenter has brought his curatorial care to the nuances, and the movie achieves wipeout energy.
August 24, 2001
I guess John Carpenter the careless purveyor of slime and hokum is the only John Carpenter we've got, and that's better than none at all.
August 24, 2001
All basic stuff, and yet Carpenter brings pacing and style to it, and Natasha Henstridge provides a cool-headed center.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 24, 2001
Ghosts of Mars may be nothing more than drive-in blood and guts, but it's satisfyingly executed.
August 23, 2001
Stands on its own by sheer directorial verve and a fascinating flashback structure.
August 23, 2001
Listen up, you hard-core sci-fi addicts. We're going for a ride -- and I do mean ride.
August 23, 2001
Another strong outing for Carpenter, a B-movie that knows its place, delivers its goods, then gets the hell out of our face.
Page 1 of 6