Jennifer's Body - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Jennifer's Body Reviews

Page 1 of 589
April 30, 2019
Something NEW to the eye,"Megan Fox" has out done herself in this movie this is definitely my favorite movie in the wold I recommend you watch this movie, "this is a movie I would watch on my death bed that's how good it is," "By the way Megan Fox is BAE off back off okay"
April 15, 2019
the movie probably could have been a little better but i really love the plot. it's a great story
April 8, 2019
Fun black comedy. The two leads really make the movie.
March 15, 2019
a cool movie for friday night
February 21, 2019
"let's make a movie about a pretty girl who makes out with a bunch of kids at her school"

ok.
½ December 19, 2018
When I first watched it I disliked it but the more I watch this movie the more I appreciate it for what it is, a horror movie with social commentary thrown in. The dialogue can be very grating but I feel like this was intended to be like that.
November 18, 2018
Basic "teenhorrorcomedy".
November 4, 2018
this movie is amazing and i love ir poetic cinema cinematic masterpiece academy award thank you megan fox and amanda seyfried
October 21, 2018
Unsatisfying. It's a horror/comedy that really isn't much of either.
½ September 22, 2018
An amazing movie. Good for jump scare and gore fans.
½ August 13, 2018
I think this movie is a bit underrated. There is some pretty good acting in this movie and the plot is pretty out there but still keeps you interested. Definitely lacks the horror/humor factor though.
½ August 10, 2018
This is a great movie. Feminist horror story. LOVED IT.
August 4, 2018
Cool twist on the classic teens horror movie. Both leads show unexpected personality traits for their characters and make a good job of it.
June 7, 2018
You can go watch it for Megan Fox and Diablo Cody fresh off her Oscar nomination and the film is pretty alright to be fair. It is better than most films of this genre. Just don't go in expecting too much. (Megan shines)
½ February 12, 2018
A lackluster, ridiculous film that tries to subvert genre expectations but ultimately falls short.

When small town high-school student Jennifer is possessed by a hungry demon, she transitions from being "high-school evil" -- gorgeous (and doesn't she know it), stuck up and ultra-attitudinal -- to the real deal: evil/evil. The glittering beauty becomes a pale and sickly creature jonesing for a meaty snack, and guys who never stood a chance with the heartless babe, take on new luster in the light of Jennifer's insatiable appetite. Meanwhile, Jennifer's lifelong best friend Needy, long relegated to living in Jennifer's shadow, must step-up to protect the town's young men, including her nerdy boyfriend.

This is one of the few films where I read the screenplay before I saw the film. In my script analysis class, our teacher is friends with the director Karyn Kusama. Because of that relationship, we're able to get our hands on different drafts of all her work. It was interesting to read the screenplay first than watch the film after. Now my opinion on the film is different, but the whole process was really cool. I typically read the screenplays after I watch the film, but I had the pleasure of reading the screenplay beforehand.

Now in terms of how much I liked this film, I didn't. We've dissected the script and its themes and I think the concept is awesome. The underlying messages and motifs are so cool and the entire concept has potential. However, I genuinely don't see it in the execution and I strongly disliked this film. I didn't hate it, but it just got ridiculous. I think there were some cool, underlying ideas but it never got put into action. I think with any film, you can dissect it and find amazing things under the surface, but it doesn't justify how it was written or the execution.

I think this film was just cheesy and corny. No, it wasn't cheesy and corny in a way that was smart, it was cheesy and corny in a way that was cheap. It felt poorly written and not in touch with the setting. It was almost laughable how bad some of the lines were. Maybe that's because of the performers (who were fine by the way), but I don't think it was great writing. I was surprised at how many women were behind this script because when I originally read it, I thought otherwise. It doesn't really feel like a film that's empowering women in any way, rather just a ploy to target that demographic.

In the end, "Jennifer's Body" can be enjoyed by some, but it ultimately falls short in the goals it sets for itself.
January 25, 2018
Heathers + Lost Boys = Jennifer's Body ......and I love it!
½ January 23, 2018
Do you like horror movies? Do you like the layered and coded language of Clueless? Do you wish there was a more nuanced discussion of the roles of women in horror movies? Do you wish more movies explored the complex natures of female friendship? Would you enjoy seeing a woman get vengeance after a horrific violation of her person by devouring men?
If you answered yes to any of these question, this film may be for you. It is a surprisingly thoughtful film about the roles that women are cast in in both horror movies and in life. Megan Fox and Amanda Syfried are great as both best friends and rivals. They own their sexuality in ways that horror movies generally do not allow women to do. Sex in this movie is a weapon, a hindrance, and a joy, so much more than the "if you have sex you will die" trope in many classic horror films. The film has a surprisingly nuanced exploration of the virgin/whore dichotomy that I think tends to get overshadowed by how undeniably hot Megan Fox is. Jennifer's Body gets a lot of flack but I think it is a fun horror movie with an interesting and thoughtful take on the women who drive its plot through their friendship/rivalry.
I know it is probably not for everyone, but I really do believe that this film is worth giving a shot.
December 31, 2017
I like the concept a lot but the script, to me, wasn't structured and the concept wasn't fully exploited. There were good ideas but unfortunately they weren't exploited. The film is categorized in the horror genre but it's not scary at all. The character change (of the protagonist) doesn't appear on screen which leads to a very unsatisfying feeling. It felt a lot like if the production draft was the first draft of the script.
December 29, 2017
honestly one of the best (also silly and funny) horror/gore genres told from the teenage girl perspective. totally nuanced and accurate to a particular type of female friendship we often find ourselves in.... I think it is often misconstrued as a catfight, without comprehending the petty competition and yet deep love young teenage friendships can both maintain. Also the representation of lame, inconstant boys was particularly gratifying and funny. Many parts of this film I thought were truly genius and before the films time!
December 16, 2017
Totally underrated. The catchy yet annoyingly bad indie song written for the movie is on point. That alone earned this a better score. I am so confused about why this got such bad ratings. I know audience score is usually bad for horror movies, but the critics disappointed me on this one.
Page 1 of 589