Jaws - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Jaws Reviews

Page 1 of 5
June 5, 2002
To be fair to this film, and I can't see why I should be, it is an improvement on Peter Benchley's book.
July 29, 2013
It is a coarse-grained and exploitive work which depends on excess for its impact. Ashore it is a bore, awkwardly staged and lumpily written.
November 26, 2019
It is not only the most realistically terrifying film I've ever gasped through, it is extraordinarily well made.
June 3, 2019
A perfect movie in nearly every way.
September 24, 2007
A classic. Tense, engrossing, scary and, subsequently, endlessly influential.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
July 5, 2018
Jaws is a quintessential American movie.
September 20, 2017
Jaws is a grisly film, often ugly as sin, which achieves precisely what it set out to accomplish-scare the hell out of you.
November 3, 2018
With compelling characters, high-tension storyline, and top-drawer direction, it's as perfect today as when it was released.
June 20, 2015
Jaws knew how to keep audiences invested. While getting to know the human characters and seeing what makes them relatable, the audience salivates for another monster scene.
June 12, 2015
Director Steven Spielberg has immeasurably improved the bestselling Peter Benchley potboiler novel.
May 29, 2015
Spielberg had paced the film beautifully so that one is always on edge, tensed for those scary moments that turn out to be false alarms, and left somehow totally unprepared for the real shocks.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 6, 2015
Perhaps the most perfectly constructed horror story in our time.
July 18, 2014
I still find this film pretty terrifying.
February 4, 2014
Enjoyment derived from tension and fear, interspersed with brief breathers to allow nerve-relieving chuckles and smiles.
Full Review | Original Score: A+
July 8, 2019
Sure, the shark looks a tad mechanical. But the film's still a masterpiece of suspenseful story-telling, aided by John Williams' brilliant score, ground out on a tuba.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
October 9, 2012
Basically, Jaws is an excellent routine movie, the sort normally made on a moderate budget and aimed at the neighborhood houses.
June 21, 2012
Before we see anything, our ears are chilled by composer John Williams' menacing two note soundtrack which then builds into that unforgettable frenzy as the unseen shark savages its first victim.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
June 19, 2012
You think of the excess that followed in Jaws' wake and realise how well judged that first blockbuster is.
June 13, 2012
The aquatic terror is deftly balanced with lively, likeable characterisations.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
June 14, 2012
It remains an influence on the modern blockbuster, and is one of its best examples.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Page 1 of 5