Jane Austen's Emma - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Jane Austen's Emma Reviews

Page 1 of 14
September 15, 2017
Love the Kate version. Mr. KNIGHTLY is so much more stern and it shows that she learns throughout the movie.
May 26, 2015
Very good and delightful
April 10, 2015
I tried to watch this one, but it was not the best adaptation available.
½ April 1, 2013
Blech! Kate Beckinsale is a passable Emma, but the man who plays Mr. Knightly is terrible!! How can Emma stand being constantly berated by him? "Badly done!"
February 9, 2013
Nice adaptation of the Jane Austen classic.
½ December 8, 2012
I liked the Gwyneth Paltrow version better. The good thing about this version, however, is that it gives a little more explanation of the plot for those who haven't read the book. I also liked the actors better in the other version than this one. You could tell Kate Beckinsale wasn't very experienced at this point. Samantha Morton was pretty good, though! I never imagined her in period pieces.
November 3, 2012
Hmmm I watch it whenever it shows on television, i'm not a fan of Kate Beckinsale in this movie. I don't think she suits Emma very well but i do like this adaptation and it is worth a watch if your a fan of the book.
½ August 8, 2012
Fused Paltrow's Emma with this disgusting TV Drama! :@
½ July 27, 2012
What can I say? I love period piece romances and this is another classic.
I love Emma's dad in this. He steals the show.
½ May 6, 2012
Very much like the book making it not as funny as the Gwyneth Paltrow version. Still, it's a good watch.
jjnxn
Super Reviewer
½ April 27, 2012
A mere patch on the Gwyneth Paltrow version of the story, where that take on the story got everything right this one gets it all pretty much wrong. This Emma is more of a blank slate and churlish, none of the other characters are as vivid either although Mark Strong is an interesting Mr. Knightly but not enough to make up for the other shortcomings. Regrettably flat.
January 23, 2012
What good can be said for this film?...it had nice set design and decent cinematography. But it really lacked in character to audience connection and the way the film is presented is rather dull and lifeless and the acting sub-par. If you want to watch an adaptation of one of Jane Austen's most beloved novels...do yourself a favor and watch the 1996 version with Paltrow instead.
January 14, 2012
I prefer this version of Austen's Emma as it's not quite so contrived as the Paltrow one, and Harriet's character seems more believable in this version. On the other hand, Paltrow and Bentham are fabulous as well. Hmmm.. Buy both!
½ December 13, 2011
Kate Beckinsale is a much better Emma than Gwynelth Paltrow yet not so perfectly as BBC 2009 Mini-Series' Romola Garai. In general all the casting choices are good (perhaps not the most handsome Mr. Knightley) and everyone delivered a nice performance. On the downside there isn't enough Harriet - Mr. Elton screen time to fully comprehend Emmas misjudge on his account. But the biggest faux pas is the too kitchy happy ending as I doubt that Jane Austen would let the different classes celebrate and dance together. But all together a nicely done adaption which is very close to the dialogues of the book!
October 17, 2011
25 May 2011

Once watching it i realised i had seen it before...this sucked.
September 17, 2011
Slow-paced retelling that probably seemed particularly tepid due to being released in the same year as the more engaging Gwyneth Paltrow version. Kate Beckinsale came across as more childish/less likeable than some other actresses' interpretation of the title role, though some of the minor characters were a bit more engaging.
½ August 31, 2011
I've seen the newer BBC adaptation (the mini series) and greatly enjoyed that, this film was a lot more lack lustre, but adept never the less.
April 10, 2011
Despite being less than half the length of the 2009 mini-series, this adaptation is far superior, in my opinion.

Every character was well cast! Every single one, but especially Jane Fairfax and Frank Churchill. Maybe I wish Mr. Knightley had darker hair, but he did have the proper air and presence that I expected. Not surprisingly, scenes were condensed, but the result is a very well-paced movie. Obvious omissions did not detract from the development of the story, and I was pleased to see many of my favorite lines included. The harvest festival that concluded the movie was not in the book, but I liked the scene, and I actually much prefer the way in which the movie left Emma and Harriet's relationship over the way it was left in the book. The final scene even had me tearing up!
December 6, 2010
Wasnt my favorite movie. Then again, not my favorite book my Ms. Austen's either.
½ July 26, 2010
Fairly faithful to the book, great acting, but the ironic tone is somewhat missing and it is really important, otherwise you end up having a movie about "girl meets boy"...
Page 1 of 14