Jackie Brown - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Jackie Brown Reviews

Page 1 of 350
October 2, 2019
Fun movie - with strong acting - love the drawn out scenes - DeNiro was fabulous. Typical Tarantino revenge movie - overall was a good script worth every minute.
½ May 22, 2019
Jackson is hyper about it and De Niro is taking it slow. this choreography is more focused on stunts than authentic dance.

Jackie Brown

Tarantino is conning us. Literally. With a sublime texture scraped off from these characters, his display of the boneless flesh is too flamboyant to break or shock you. The co-writer and director, Quentin Tarantino's fourth film is adapted from the novel Rum Punch written by Elmore Leonard. And this adaptation unfortunately didn't go well for Tarantino. Busy in his own state of mind and comic timing, Tarantino is either leaping over stuff or overstretching stuff. This results in a bizarre pace for the film, something that takes us plenty of time to fit in into.

And clocking at more than two and a half hours, the flips and turns that Tarantino so effortlessly whispers in the script could barely be reliable enough to fiddle us with these many hokum events. And yes, it does work when it comes to pump our heart fast and scare us through one-liners by Samuel L. Jackson who states it without blinking his eyes. But that could have easily been carried off, without individually introducing these characters in the narration.

By the way, no one hypes up the name of the character like Tarantino, before they even arrive or impress us, the flown rumors are so bedazzling that you ought to cheer up when they finally enter the screen. Jackson has got the coolness of the all the plot points, with a gold membership card, he has access to every track of the film and yet, it feels like he never fully squeezes it out from the script. In fact, any of the cast member, they never come alive on screen, with such a caliber of cast, from Robert De Niro to Michael Keaton, you'd think you would be moved by them colliding on the screen and instead you have to rely upon Jackie Brown who will and does cheat you; she is told to.
April 30, 2019
tarantino at his best
April 24, 2019
Jackie.....one of the best! I love Pam Grier!
March 6, 2019
I rather enjoyed this movie. The plot is insane but insane in a good way.
February 15, 2019
A favorite of mine in Tarantiono's library. Pam Grier is excellent in the role and her story of trying to cheat all sides against her to start a brand new life is an excellent one. I wish this one got a little more attention.
½ February 13, 2019
Very cool. I love the story! And that OST baby!
January 20, 2019
just a masterpiece by tarantino
½ January 12, 2019
Another Tarantino film made to perfect Samuel L. Jackson's swearing routine
December 3, 2018
7.5/10. 12-2-2018

Original rating: 9-3-2007 (6/10) Definitely not Tarantino's best. It dragged occasionally, and seemed like a black exploitation film set in the 90s. but what disappointed me most was De Niro's screentime, or lack there of. Overall, it's a decent flick, it has a good plot, but stand...(read more)s far in the shadows of Pulp Fiction and Reservoir Dogs.
November 15, 2018
This is really a underrated Tarantino film. If you liked pulp fiction then you will
like this.
November 11, 2018
A wonderful cast with great character evolution, not your typical action packed Tarantino film but his story telling capability is highly entertaining.
½ November 5, 2018
Quentin Tarantino most underrated movie.
½ November 3, 2018
Di sicuro il film di Tarantino meno apprezzato; è passato troppo in sordina e spesso ci si dimentica anche della sua esistenza e questa pellicola non lo merita affatto. La trama è interessantissima e la sceneggiatura, adattata da un libro, è scritta benissimo; il montaggio è impeccabile e gli interpreti, così come i personaggi, sono di prima categoria. Samuel L. Jackson non va neanche commentato per quanto è unico, Robert De Niro è Robert De Niro, nonostante nella prima metà del film il suo personaggio non ha avuto grande spazio; Pam Grier e Robert Forster son stati entrambi bravissimi, così come Keaton. A livello di violenza è il meno tarantiniano tra tutti i film del regista, non c'è tutta quella violenza e quel sangue che troviamo in un "Django Unchained" o in un "Bastardi senza Gloria", nonostante ciò abbiamo tantissimi tratti distintivi di Tarantino come le riprese dal bagagliaio dell'auto o i dialoghi sopra le righe e pieni zeppi di volgarità. Gran bel film, molto sottovalutato, merita più attenzione.
September 9, 2018
My favoorite Tarantino film but he is not in Kubrik's class. The story line, camera work, casting and 80% of the soundtrack is top rate but his dialogue writing is so overwhelmingly intelligent-neurotic that even when it is delivered by great actors, I get visions of Tarantino speaking it in my head. If he had let his actors use more improvisation and he had consulted with more soul djs, the film could have been improved.
August 18, 2018
This was a complete 180 from the hyperviolent gangster films he previously had done.

It has a great a cast and good performances (especially the understated performance from deniro) but I just do not care about anything that's going on. i don't care about forster and grier's romance not anything else.

It's good on a technical level but it always fails to hold my interest. it took me three tries to sit through the whole thing.

IT'S DEFINITELY TARANTINO'S MOST MATURE FILM AND IT'S ALSO HIS MOST DULL AT THE SAME TIME.
July 15, 2018
Two words: Pam f'n Grier!!
½ July 14, 2018
"Jackie Brown" is Tarantino's forgotten classic, with a brilliant cast, strong performances and dialogues, almost no violence and a unique sense of nostalgia that captivates the viewer, almost like a love letter to the bygone era of "blaxploitation". While the pacing might be slightly off sometimes, and the plot getting a little too complicated to follow, Jackie Brown is a more than worthy successor to Reservoir Dogs and Pulp Fiction.
½ July 5, 2018
A good Tarantino movie but not a Tarantino classic.
Page 1 of 350