The Jackal - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Jackal Reviews

Page 1 of 86
½ April 22, 2019
This movie suffers from so many problems that at the end, I was laughing at how cliched it was. Gere's accent appears and disappears at will. You get to see Bruce Willis briefly acting gay! We see appearances from Daniel Dae Kim, JK Simmons, and Jack Black, who we know is going to die, (not really a spoiler because he's acting like a jackass to an assassin 1 minute into his appearance.) Further, there are continuity errors like crazy! Far inferior to the book. Willis' character takes unnecessary risks to further his evilness, as opposed to acting like the assassin he is. He should have just taken in a sniper rifle and shot his target. Emotionally off, pacing off, this is a disaster of a movie.
½ February 8, 2019
Bruce Willis carries the movie but nevertheless he carries it to an entertaining level. It's not simply watchable, nor is it captivating but it lies somewhere in between. Watching repeat viewings still evokes the humour or thrill that it musters from the first viewing, whether they be minor shingles down your spine or paralysis-inducing, fixating moments of pure cinematic adrenaline. Watch it. It's good.
½ January 5, 2019
Fair potboiler marred by padded & irrelevant scenes (which could be easily edited out), humorlessness and dankness, gore, and a few f-word expletives. Focus also is primarily on the activities of the villain, ruining opportunities for suspense-building, for which horror-movie-ish shlock-shocks substitute. B. Willis, in the title role, does have a few moments when he appears in various disguises which The Jackal assumes, but otherwise plays his role steely-eyed. Others have their lines and cues but are pretty stiff-faced too.
October 6, 2018
I liked Bruce Willis as the bad guy in this movie, but otherwise, this movie is riddled with plot holes and miscast characters. There was a good premise to the movie but not enough follow through, It could have been a decent remake but it got slow moving in parts. It's a movie that's serviceable if it's on as backround noise, but if you look seriously at it, you'll realize there are better, more coherent assassin movies out there.
June 11, 2018
Once again self-important critics just don't get this movie. 5[5.
March 26, 2018
I found it to be thrilling, not to mention the guile of Bruce Willis character "JACKAL". Richard Gere was not impressive however loved to see Sidney Poitier and Diane Venora in action.
October 27, 2017
This movie is a rock solid four stars hands down! Terrific performance by Sydney Poitier! Also, finally we get to see the versatility of Bruce Willis as a bad boy villain. It was terrific except for the wrong doing of Bruce Willis kissing another man.
1 Corinthians 6:9New Life Version (NLV)

The Body Is to Be Holy
9 Do you not know that sinful men will have no place in the holy nation of God? Do not be fooled. A person who does sex sins, or who worships false gods, or who is not faithful in marriage, or men who act like women, or people who do sex sins with their own sex, will have no place in the holy nation of God.
August 20, 2017
OMG, Bruce, Gere, Jack Black, Sidney. I love action and suspense. This was full of surprises. Bruce as a Gay Blonde w. an onscreen kiss...Noteworthy.
February 1, 2017
It's good movie to watch
October 5, 2016
Superb performances by Bruce Willis, Richard Gere, and Sidney Poitier. Suspenseful and intriguing. Will leave you guessing right to the end.
July 6, 2016
15%??? What are these critics smoking? This is a GREAT movies and Bruce Willis gives one of the great villain performances. This movie definitely takes you on a journey. One of the great suspense flicks of the 90s.
½ March 23, 2016
Action slugfest in the sense of... slow and boring (sluggish). My least favourite Bruce Willis film ever. Richard Gere and his accent weren't so bad, but almost everything else in the movie (at it's very best) was mediocre. Rating 5 / 10
March 4, 2016
The Jackal is a decent film. It is about an imprisoned IRA sniper is freed to help stop a faceless assassin. Bruce Willis and Richard Gere give good performances. The screenplay is a little slow places. Michael Caton-Jones did an alright job directing this movie. I liked this motion picture.
September 13, 2015
The main flaw I found in this film is the "and they all lived happily ever after" except for Willis. It's a shame because aside from the lack of fatality it was an alright film but that factor has severely cost it hence only 2 stars.
½ August 14, 2015
A really good edge of your seat thriller
August 10, 2015
Enjoyable film but not sure about making a hero of an IRA member is very appropriate.
½ August 6, 2015
Meh. A bit of a plodding mess. Nothing really memorable here, but but I guess you get to see Bruce Willis in a bunch of disguises, and Richard Gere doing an Irish accent...
½ July 29, 2015
Certainly not anything to get too excited, although I think a score of 15% is actually quite harsh for what is a relatively entertaining action flick. The storyline certainly takes a back seat, as our lead characters intentions and motives quickly become somewhat unclear and generalised. A straightforward pursuit soon begins, although this is kept relatively interesting via the Jackel's ability to disguise himself and take no prisoners when he wants something done. The finale is considerably dated, although provides a watchable conclusion.
½ July 21, 2015
Unicorns have had more realistic day dreams than this film's plot.
½ July 15, 2015
Only just got round to seeing this. Wish I hadn't.
Page 1 of 86