It Chapter Two - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

It Chapter Two Reviews

Page 2 of 18
September 6, 2019
I really like what It Two is about, I just hate how it goes about it.
September 6, 2019
Bill Hader gets MVP and the special effects are first-rate. But in the end, the film is an extravagant display of excess that gets predictable and convoluted.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 17, 2019
Even with its all-star cast and strong performances, It Chapter Two never quite lives up to its predecessor.
September 5, 2019
This megabore, legacy aside, runs 2 hours and 45 minutes and doesn't do a thing to help itself.
September 18, 2019
Maybe if they had cut it shorter? I don't know...if you're a huge fan of the original or the first one, I completely understand, but come on, man, when you're not telling a story and it's three hours, that's not good writing.
September 5, 2019
It: Chapter Two is all bark and no bite, featuring a ridiculous antagonist that perfectly matches the preposterous universe it inhabits.
Full Review | Original Score: C
September 8, 2019
Though no one could accuse It Chapter 2 of playing it safe, the 170-minute runtime often misplaces its focus.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
September 6, 2019
Of course, horror movies have a long history of playing fast and loose with coherence, and expecting excellence from It Chapter Two is a more foolish idea than anything contained in this extremely dumb movie.
September 6, 2019
Instead of building on the foundation of its first entry, we're left with seeing a strong cast wasted and an engaging story capped by an ultimately lackluster sequel.
September 9, 2019
A rocky horror show indeed.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 12, 2019
Basically a three hour version of the first film but the only change is the characters are adults and less charming. Not really worth a sequel.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
September 6, 2019
Chapter Two feels like a missed opportunity. Rather than going for broke, it's content just being the "evil clown movie."
September 11, 2019
I'm sorry to report that these adult Losers never really come together, despite great turns by Hader and a scene-stealing James Ransone as Eddie.
September 9, 2019
Chapter Two finds itself stumbling into myriad plot holes or, worse, unintentional moments of hilarity, that belie its occasional stretches of inspiration or sweetness.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 6, 2019
What It: Chapter Two lacks in gore and terror, it makes up for in actual grime and crud.
September 3, 2019
The second film meanders, sagging in the middle, and devoting far too much time to a final showdown between our protagonists and their foe.
September 4, 2019
Equal parts bloated and plodding, IT: Chapter Two ends up a disappointing misfire.
September 3, 2019
There's nowhere else to go: history repeats itself, the film tells us. So does trauma. And so, apparently, do movies.
September 7, 2019
IT felt dated and barely different to the first - and so, so, soooo long.This is a film that ends about four times, none of them in a particularly satisfying fashion.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 6, 2019
The new chapter doesn't bring much fresh psychological shading to this process. Instead, the film bombards us with plot and monsters that pile up like toys in the attic.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Page 2 of 18