Iron Man 2 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Iron Man 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 1490
February 29, 2020
Underrated movie and solidly good cast.
May 22, 2019
The sequel to the 2008 Box Office hit does not disappoint.

The only real qualm that I had with the first Iron Man was a weak villain, thankfully the studio corrected that in this iteration of the Iron Man.

Whiplash, Ivan Vanko, stands out as a worthy adversary in both the physical and intellectual field with Tony Stark, his meek upbringing contrasts nicely with the flashy and arrogant Tony making the dichotomy of the characters simply wonderful. You get this raw and vengeful character in Ivan and a flashy slick character from Tony that create the perfect amount of friction to start a fire. Sam Rockwell also plays Justin Hammer to perfection, but to be honest I'm just a HUGE Rockwell fan, if you haven't seen Moon...do yourself a favor.

Fantastic MCU film that scratches a little deeper into the Avenger Initiative, will absolutely watch again.
½ May 19, 2019
It wasn't as good as the first, but it wasn't as bad as The Incredible Hulk. And it was a great start to Scarlett Johansson's, Black Widow.
May 18, 2019
filme bacana. mantiveram a mesma receita de sucesso da Marvel. Tony mandou bem no papel. o vilão à (C) complexo e interessante. a história à (C) bem editada e com bons efeitos especiais.
½ May 17, 2019
A normal sequel, nothing too important, however, there is still action scenes that'll keep you engaged
May 14, 2019
A very weak sequel that might be serviceable enough for some.
½ May 14, 2019
the villain here is boring. Whiplash and Justin Hammer is just boring. The first time I watched this I'm bored, but the second time I watched it it's better. the best scene here is the Black Widow fighting with the group of men. it is still not a great movie, but it is good.
May 11, 2019
I like Don Cheadle as Rhodey but the villain was not as good.
May 6, 2019
Absolutely loved whiplash
½ May 4, 2019
A traditionally weaker sequel. Though I loved Sam Rockwell and thought he was the best part of this movie.
May 2, 2019
Although it's not as good as it's predecessor, Robert Downey Jr. still gives an enduring performance.
May 2, 2019
With more character growth, better choreographed and more energetic fight scenes, Iron Man 2 is a decently sized step above its predecessor.
April 30, 2019
I love the action and the acting. Underrated movie
April 30, 2019
I don't understand the hate towards this movie. I really liked it
½ April 29, 2019
3.5/5. Not as good as the original, but Sam Rockwell is great and the acting is really solid.
April 28, 2019
This movie has very big shoes attempting to follow Iron Man. This movie just has too much going on in a bad way, not a lot of action, and too many plot points. There will be a plot point added in and then abandoned by the end of the movie. I did think that Don Cheadle was a better War Machine than Terrence Howard and I didn't think that Mickey Rourke did a bad job. However, I think Whiplash is a pretty weak villain. He is a cool idea, but is executed poorly. Jon Favreau went bigger for Iron Man 2, but just could not fill the shoes of Iron Man.
7.7/10
April 27, 2019
Iron Man 2 is the sequel of a great film, that is a lot to live up to. This movie provides a lot of much needed character development to Rhodey as well as the introduction of Natalie Rushman. This movie provides Tony Stark with his first real taste of drama between him and the authorities who wish to utilize his technology without him. The two part villain gives the antagonist aspects of the film more depth and creativity. This film also finally marks a good relationship between Pepper and Tony which gives Robert Downey Jr.'s character some needed humanity.
April 26, 2019
The performances and action of 'Iron Man 2' are good across the board, but Tony's narrative conflict here--part of what made the first film so involving--is messily executed. It's a bummer given that there's some good material to be mined from his dynamic with Mickey Rourke's intimidating Whiplash, a hefty plot point that's unfavorably dropped in favor of setting up the future of the cinematic universe.
Sam Rockwell similarly gets the shaft after getting thrown into the crowded fray alongside Scarlett Johansson, Don Cheadle, and Rourke. But for as little as his Justin Hammer (who criminally only reprises his role in a home video short and frequent in-universe name drops) contributes to the story, Rockwell is a delight when he's given the chance and, the film packs enough spectacle in its cool racetrack sequence and explosively fun finale to solicit a watch.
April 25, 2019
Would give it zero stars if that were possible
April 24, 2019
Although definitely not on the same level as the first Iron Man installment, the performances of RDJ and Cheadle as well as their chemistry carry this film through and through, ending up with a decent blockbuster.
Page 1 of 1490