Inkheart - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Inkheart Reviews

Page 1 of 458
April 17, 2019
The supporting characters are actually far more intriguing than the story followed by Meggie and Mo. Unfortunately, the book is far better, when a movie based on it could have been much more magical and fascinating to the imagination. With the ending, it appears a sequel to be impossible, as the other books are based off the one specific point. That's probably a good thing.
½ November 27, 2018
This movie is a really good adventure! It 1/2 1/2 1/2(TM)s such an original movie there had never anything of the kind that was as good. This is obviously a really good and unique movie!
½ April 15, 2018
I like Brendan Fraser, but he's badly miscast here not least as the only actor with an American accent. The solution would have been to have swapped his role with that of Paul Bettany who, along with Andy Serkis also here, is an underused British talent. A whole host of other Brits line up to deliver a rather choppy film that can be hard to follow at times and the end is a bit of a damp squib. Helen Mirren does her thesps thing, hamming it up as a cardboard cutout wealthy eccentric that falls flat. Should have been much better.
December 15, 2017
The boys and I read these books and LOVED the story. Can't wait to see the movie...although usually the book is better.
½ December 15, 2017
Enjoyable story but with a slightly clunky start.
November 2, 2017
Inkheart it's a good and charming movie with a very interesting concept that is tell on an original way, with good performances of the whole cast and a good use of practial efects. It's notice that the initial idea was to take over the full trilogy of books in which the movie is base on, plan that was stopped by the bad reception it had, but still feels like a self-contained story, on a personal note, it was the incredible story that this movie tells me what made me check the books, and although it is true that the film falls short compared to the book, I think it is, as I said before, an entertaining trip to a magical and interesting world.
½ August 18, 2017
8/18/2017 (2): An ok movie at best. A good cast and a pretty interesting plot, but just didn't land. Would love to see a more intense remake.
August 4, 2017
I must disagree with the critics yet again. I thought this film was very charming and highly imaginative with beautiful filming and a fine cast> Inkheart was very enjoyable for one young at heart and a true book lover.
August 3, 2017
The movie was a little slow at times, but the idea is new and fresh and it had a really good plot. The visual effects were also really good, which really added to the story's effect.
½ July 10, 2017
It's a Pretty good movie.
½ June 25, 2017
Terrible boring brenden Fraser movie. Their is nothing to talk about , just a boring movie with people inside books.
½ March 31, 2017
I haven't seen this movie since it was in theaters I was noticing there are still stuff that I enjoyed.
January 13, 2017
Felt a bit like "The Neverending Story" for a new generation. Meggie, in the end, has reminded me of the Childlike Empress. Would watch it again if it's on TV. Intrigued about the book.
½ July 25, 2016
Ink heart is brendan fraser's better films, I don't give a crap if he has been in bad and fortunately crappy flicks i still think this is a gem and deserve such higher ratings that just 39%, Paul Betteny was in this one, Which i in fact like,
I know Legion was a massive disappointment but had fun with priest.
Andy Serkis was also in this movie, Gollum won an award, Fantastic!

Score: 7/10
May 24, 2016
looks like it will be good.... or really not
April 22, 2016
This is just such a perfect movie. How have I never seen this before now????
March 8, 2016
It has a wonderful premise, that's not as wonderfully made use of. It's not a bad movie, but not great either. With nothing much to offer in the acting, or actions or SFX - this is just another movie with a great idea gone bad (not as bad as LXG, though).
Ok watch.
March 4, 2016
Wasn't terrible, but the book was far better
½ January 23, 2016
The movie tries too hard
January 3, 2016
I am so familiar with the book I have read and listened to it many times. I was so excited to hear a movie was being made but I was so disappointed. Every time I see this movie I get so frustrated at how it doesn't follow the book it fell away hard.
Page 1 of 458