Inconceivable - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Inconceivable Reviews

Page 1 of 4
½ May 1, 2019
What's really inconceivable is that they actually made this turkey...
January 1, 2019
It's a Long and drawn out movie which should only be used as background noise when guests are around and your not in the mood for music- the cast they managed to get in really pumped up the score from a half star to a full.
In summary if I had the choice of watching this movie or the grass grow I'd be deciding which hat to wear.
½ July 11, 2018
Really poor acting. Totally predictable.
May 28, 2018
This film works on so many levels. It's new and fresh.
Super Reviewer
½ May 24, 2018
Predictable and formulaic, Inconceivable is a mildly entertaining psychological thriller. The story follows a married couple that befriends a young single mother and hires her on as their nanny, but little do they know she has a secret agenda and they didn't meet by accident. Starring Gina Gershon, Nicky Whelan, and Nicolas Cage, the film has a pretty strong cast; Whelan is especially good and makes for a remarkably compelling villain. However, the plot couldn't be more by-the-numbers, though it does work in a couple of interesting twists. And, there are several intense and suspenseful scenes. Yet while it has its moments, Inconceivable is a fairly rote and bland film.
½ May 23, 2018
Ignore everything the critics say (as usual) : this is a cracking good film from start to finish. Highly recommended.
May 17, 2018
I saw this film with the amazing Cage and Dunaway staring. I really enjoyed the entire film from start to finish. It had a fresh storyline. I read these comments and I do not know what movie they are watching with some of their comments. I think the direction was good, the story unique and twists felt like I was on a rollercoaster. Nicky Whelan was amazing and real. This film is a woman's film for sure as I was happy to see this with my mother on a rainy London night, Good job ALL
April 7, 2018
Do not waste an hour and a half of your life!!
Inconceivably bad, definately not one of Nicholas Cages finer moments.
½ March 25, 2018
Boring plot, with a few holes. Couldn't make it past 50 minutes without turning to something else.
March 18, 2018
Nick Cage & Gina Gershon are far too old to play the couple in this film. They both look like they are having babies in their fifties. That's why Gina has covered up neck through most of the film. They both don't look younger than 45.
March 17, 2018
Essentially "The Hand that Rocks the Cradle," except with bad writing and acting.

Completely unbelievable and ridiculous. No one is relatable.

And if all that wasn't bad enough, it was also one of the most predictable movies I've ever seen. Thing of a "plot twist" that a bad writer would think a good writer would put into a screenplay, and that's exactly what will happen next.
March 16, 2018
I had very low expectations, but it was better than I expected.
Super Reviewer
March 9, 2018
You know, when I go into a movie featuring our one true Lord and Savior, Nicolas Cage, I go in fully expecting him to go nutty with his purposeful overacting and manic energy. I don't go in expecting him to play a more subdued supporting character in a movie that doesn't truly embrace its potential for a Lifetime-esque campfest. If the movie is gonna give me what I want, and that was Nicolas Cage craziness, it could have at least delivered on the potential of telling a totally campy story about a woman, Katie, trying to take over Angela's life, by trying to steal her husband and her unborn child, which Katie is carrying as a result of Angela's difficulty to carry children at her age. This movie doesn't really even give me that and it's a shame, because I was really expecting this to deliver some 'so awful it's fun' entertainment and I didn't even get that. What Ever Happened to Baby Jane and The Hand that Rocks The Cradle this certainly is not. The story is pretty much what you would expect and it plays out exactly how you would imagine. Angela and Brian have the perfect life, both are doctors, with a perfect house and a perfect daughter, that Angela was able to carry in her womb due to an egg donor. You can all figure out where the last part of the previous sentence is heading. That all changes when Angela meets Katie, a woman who says that she just got out of an abusive relationship, and the two become fast friends. They help each other through their difficulties as Angela, prior to finding an egg donor, had four miscarriages and Katie, again, dealing with an "abusive" ex and living at a motel as a result of financial difficulties. When a job opportunity plans to take Katie and her daughter as far away to Colorado, Angela pleads with Katie to stay in their guest house, where can act as a live-in nanny on top of painting a mural, which is what she does for a living. Blah, blah, blah. As things move on, Angela finds herself pregnant once again. This results in another miscarriage. Another friend of Angela, who's dating Katie, tells Katie that they're planning to have another child but using her (not Katie) as the surrogate mother. This is when Katie's dark side starts to be revealed as she ***SPOILERS*** murders Linda and the death is ruled as a boating accident. How is it ruled as a boating accident when there was no evidence of any boat anywhere is beyond me, but let's go with that. Anyway, as a result of Linda's death, Katie steps in and acts as the surrogate mother for Brian and Angela, but of course. Angela's also struggled with a bit of a pill addiction in the past, so this is obviously gonna be relevant in the climactic moments of the film. I don't know what to say, first of all, about the acting. Natalie Eva Marie, who's a former wrestler, was just absolutely terrible. She was never cast in this movie for anything more other than her looks. It's sad to say, but that's just the fact of the matter. Say what you will about the cast of this movie, but Gina Gershon is a good actress. Nicky Whelan isn't bad. Faye Dunaway, I mean what can I say about her, she's one of the few highlights of the film. And Nicolas Cage can be good if the right role comes along. Natalie Marie Eva sticks out like a sore thumb among all of these actors. She's not even in the movie for that long, but she is terrible. Then again, I do feel that if she had been cast as the main villain, there would have been more potential for camp comedy, but it was not to be. Another thing is the fact that Gina and Nicolas never really, truly feel like they're actually a married couple. They're just actors pretending. And of course, all films (except documentaries, duh) are just pretend. Actors pretending to be someone else for a month or two or however long production takes. That's not the point, the point I'm trying to make is that the best movies have a suspension of disbelief to where you can pretend, for however long, that these are real people suffering real issues for however long the movie wishes to be. If you can pretend, just for a little while, that these are real people then that's a testament to the actors' talents and the scripting. And, no matter how you slice it, these two are obviously playing pretend. They're actors cashing a paycheck and doing the bare minimum to make you "invested" in their relationship. And that's on Gina and Nicolas, but mostly I just blame the bland scripting that doesn't go past Lifetime TV-movie quality. Though, to be fair to this movie, I don't think it was ever meant to go past a certain level. Nicky Whelan, I'm not sure what to make of her. I think she and Faye Dunaway are one of the few highlights in the film, but I don't think she goes past standard crazy bitch. It's a boring, predictable role. One that has been done better by the likes of Glenn Close and Sharon Stone. She brings nothing new to the table. And, again, I don't think Nicky was meant to, but it's hard not to compare it to Glenn Close's vastly superior performance in Fatal Attraction. Then again, Glenn Close is an elite actress, Nicky Whelan, so far, is not. It's not that I found the entire movie terrible, though it is very bad, I do like Katie's motivations for wanting to take the children, for which she donated her last eggs for, back if she feels the mothers are irresponsible with their care. There's a NUGGET of an interesting idea, just a nugget. They proceed to waste that slightly interesting idea on a predictable narrative. Angela is warned about Katie at first, but she doesn't pay any attention to it because having Katie around is convenient for her. Brian doesn't believe Angela's allegations due to her past with the pills. Katie wants Angela's life. You've seen it before. There's also a moment in the final minutes of the film that feels odd as they are never explained. So it stands to reason that, at a certain point when Angela confronts Katie about what she has done, Katie finally just admits it. There's a struggle for a knife, Katie wants to make the situation look like Angela attacked her, and Angela, somehow, ends up being stabbed in the stomach. Both women go to the hospital where they proceed to induce labor, since Katie stabbed herself in the stomach to incriminate Angela. There comes a point when a doctor comes out and tells Brian that she's gone. The 'she' in question is never referred to by name, but we assume that it's Angela considering that Katie comes out of the situation relatively unscathed. The point is that this 'she's gone' bullshit is just a red herring. Angela is really alive and well. Like, think about it, if she isn't really gone then why would there need to even be a scene in the film mentioning that she is? It's so clearly a red herring that it might actually be THE worst red herring I have ever seen in how it was implemented. Considering that Brian was in the waiting room, by himself, who would this scene even be for? And I mean in the film's world. Who was this meant for? What is it meant to accomplish? It is stupid and pointless. You could have done the same thing with Brian telling Katie that Angela died, without having to include the scene with the doctor, just to set her up for the reveal at the end when Angela comes in the room to be with her newborn child and to watch Katie's reaction. That was probably the best scene in the entire movie, honestly, watching Katie's reaction. It's not great, but I'll take the positives where I can find them. So, in closing. this is just a bad, bad movie. Bad acting, even worse scripting and awful cinematography. This movie lacks an inherent obliviousness towards how bad it is that it doesn't even work as camp entertainment. It knows how bad it is and it doesn't really try to fix its issues. This would have been a more entertainingly bad movie if it had been written and directed by Tommy Wiseau. Jonathan Baker, I'm sure, has enough knowledge of the craft that he knows to avoid Wiseau's missteps. And that is the biggest mistake this movie could have made.
March 2, 2018
Inconceivable surprisingly works as an amusing oddity that would have fared better 20 years ago on late night cable. Even though Nicolas Cage (while not awful) appears as tired as the material, the direction is adequate and Gina Gershon's portrayal of a MILF on a mission proves she's still got the goods in more ways than one.
February 15, 2018
I saw this film at an advance screening and it was fabulous. Great story, great acting and great subject matter and great cast. The film is fresh and new. I would recommend it for sure.
February 11, 2018
this movie was pretty decent and enjoyable for most of it. interesting story. (1 viewing)


SPOILERS


the whole idea of this girl who donated eggs and messed up her uterus and can no longer have babies so she goes and steals the babies of her egg donations and uses the last of her egg donations to fertilize herself is pretty awesome. her psycho-y-ness was pretty awesome although could have been done better and more severe.

i liked it until the end, when it just got terrible. the direction they chose to go was lame, the acting got really bad, and the way the revealed stuff was terrible. first they show a scene implying the wife died and nick cage crying, makes no sense since she's not really dead. then they tell the girl that she died, which does not serve any purpose. then they show the wife is alive and cops come. terrible execution. first of all, the wife could have easily ended all of it if she told the lady at the donation place the description of the girl and that she had a baby named maddie, mystery solved, she's in jail. secondly, missed opportunity to make it seem like cage was debating if he should stay with the blonde girl before showing the wife is alive.

personally, i think a dark ending would have been way better. show some more scenes of marital problems, lack of sex, him being attracted to the girl, being convinced she's relapsed and unreliable, and even after finding out the wife was right and was killed by the girl, he still stays with the girl cause he's fallen for her and can have the mother of his children raise them
½ December 27, 2017
The casting is completely laughable. Gershon and Cage are in their mid-50's and they're having babies. Ridiculous.
December 27, 2017
Talk about miscasting - ridiculous that at their age, Nicholas Cage and Gina Gershon would have babies. Puleeez...
December 21, 2017
a good thriller, with a few characters that where not established.
October 27, 2017
Watchable but not great
Page 1 of 4