I'm Not There - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I'm Not There Reviews

Page 1 of 9
May 26, 2020
Haynes slices Dylan into six unequal pieces, and passes the roles out to six completely different performers. The two who steal the movie are in some ways a surprise.
May 1, 2020
Coming the same year as The Golden Age in which she played Elizabeth I, this proves Cate Blancheet's range and cements her reputation as the best of her generation.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
October 28, 2019
Takes the genre in a different direction and features quality performances from Cate Blanchett, Christian Bale and Heath Ledger.
Full Review | Original Score: B
June 5, 2019
Captures Dylan's spirit - vibrantly, maddeningly and, above all, lovingly.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
March 24, 2016
...not a biography by any conventional definition but an impressionistic survey of the artist, his art, his interaction (and at times collision) with the culture he both grabs onto and flees, and the mystery that still surrounds Dylan.
September 30, 2014
Since much of I'm Not There falls short in the lived moment, its individual threads don't lead back to Haynes's larger concerns.
April 28, 2011
I'm Not There is a very special kind of life and times. It leaves ordinary musical biopics like Ray and Walk the Line and Beyond the Sea in the dust.
June 12, 2010
Haynes' film has no straight lines, it is all collage and pastiche and an endless series of intersections that all, quite improbably, lead to a startlingly accurate (if abstracted) vision of the many faces of Dylan.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.5/10
August 27, 2009
Where is the defiant, sensuous expansiveness of Dylan's songs?
February 2, 2009
I'm Not There is coy and fatuous, but it also can be intriguing and thought-provoking. But I'm Not There makes us consider Dylan with new eyes.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.0/5
June 13, 2008
Abstract expressionism, paying tribute to its hero in a fashion every bit as enigmatic and chameleon-like as the man himself. Is it a faux-documentary? Is it a biographical drama? At times, it is both. In the end, we are left with an ambitious misfire.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 22, 2008
Full of Dylanology, Dylanography and Dylanerbole... if that's your thing
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 7, 2008
The director's disappointment in Dylan's downward metamorphosis from outlaw poet, prophet and political idealist to cynic, egotist, wasted stoner, Jesus freak and recluse, is palpable, with a symbolic dirge for a body that has outlived its art.
May 1, 2008
Haynes is brilliant at tearing off the top of his own head and giving audiences a peek into his pop obsessions.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
April 16, 2008
Not particularly entertaining or enlightening, but it is slow-moving and long.
Full Review | Original Score: C
March 25, 2008
Uma das cinebiografias mais atípicas e, por isto mesmo, mais fiéis ao espírito criativo de seu biografado que já tive o prazer de assistir.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
March 4, 2008
Director Todd Haynes takes an artistic leap, I just don't want to catch all of the finished product.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
February 10, 2008
So self-aware and dull, you wonder what's the point of Haynes being experimental if his experiment doesn't yield something that's compelling or, at the very least, entertaining. Insight might have been a goal, but there's no insight here.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
January 31, 2008
Perhaps the whole weird, scattershot thing might play better when you can skip-search to your favorite bits.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 28, 2008
It doesn't strike me that this multi-metaphorical experiment succeeds in illuminating a soaring talent who keeps his private life private and has always denied the hungry press any hints about the meanings in his songs.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Page 1 of 9