I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell Reviews

Page 1 of 36
January 13, 2017
A aside from a few inspired moments, this is badly acted unfunny, unpleasant shit, filled with obnoxious characters.
July 18, 2016
It can provide a few laughs but the character of Tucker Max is excruciatingly unlikable and just makes you wanna throw your "middle-finger" at the screen.
June 30, 2016
I found this movie to be extremely funny. It is not a movie for an unopened minded person.
June 30, 2016
awesome movie....hilarious
June 30, 2016
Its got some hilarious moments and its raunchy so I had fun
June 30, 2016
Def a guy movie. but it's hilarious, and have to be open minded for this one.. *** 1/2 stars
June 30, 2016
AWESOME GUY FILM....kinda wrong but hell.....All MEN should see this!!!!
½ May 2, 2015
There's a point all are missing here. Better movies like The Hangover and Old School don't ask us to question the culture of drinking and debauchery. They only celebrate it. Those movies are good in their own ways, but the point is they are a different genre.

Whether purposeful of not, Max shows us the dark side of the overpriliged sexist party culture that is everywhere in America. We came to have a good time, but leave the movie with a deep, dark sadness after seeing what a meaningless life people like Tucker Max have.

The movie is not a comedy but a curious dark tragedy. Think of the story in the tradition of Bukowski or Hunter Thompson. The interest is to see how deep and dark people can fall, and what we learn about ourselves in viewing this.

Of course, probably this movie was intended to be funny and cool, and just discovers this bizarre world as Max is awful at making film. Apologies to Bukowski and Thompson for mentioning both in the same line as Max, as those are actually good authors and worthy human beings.

----------------

But still, one has to wonder about a few things. There were funny, entertaining anecdotes in the books. There was even funny bar dialog. Why did Max choose only the worst stories and dialog to reproduce?


I imagine his subconscious made a heroic save to sabotage the movie. As nobody knows how shit this macho party culture is more than Max, he deep down wanted to save others from it.

Max leads a sad life, but at least has enough intelligence to share it with others. When he dies, he should not think, 'I led a completely meaningless life'. He should think, 'I led a completely disgusting, meaningless life that was at least moderately well documented.'
½ August 18, 2014
I couldn't get past the first 20 minutes ...
June 29, 2014
I love this book, but the movie definitely didn't live up to my expectations.
May 22, 2014
You could say this movie was too crude, flat, and void of any spirit. But the laughs it did provide were frequent and long.
½ March 6, 2014
Wtf??? What is this crap? This could of been amazing.. Stick to the book and would have been awesome not completely change it.. so disappointed.
½ February 14, 2014
I don't believe the main character has to be likable to be a watchable film (Bad Teacher), but they can't be flat out assholes for 100 minutes.
½ January 31, 2014
The book was way better
January 13, 2014
Well that's 2 hours I'll never get back.
October 7, 2013
I admit you have to be a fan of crude humor to like this film. and for the critics to say that this movie is not funny is a joke.
August 12, 2013
Meh, I liked it because the main character is a cunt like me.
January 24, 2013
Hilarious, but gross. Kind of like American pie had diarrhea.
November 20, 2012
Laughed so hard I cried.
November 4, 2012
Stick with the book, however there are some pretty funny moments!
Page 1 of 36