Hugo - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Hugo Reviews

Page 1 of 12
June 24, 2020
Hugo is the master's new sublime work especially intended for lovers of the seventh art who long to light the wick of the magic wand of the cinema of the past. [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
March 26, 2020
"Hugo" may be the film closest to the heart of Scorsese, a dedicated cinephile and film preservationist.
March 23, 2020
Hugo has plenty to indulge a silent film aficionado -- or to educate a young film buff.
July 26, 2019
Exquisitely acted and a heretofore unequalled artistic use of 3D.
June 8, 2019
Two hours of remarkable cinema that is, dare I say it, truly magical. Somehow, I think Melies would have been proud.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
May 6, 2019
I've not been a fan of 3-D films in general, but Hugo takes full advantage of the technology, creating a storybook-like world with rich layers and textures. That alone is enough to make Hugo worth seeing, but the film is much more.
February 7, 2019
Hugo is reverent, but also joyful -- we come away from the film feeling like we're lucky to have all this in our history.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
January 4, 2019
It can't be counted a modern classic like so many of Scorsese's other films. But it's a charming flight of fancy, if not for children, then for their parents who are still young at heart.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 30, 2018
Martin Scorsese's family fantasy blend[s] a beautifully imagined treasure hunt with a tribute to cinema's early pioneers.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
December 5, 2018
Whether young or old, Hugo remains an arresting, heartwarming delight and one of the must-see films of the festive period.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 12, 2018
For Scorsese the door to the past is never closed. Hugo does not so much revisit the past as reveal that it is still alive, elaborately disguised as the present.
September 20, 2018
However, it is when Scorsese moves to celebrate the early magic of silent cinema with some inspired flashback sequences that his film really hits a glorious stride.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
June 25, 2018
Hugo falls short in imagining that using one's talents toward useful work alone satisfies our need for significance. But its message that we are all here for a purpose, endowed by our creator with good gifts, is a rare subject for cinema.
January 9, 2018
Scorsese luxuriates in artifice, but at its generous best Hugo offers a lovely instance of technology made human and spun from one generation to the next.
September 27, 2017
Beyond its value as a technical marvel, Hugo's most rewarding aspect may be the spirit of kindness and community that fills the final act.
September 18, 2017
A wonderful film about film cloaked in an emotional and deeply rewarding, multi-layered children's tale .
September 6, 2017
Hugo is a pleasurable love letter to the art of film-making and a tribute to the early days of cinema.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 30, 2017
I can't imagine loving movies and not loving Hugo.
January 7, 2016
A gorgeous, moving and amorous love letter to the very cinema it is born from, and a celebration of the youthful wonder that is concealed in everyone - yes, even those of us resolved to the cynicism of adult thinking.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
October 7, 2015
But once the "Cinema Paradiso"-esque celluloid nostalgia bits kick in, it makes total sense why he succumbed to paying lip service to family entertainment in order to make the movie he really wanted to make.
Page 1 of 12