How to Train Your Dragon 2 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

How to Train Your Dragon 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 277
½ July 13, 2019
The Story Deepens, The Interlacing Of It All To Dragons Become More Complex. Lacked As Many Entertaining Jokes As Last Time. Even Gets Kinda Boring.. I Don't Get How These Viking Got All These Scottish & American Accents Tho? Given The Area Of Viking Lands Are Norway, Denmark, Iceland Area...But Who Ever Needed Solid Facts Behind A Tall Story Eh? ...Altho the 'Bob Marley On Acid' Viking Was Pretty Cool.. A Bad Guy With Bite.
May 21, 2019
so good! this film was fantastic!! the pacing was great, the villain had depth and presence, the characters all felt like they grew from the first incarnation. it was a really great film and the visuals were beautiful
April 12, 2019
A good continuation to the HTTYD film franchise, I often find myself captivated by how well the characters have aged, and generally act in their role pretty well. The film's use of animation technology has also advanced, which creates interesting environments that the characters explore in the world as the story unfolds.

There's a few nitpicks that I have, such as some odd pacing, and a few cliches that are mildly distracting as well as a deus ex machina that gets pulled out of nowhere at the end, but overall still a fun film experience
April 3, 2019
This franchise is on a roll! This is a great addition to the first movie and the tv show.
April 3, 2019
Strengths: Like its predecessor, this movie boasts some fantastic visuals. The animation style is beautiful and remains that way consistently. Whether it‚(TM)s a big action scene or just a shot of the landscape, it all looks great. The story is quite good. It doesn‚(TM)t do anything overly surprising, but it hits all the right beats. There is a lot of emotion here between Hiccup‚(TM)s reunion with his mother to the death of his father. It goes further than expected in that aspect. Baruchel (Hiccup Horrendous Haddock III) continues to do a good job in the role. He has a unique voice that actually fits perfectly for the character. The rest of the returning voice cast does very well, but the highlights of the new additions were Cate Blanchett (Valka) and Kit Harrington (Eret). I loved the big battle scene where the good guys ultimately lose. It‚(TM)s the high point of the movie and features some really cool moments. It makes the villain come across as a true threat.

Weaknesses: Some of the comedy misses the mark. Kristen Wiig (Ruffnut) and TJ Miller (Tuffnut) are both funny actors, but the stuff involving their characters never hit. They aren‚(TM)t big characters, but they‚(TM)re meant to be funny and it doesn‚(TM)t work. As noted, the big battle is the highlight so the third act that comes after it feels lackluster. It needed to be bigger to follow what we had just witnessed.

Overall: This would be a truly special animated film with a better final 15 minutes. It still does more than enough to be great and is about on par with the first installment.
April 1, 2019
All of httyd is my favorite movies
½ March 19, 2019
It does add too many characters to keep track, but it easily matches its predecessor's success. Boasting great animation yet again, with its impressive world building. Creating a great story that flows smoothly as it adds layers to the characters. And lastly, giving us stronger emotional moments to the already gripping subject matter. The perfect sequel to such a great animated film. Recommendation: you have to watch it.
½ March 16, 2019
I really hated this movie, but it gets thhat, for remembering that everyone even the strongest can die. anyway it was lame.
March 11, 2019
Just as good as the original. This cast of characters is still enjoyable and lovable. The story is action-packed and exciting! I found myself at the edge of my seat through this entire movie.
March 10, 2019
Disappointing storyline.
March 10, 2019
By far my favorite film of the trilogy. The story builds off of the first movie perfectly and becomes very emotional later with a reveal and a death.
March 10, 2019
As always, not as good as the first one. But still a original idea. Well performed
½ March 9, 2019
The ending was too fast and I felt like the story ended without needed topics after the father's death.
March 8, 2019
Everything got better compared to the previous movie. The one thing that I was looking for the franchise movie to change was the cringe romance between Hiccup and Astrid. And they did but replaced it with a slightly less cringe romance. I wouldn't even call it to romance it was more harassment if anything. I have no idea how the last movie got a higher rating on Rotten Tomatoes than this one. One minor plot hole or I guess you would rather call it a visual anachronism was at the start of the movie when he was gliding with a wingsuit, it would've been impossible. As the wings are supposed to be fully attached to the body - with no gaps between them - then you can physically start gliding. The opening scene could've been improved. I wish it started with Hiccups because of his first scene because that was excellent and tremendous.

The twist felt predictable, not in this movie but some sort of movie in the future from the first one. As we had no mention of her in the first one. The only reason I liked it was that they made it so her and Hiccups' father bonded with each other. It gave us a connection to both of them so it could make an attempt to an emotional ending - it would've worked if they made the moment where he died and the ending, shorter. The dragons were way more entertaining. Instead of having fire breathing for every cool looking dragons, they created more abilities. Such as ice breath, telepathy, and turning into a wheel of fire. It made the final fight scene much more exciting and intense. The villain's origin was not good. There was hardly any.

The cinematography was exceptional. The giant dragon felt the same as number one, but with two fighting each other. Also, that fight between them was so lazy and used death as a plot device. If you look in the background they are just touching each other's tusks. The score felt too loud and I could just make out the characters talking. The guy with the tattooed 'beard' was a very bad character. And was just there for a helping hand to repair the films plot holes. The film is better than the last but still isn't as immeasurable as Toy Story.
March 8, 2019
Corage is the name of this film, freaking amazing
March 6, 2019
Great sequel, fantastic animation. John Powell back again with a fantastic score. Cate Blanchett is always a win
February 28, 2019
Not many sequels live up to thier predecessors. This movie excels in storytelling and adventure perfect for all ages. The soundtrack imerses you in a story with the charcters as all the greatest movies do. The soundtrack really moves you and makes you feel like you are there soaring in the sky with hiccup and toothless.
February 28, 2019
There's no other way to put it, How to Train Your Dragon 2 is AMAZING. In this case, it's not just the colors that leap off the screen: so do its characters, and especially its emotion.

How to Train Your Dragon will amuse you, make you laugh, and, most importantly, make you cry. This story truly shines in its slower moments; in the moments where these characters show their humanity and connect them to us. All amplified by an emotionally powerful score.

How to Train Your Dragon is not only a fantastic movie, but also a fantastic sequel that does almost everything right. And as much as I adore Big Hero 6, this movie totally got snubbed at the Oscars. Thank goodness the Golden Globes exist.
February 28, 2019
The whole mom's thing felt a little forced... but it's still an awesome movie with spectacular visuals.
February 23, 2019
This is why I never Married, that and one other thing
Page 1 of 277