How to Murder Your Wife - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

How to Murder Your Wife Reviews

Page 1 of 8
February 19, 2018
Couldn't wait for it to end. Too much slapstick, which isn't a problem if it's funny. But it wasn't. An Incredibly silly film that never made any sense at all. Watch it for the nostalgia
October 1, 2017
Quite dated(it does seem kind of sexist by today's standards) but a few enjoyable scenes and great acting by Jack Lemmon.
September 24, 2017
Funny movie. Great cast and Virna is beautiful. Movie uses a lot of The Odd Couple music
August 19, 2016
'Unlike you poor souls, Mr Ford has had the wisdom never to marry. He is, therefore, a completely happy man.'

Despite being more silly slapstick than dark comedy, this classic Lemmon flick is good fun.
½ August 14, 2015
Clever movie with some likable characters.
December 31, 2014
Wow, just...wow. Some screenwriter went through a bad divorce. I was hoping this movie would be like "Divorce, Italian Style," but it is so meanly misogynistic it takes out any of the possible "comedy" moments, the few that there are. I love Jack Lemmon, but he's just not very funny here. It's not his fault at all, but the script's. I thought the show Mad Men was overdoing it in its early episodes depicting how chauvinistic our culture was then (around the same time period) towards women in general, but for this movie to be just accepted into the culture of its time, it must have been even worse, yikes.
jjnxn
Super Reviewer
December 24, 2014
Silly comedy that starts charmingly and falls apart completely at the end. You'll know just when the movie goes south and it never recovers. Virna is breathtakingly beautiful throughout.
October 21, 2014
this is such a good movie. Jack Lemmon plays a cartoonist and play acting his cartoon he plans to put in the newspaper. He is invited to a bachelor party and in the cake comes out this beautiful woman, Verna Lisi, and he just happens to be in the seat of the bachelor, who by the way broke up with the real bride to be, and jack lemmon being so drunk, well he ends up marrying Verna Lisi who does not speak English, only Italian. his butler only works for single men, and the story goes on with laughter, and love. GREAT MOVIE!!!
½ October 2, 2014
This film came on TV on the weekend, and I thought I'd check out whether it was worth seeing. Oh man, it felt weird typing this title into google. How times have changed, with political correctness and big brother gone rife. Scary. The film itself is a perfect example of how times have changed. Deeply sexist, but very, very '60s, in a mad-men way. Absolutely fascinating looks as the aspirational Manhattan lifestyle back then. The sexual politics are highly suspect today, but the heart of the story is timeless - a happy bachelor who finds the rug ripped from under his feet so suddenly that (despite his growing love for his wife, and the way she treats/loves him) it freaks him out. I really loved the intro sequences of the bachelor pad (divine set and stage work) and the way the lead basis his comic strip drawings on real world recreations of his stories - the precursor of CGI animation. The supporting cast are variable, but Lemmon and Terry are typically brilliant. The imaginative opening and evocative setting relaxes into a ho-hum romantic story and a "murder" courtroom subplot that is pretty weak, and feels a bit tacked on, despite inspiring the title....that title. Whew. Some interesting predictive phrase came up while I was googling "How to Murder..."
½ September 28, 2014
Viewed as a period piece (it was made about half a century ago!) this is an amusing reminder of times gone by.
The relationship between Lemon and Terry Thomas is wonderful, "I do NOT work for couples!" - the true gentlemen's gentlemen.
Is it fair to view it through 21 century eyes, I don't think so - just enjoy it for what it is, a period farce.
Super Reviewer
½ September 8, 2014
A mostly forgotten gem from 1965 this comedy operates under the seductive fantasy that no man ever really wants to be married. After one drunken night's revelry Lemmon awakes to discover he's slipped up ... and did it, got married (to Verna Lisi! Zowie!). Now what?
Is there any way out of it??? More cute than laff-out-loud funny it does carry more than a few good bits. It's fun cute.
½ July 27, 2014
so far i havent found a Jack lemmon's movie that's not worth to watch :D
July 8, 2014
Classic comedy, saw this when I was young and have been searching ever since!
Romance with a twist! Mad caper fun!
April 22, 2014
Delightful comedy that most gentlemen will find a place in the heart for. One of my faves to watch when my lady is away.
½ March 4, 2014
Jack Lemmon was Comic Genius in this & any comedy he was in, there was no one quite like him.Great Fun
August 6, 2013
Smartly-written comedy with a great cast--The supporting cast outshine the stars!!
July 11, 2013
Cinco palavras sobre esse filme: de chorar de rir!
March 22, 2013
Pretty Misogynistic by today's standards.
½ March 20, 2013
Wow! You want to see what husbands and wives thought about each other back in the day, then see this movie. It is a good movie with some funny moments.
Page 1 of 8