Hotel Mumbai - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Hotel Mumbai Reviews

Page 1 of 7
May 22, 2019
I thought was great, was on the edge of my seat the whole 2 hours from start to finish. Even though yes there is a lot of blood and violence, but what do you expect from a movie about a terrorist attack? What I really loved was the humanity and heroism that was showcased by all the incredible staff, the courageous police, and even the guests, amazing job done by all the actors and director of this film. Brought me to tears many times throughout, highly recommend.
½ May 22, 2019
At times haunting and depressing because of the level of realism presented in it, Hotel Mumbai is a great movie, presenting us with more than realistic images of terrorism, which haven't been put on the big screen at this scale so far. Would recommend EVERYONE to watch this movie.
½ April 29, 2019
Great movie. Heartbreaking
April 27, 2019
I'm going to Google the subject AFTER writing my review. I was not in a weakened condition that would explain why this one had my tensed up like a mofo throughout. I like Armie Hammer a lot, always worth checking out this super watchable & talented actor. His most recent stuff is so Politically Correct I wondered going in what was going to happen onscreen to keep the PC Police placated, and also show how much everyone behind the camera "belong". Other than one quick sequence during dinner in the Hotel just before all heck broke loose, and a scene of an aged woman being insensitive during the seige (she was obviously beautful as they come when younger. Don't want to spoil anything, watch it to see why I mentioned that), it was "clean".
I was extremely impressed in how the graphic violence was presented in a manner that fit the story perfectly. Top notch moviemaking-editing. I did not expect to like this movie as much as I did. Recommend.
April 24, 2019
One of the best movies out in a while. Action packed and storyline was very good. Really liked this movie.
½ April 24, 2019
The constant killing of innocent people becomes overwhelming. The story is good and needs to be told, but with 15 minutes less executions.
April 22, 2019
I loved Hotel Mumbai. The film was honestly horrific and downright scary because this literally has been happening today. I felt like I was in that hotel with the guests. I loved that it showed multiple perspectives throughout the film. You get a glimpse into most people's lives, even one of the antagonists. It shows how horrific and selfish people can become, but it also shows that love and compassion for others' well-being still exits among us.
April 19, 2019
Mumbai hotel, a movie with a long duration of 2 hours. The film that was based on a true story that had happened in India which was later made into a film, in my opinion, this film highlights more about the struggle of the servants in the Mumbai hotel who fought for the lives of the guests or visitors of the hotel to save the hotel visitors even though there were not many survivors, then what made me emotional was the terrorists who committed acts of cruelty by claiming the name of Muslims and as if they were jihad. spend on slaughter but the promised money has not been given to their parents (terrorists)
½ April 18, 2019
The production of this film is so good and there are so many elements that are both relevant and compelling that it really should be receiving more attention. It also has a lot going against it. For one, the film was made two years ago, but then shelved due to the Weinstein Film company imploding over Harvey Weinstein's Sexual Harassment incidents coming to light. Then it was pushed back this year because there were recent terrorist events in India that were too similar to the ones in this film. Related to that fact, movies about terrorism never do well (ie Flight 93). They are hard to market and they can be hard to watch. But they are also important movies that examine the violence and how it affects the people involved. Not only does Hotel Mumbai captures the feeling of confusion and helplessness of the victims, but it also offers a nuanced portrayal of the young men who carried out these attacks. This was a major event in the recent history of India; it's sometimes called the 9/11 of India, yet most westerners are not familiar with the impact this had on the country. Dev Patel, Nazanin Boniadi and Armie Hammer do a great job of conveying the panic and urgency of the situation. This film is very violent, but not without purpose. It shows just how inhuman these terrorist's actions were (are). The rollout of this film has been limited and unsupported with advertising, so not many people will see it. However, a film like this could be instrumental in understanding kinds of terror that go on in the world currently.
April 17, 2019
I took my wife to see this movie for a date night. That was a mistake. This is not a date movie. Definitely not a Romcom. For me, the definitive scene was when the hotel receptionists are being forced (at gunpoint) to call guests to tell them that they should open their doors because security forces have arrived. The 'security forces' are actually the terrorists. The receptionists refuse and are immediately killed. The savagery of the terrorists, the incompetence of the Indian government, the courage of individual Indians are all on full display. This is the only movie I have seen this year. Except for dragging my wife to it, no regrets.
April 14, 2019
Story subject is horrible. It is based on a true story of the shootings took place in India by Jihad a few years back.
But the movie perspective was great, I thought. The facelessness of the anarchy, humanity of us all, even still within the brainwashed boy with a gun believing a religion or war it is neither a religion nor a war.
Then the whole crumbs of imperialism still alive in India.
And of course Dev Patel, I don't think there is a single thing he produced that I didn't enjoy watching.
One of the more worthwhile movies I watched this year.
½ April 13, 2019
A couple of recent films "based on true events" have not compared favorably to their documentary competitors. With "RBG/"On the Basis of Sex" and "Apollo 11/First Man," for example, one wonders why the fictionalized versions of events were even made. "Hotel Mumbai" is a powerful exception.

Based on the 2009 documentary "Surviving Mumbai," this film is relentless in its tension, angst and anguish. It chronicles the terror attacks in Mumbai in November, 2008, carried out by a group of Pakistani boys who were promised that their families would receive cash payments because of their ultimate sacrifice. These boys were trained and sent to their deaths by an unseen "Brother Bull" (a person never identified or caught) who orchestrates their every move through constant cell phone communications. During their rampage, twelve different sites in Mumbai were attacked, with the culminating event the occupation of the landmark Taj Mahal Hotel.

Director Anthony Maras, in his feature film debut, gives the viewer only the sketchiest of backgrounds about the terrorists and only limited insight into the backgrounds of those who became the object of their violence. Clearly, Maras, who also served as co-writer, wants this film to focus almost exclusively on the action taking place in the present. This intentional lack of character development also serves to even more effectively highlight the rare moments of humanity. As Arjun, a devoted hotel staffer, Dev Patel (2009's "Slumdog Millionaire," Oscar nominee for 2017's "Lion") is particularly memorable. In one scene, he patiently explains the cultural significance of his pagri (Sikh turban) to an unnerved guest who thinks, because of his appearance, that he may be a terrorist, too.

A few scenes develop the thesis that this insane violence was not grounded in religious differences, but may be better understood in terms of class warfare. "Brother Bull" reminds his minions that the wealthy have left them behind. The hotel's head chef (an excellent Anupam Kher) admonishes his staff regularly that "the guest is god." In a particularly poignant moment, the boys/terrorists, mid-rampage, pause to marvel at a flush toilet.

While there is interesting subtext to ponder, the central focus is on the actions of the terrorists - all offered in consistently unflinching detail. Some have criticized the film for its excessive violence and for the insensitivity of releasing the film just after the mass shooting in New Zealand. However, for a film that effectively dramatizes the senselessness of indiscriminate violence, the timing seems just right.
April 13, 2019
Hotel Mumbai movies is very good movie. It has been made by very good techniques and thoughtful documentary true story. It brought back a very sad tragedy. It shows us from worst behaviour to very touching, heroism, lovable behaviors.
½ April 12, 2019
Honestly that whole love affair made the movie really terrible. Why must a romance be stuck in every movie... It really made the whole movie icky.

Also a lot of over emotional acting in the movie.
April 12, 2019
Really good action movie I can't imagine why it isn't a big hit.
April 11, 2019
TEN OUT OF TEN!mandatory movie!
½ April 10, 2019
Edgy, well made thriller. Horrifying from the start.
JC
Super Reviewer
½ April 10, 2019
Very thrilling and very bloody. Amazing story well directed and with some fine acting led by Dev Patel.(4-7-19)
½ April 10, 2019
Even Dev Patel can't save 'Hotel Mumbai,' which relies too heavily on coincidental timing to amp up the drama while bogging down the story with numerous errors in logic and continuity.
April 9, 2019
Watchable due to Dev Pate's performance, but otherwise dissapointing. As others have mentioned, the movie doesn't give any context to the history of religious and class conflicts in India. The idea that unquestioning celebration of the motto "The guest is God" is a good thing left me feeling queasy. In what world must those making a sub-minimum wage cheerfully lay down their lives for the ultra-wealthy?? Hotel Rwanda which is similar is a much better movie because its about the opposite. A middle-class hotelier who saved the lives of poorer people by hiding them in his hotel from the wealthy inhabitants.

It saddens me to read that many have seen the movie as a confirmation of their view that they "hate muslims." Oh the other hand the movie did inspire me to want to see the documentary on the same subject.
Page 1 of 7