The Golden Compass - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Golden Compass Reviews

Page 1 of 1820
April 8, 2019
Could work in a series, as a film is innecessarily convoluted
March 9, 2019
LOVED this movie! The acting is impeccable and the story is compelling. Super disappointed that the sequels weren't made!!
½ January 22, 2019
Os efeitos visuais são os pontos fortes do filme, com cenas deslumbrantes. Entretanto, para apresentar o rico universo que possui, seria necessário mais tempo de filme. O resultado (C) um filme corrido e com personagens que acabam não sendo nos mostrado em suas reais profundidades. Al (C)m disso, o desfecho do filme (C) inconclusivo, já que uma continuação era prevista, continuação essa que o empolgado público do filme aguarda há doze anos.
January 14, 2019
The Golden Compass. The movie that had people asking New Line Cinema the ultimate question: "Why even bother greenlighting the movie if you're too afraid to go all the way with regards to its source material's controversy?" To the movie's credit, the performances are good, the effects are decently rendered and there was a brutal polar bear fight that I actually found enjoyable. But that isn't enough to save The Golden Compass from being softer than the book leading to the eventual downfall of New Line before restructuring and eventually merging with Warner Bros., not helped by the poor pacing and just being downright boring. There's nothing here that hasn't already been seen in the likes of Lord of the Rings, Narnia or Harry Potter. I feel sorry for poor Chris Weitz, since New Line were too big scaredy cats to let him adapt this controversial series faithfully, leading to a movie I think was indirectly responsible for slowly killing non-Harry Potter themed children's fantasy.
January 8, 2019
This movie could have been amazing, but the lack fo story and character development, empathy for the character it is a flop. The graphics are amazing though, but not enough to carry the story.
December 2, 2018
Great family movie to watch with kids
½ November 17, 2018
Boring and uninteresting.
½ November 6, 2018
Good movie overall, entertaining with good visuals. Have to take the movie for what it is, like fantasy type movies.
November 3, 2018
Stunning visual effects accompany a complex story that is told a little but too fast and with some strange twists. What apparently was a rather militant book series was turned into family entertainment. Too bad, but beautiful entertainment nevertheless.
½ October 28, 2018
Only atheists and anti-Christians will enjoy this awful film.
½ September 23, 2018
The Good: This film moves at a brisk pace.
The Bad: This film moves at a brisk pace. I never felt like I got to know the characters. I certainly never knew what the heck was going on.
August 21, 2018
New Line cinema publicized The Golden Compass as the new epic journey following the famous and very successful Lord of the Rings trilogy. That, added in with the unsatisfying ending, however, contributed to a mediocre film in comparison.

The beginning of The Golden Compass is quite promising: the visuals are very atmospheric and aesthetic. It is reminiscent of Lord of the Rings, especially with shots recalling in quite a bit of detail The Fellowship of the Ring sceneries and landscapes. The exposition is well handled through narration and diegetic character dialogue. The first half of the movie follows the book almost scene by scene. The actors and performances are well done, even though they then suffer from the story in the end - more about that later.
The CGI in my opinion is surprisingly well done for a 2007 children's-to-young-adult film. The contrast between the daemons and the actors is smaller than in some films you would see today. The actual images work with the CGI through the use of saturated colours which also helps with atmosphere and this child-like world. One aspect which might be considered as uncertain CGI and use thereof are the witches, flying around. It still passes though, especially as the film is, after all, intended for a younger audience.
The moment things start to tip over to the other side is towards the middle of the film, where the writers chose to change up the lineup of the novel's events and their appearance or not in the movie. Understandably, the unsure climax of the book is problematic for a film that needs structure to hit the points of any mainstream cinema movie.
However, it is unsure for those that have read the book if all these changes were a good idea, although it makes the story easier to show and creates a better linearity of events. Perhaps the most notable change from the novel and probably the most prominent flaw of the film is the extremely weak ending.
There is a huge climactic fight and the movie ends shortly thereafter, with Lyra and her friends in the hot air balloon.
The ending scenes of the novel are completely cut out and there is no resolution in the movie. It keeps suspense for a potential sequel, no doubt, but disappoints deeply those that have read the book, awaiting the final dramatic scenes of the novel that are almost perfect for a movie ending and also opens to a very well done cliffhanger for a sequel, at least a better cliffhanger than what the film had. In addition, it is difficult to imagine the last pages of Northern Lights as the beginning of another film, so it makes even less sense for it to have been cut. The ending is probably going to cost one star.
August 20, 2018
Best movie ever.
Loved it as teenager in cinema. Still love to watch it time per time with my gf
½ August 19, 2018
Beautifully rendered CGI enhanced fairytale around the special ability to translate a precious artifact as guidance in the war between freewill & predetermination.
August 5, 2018
its an ok kiddie movie
May 27, 2018
Rather entertaining. I understand the necessary changes that had to be made in the adaption process, which just about works. But it's the spot-on casting that sells it for me. Lovely to see promising child actors. Also a lot of the special effects still hold up; Iorek Byrnison's fight with Iofur Racknison is still epic. A good watch for those not too bothered by the medium adaption changes.
May 19, 2018
I never understand why this film failed. Its one of my favorites. I think its agreat history
May 5, 2018
I loved it, it's a wonderful, exciting, magical film that I have loved since the moment it came out. WHERE'S THE SEQUEL?!!
May 5, 2018
I loved this film as a child, and I still do. I think it's a real shame they didn't make the sequel.
March 18, 2018
Don't understand why this film wasn't appreciated more. A very empowering entertaining story for kids and adults who have forgotten what it feels like to be a child.
Page 1 of 1820