The Golden Compass - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Golden Compass Reviews

Page 1 of 10
July 17, 2020
This uneven and muddled affair is too compressed and compromised to please viewers of any persuasion.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 2, 2020
Enchanting in its own way, The Golden Compass is a cold, dark fable.
June 5, 2019
There is a good idea buried here somewhere - it's just indistinguishable from the dust of stale ones.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 11, 2018
Weitzman hits all the book's plot points without ginning up any of its corresponding emotion.
November 3, 2016
"The Golden Compass ultimately fails as a film in its broad strokes and inadequate scene development."
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 29, 2016
Director Chris Weitz... manages to bring out the best in his ensemble cast and never fails to lose the attention of the viewer throughout 114 minutes.
September 5, 2015
Begets the less than ringing endorsement, 'Yeah, whatever. It was OK I suppose.'
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 22, 2011
The Golden Compass isn't bad, it's cast is too good and it's too well made, but something fundamental to good storytelling - heart - has been lost, leaving a final product as icy and impossible to care for as Mrs. Coulter herself.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
August 27, 2009
Excruciating pap
July 14, 2008
An engaging fantasy adventure that, albeit no masterpiece, is hardly the disaster one might have imagined.
Full Review | Original Score: C
May 20, 2008
I realize that when you make a book into a movie you cannot include every single detail, but it seems like Weitz purposely tried to take all of the magic out of the story.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 1, 2008
This plot may sound somewhat ludicrous on paper, but Pullman has created a logical, well-thought-out world that Weitz has brilliantly translated to the big screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
April 30, 2008
This kid film noir touching on magic dust substance abuse, cranky clerics, worrisome wizards, goth grownup child abusers and computer-generated homicidal polar bear throat slashers, is less likely to dazzle the senses than exhaust minds of all ages.
April 24, 2008
...if I hadn't liked Pullman's books so much, I probably would have liked this movie version more than I did.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
April 9, 2008
Will it be enough to satisfy fans of Philip Pullman's widely read 'His Dark Materials' trilogy? Hard to say. But for the uninitiated this is an engaging adventure, even when Chris Weitz's screenplay lacks the compelling clarity of Pullman's prose.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
March 4, 2008
Sam Elliott shows up as a cowboy, who would normally be a pick-me-up, but with Golden Compass I just wanted to find my direction home.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
February 28, 2008
The Golden Compass should be fun, but it rarely is. It should sweep you away, but it rarely does. For a film suffused with magic, it is, regrettably, far from magical.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
February 25, 2008
No, I didn't read the novel before seeing the film, and nothing in this shimmering disaster made me want to read it, either. Made me hate polar bears, and I used to love the darned things, so that's saying something.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
February 16, 2008
Read this review, skip this movie, and instead read the excellent books. Poor Dakota Blue Fanning is the perfect Lyra in a terrible adaptation.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 2, 2008
A beautiful, thought-provoking fantasy film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Page 1 of 10