Highlander 2: The Quickening - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Highlander 2: The Quickening Reviews

Page 1 of 71
April 22, 2019
An excellent cast as well as dazzling sequences transcends Highlander 2's silliness and makes it one of the best action films of all time.
½ March 8, 2019
If you are a fan of this series and run across this movie. Buy it and burn it.
September 4, 2018
4.1 on IMDb, 0% on Rotten Tomatoes & 22% from the Audience? Did people even watch the movie? Think for yourself! This was a damn good sequel, its Highlander in the world of Frank Miller's Dark Knight Returns & Blade Runner with badass action, our hero comes out the fire reborn in an epic Quickening, cars are blown up, glass is shattered, a truck explodes & from that moment on he's Revamped & Rejuvenated, has a few good fights with a Charismatic villain in Michael Ironside. 1 of the most UNDERRATED films of all time!
½ August 12, 2018
Highlander, an action fantasy classic about 2 immortals who are the only ones capable of killing each other. It's a great movie that we are not talking about today. today i'm talking about the sequel that somehow managed to cast James Bond himself Sean Connery as one of the main characters along with Michael Ironside who just one year prior appeared in Paul Verhoeven's sci fi action masterpiece Total Recall. With two actors who clearly have talent in one form or another what could possibly go wrong? EVERYTHING!!! from the fact they ignore the first film entirely and focused on a story so incoherent that not only do all Highlander fans deny this movie's existence (sorry for brining this up) but the director has made more edits to the film than George Lucas did to all the Star Wars movies.
August 11, 2018
Hey. These movies are worth watching at least once. Pick a bored rainy day. In a mood for a binge watch? Get them in order. You wont regret it.
July 9, 2018
It gets 100% of a rating above b-panther the quickening..
At least in that regard its BETTER because anythings better than
whutkandans..
But on its own or related to highlander in any way, Its awful. And the poster.. Ohhh lord the awful poster..
½ June 18, 2018
It's down there with Terminator 3 as one of the worst sequels which suffers even more in the shadow of its great predecessor.
Simply should have never happened..... sickens me to think of someone earning a good salary in a great industry and getting paid to churn s$$t like this out
June 12, 2018
this is the second best movie of all time, only Kuffs, starring Christian Slater is better.
½ April 12, 2018
On the laserdic cut, with both climbing above the shield and fairy tale sequence. Director's cut makes no sens at all, and 2004 edit with new special effects is awful at all levels
½ January 23, 2018
Rotten sequel, sorry unfinished sequel. I believe the director was fired before completion and the company went bankrupt. (Probably due to Sean Connery's hefty wage)
The film is a mess, from the confusing plot to the jumps from scenes (MacLeod changes swords and location during his final duel)
All involved should be ashamed of themselves.

There is a Renegade Cut (Directors Cut) that erases all the stupid Planet Zeist nonsense and attempts to fill in the holes in the original with unfinished scenes. This is actually slightly better but i would still only give it 1 star.
Still he did finance it himself so it deserves a mention.

Highlander should have been a stand alone movie.
½ May 2, 2017
170502: Even the "Renegade Version" can't fix what was just a terrible sequel and follow-up story. I only keep this DVD because of my love for the original. Seeing John C. McGINLEY as Blake made me smile. He is always a creepy character. Louise's (Virginia Madsen) wall scene is pretty damn hot and Michael Ironside brings his villain consistency to General Katana.
½ February 1, 2017
Ignores pretty much everything from the first one. It makes no sense and is beyond painful to watch.
Super Reviewer
½ January 1, 2017
The Renegade version of H2 is one of my favorite "so bad it's good" movies ever!!
December 18, 2016
From the files of How Did This Get Made...

The Highlander was SO good that "I guess" a sequel was called for is perhaps the explanation for this film but it's just SO, SO, SO bad. From Sean Connery making a comeback (spoiler he was killed in the first film) to the unnecessary dystopian future to the TERRIBLE acting from the main lead. It's pretty much unwatchable. I watched it simply to "refresh" myself as to how bad this film was to get ready for an @HDTGM podcast and I'm glad I did but otherwise I would have been happy going the rest of my life not having re-watched this film.
September 3, 2016
(This review covers the original theatrical version.)

I cannot imagine anyone of adequate intelligence thinking that HIGHLANDER 2: THE QUICKENING was a movie of quality. Don't think that just to annoy me- because if you make the very bad idea of seeing this movie, you will walk out, either laughing your head off or seriously depressed. This second entry in the HIGHLANDER movie franchise is a stupefyingly bad film- one of the worst films ever made. It is a film so epically awful, so unbelievably idiotic, so totally incomprehensible and logically bereft that it has inevitably become an immortal low-point in the timeline of the modern sci-fi film genre. This, along with BATTLEFIELD EARTH and some of Ed Wood's sci-fi pictures from the 1950's are as bad as it gets in this great and underrated genre of movies.

The movie stars Christopher Lambert as the Highlander Connor MacLeod and Sean Connery (whose appearance is pointless) as Ramirez, both characters from the first film who battles his great enemy, General Katana (Michael Ironside, an actor with great screen presence). MacLeod also begins to feel guilt about a shield that he designed to protect the Earth from the sun; which has proven to be a bad idea. So, he decides to get rid of it. Those 2 rather unrelated plot points are really all the movie is about, really. The more one dives further into this film, the more lost one will become- hilariously incomprehensible is the best term to describe it.

I mean, Good God, this movie is bad. There are so many plot holes, so many logical inconsistencies and so many basic errors of storytelling- the film seems to have been edited at random. The film has a number of subplots along with the 2 main plots that come together in such a crazy and non-sensical way- I have heard that the Argentine investors reedited the film because the Argentine economy tanked (again) whilst the film was in production and they decided that they trusted themselves more than director Russell Mulachy to make big pesos. The production values are impressive- but the movie is overproduced and there are many clearly awful special effects shots in this movie that stick out so much that it's really hard not to notice them.

General Katana has to be the least intelligent villain I've ever seen in a movie. His entire motivation for going after MacLeod is moronic to the point of being pointless. The reasoning behind Katana's quest to kill MacLeod is not explained or built upon, either. Apparently, he just wants to do it because... he's bored, I guess. This hopeless character is not helped by the incomprehensible and just about unmotivated plot- which is beyond stupid. I mean, this movie is so dumb that it actually defies belief and logic. Hardly anything makes sense, hardly any scene works, not because the film is such a mess.

The movie itself has nothing to do with the first film. Everything is different, including the character's backstories, where they came from, what their abilities are, etc. It feels more like a blatant rip-off and theft of the first movie- that's how stupefyingly and spectacularly bad this movie is. Its such a mind-numbing experience- it's going to be hard to find a movie as idiotic and as incompetent as this.

The major re-release of HIGHLANDER 2, titled HIGHLANDER 2: RENEGADE VERSION (one of a number of re-releases) is way, way better than this film (almost all films are)- but it only qualifies as a fair, decent film- watchable, at best. If the original gets 0/10, the Renegade Version, which is quite a different film than the original- gets a 4.5/10.
August 3, 2016
While the prequil part was interesting at first, the cartoonish villains and Highlander being part of Ramirez's past ruins it. Combined with a boring subplot and bad effects and the result is a very cheezy boring direct to video style movie that somehow got a theatrical release.
July 26, 2016
Not as epic as the first, but i really enjoyed it!
July 16, 2016
Makes me wonder what actually happened here. It is gloriously terrible.
June 16, 2016
esse filme ainda sera redescoberto. é um ótimo filme que foi injustiçado
Page 1 of 71