High Life - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

High Life Reviews

Page 2 of 6
½ May 1, 2019
The simplest way to describe this movie is by stating that it left me feeling worse than I felt before I watched it. The storyline was boring and there was nothing deep about it. It was just disturbing and a massive waste of time. It's the worst movie I've seen in the past 6-8 months.
May 1, 2019
High Life can be overly violent and not everything in it works, but it's overall a highly artistic, sophisticated and at the end of the day very authentic and different genre film that really stays with you afterwards. Juliette Binoche superbly played a horrible human being and the movie truly is quite disturbing in a couple of scenes. The script is excellent, the visuals are mesmerizing, the score is evocative and the dark tone worked as the movie is filled with a constant sense of desperation and danger.
½ April 29, 2019
Strange movie. Be ready for a different kind of film. I liked some aspects (family, parent/child bond, effects of long space missions) but overall it fell a bit flat for me. I had trouble getting past the poor production design (if you are doing a movie in space.. it needs to be to a certain level of quality) and little things like why didn't the space suits seem to actually close (there was this little flap that seemed to close the suit). Interesting... but certainly not my favorite.
April 29, 2019
'High Life' is a provocative, challenging yet speculative sci-fi film which despite its themes is undercut by its non-linear plot, graphic depictions and slow pace.
April 27, 2019
amazing movie liked box sex scene
April 27, 2019
High Life (2018) #MovieReview 1�� Presos condenados são enviados ao espaço para missão, junto com mà (C)dica. Roteiro queijo suíço com milhares de furos, desde estória, atuação e cenários de Sci-Fi de baixo orçamento (e toscos). Sem contar a nave caixa.
April 26, 2019
Worst scifi of all time! Pretentious and tedious, to the nth degree! The film producers must have bribed the critics in order to induce unwarranted praise for this sleeping pill masquerading as cinema...there can be no other explanation! Avoid avoid avoid!!!
April 26, 2019
Dust *

7 is a spaceship with interstellar drive that goes to a black hole. High Life is a movie that takes place inside a box and goes nowhere, except for some stuff that happens on the way. It plays like an episode of Dust, expanded to fill up two hours without the substance to do so. Dust to dust with catecholamines in between.

*A platform for Syfy shorts on YouTube.
April 26, 2019
A creepy and enthralling sci fi experience. High Life is a masterfully shot film with that purposely leaves the audience with questions to spark debate. The film doesn't always choose to focus on the stronger aspects of the plot, which can be a little frustrating; but overall High Life is as original and visceral as it gets.
April 26, 2019
Beautifully filmed; especially on such a small budget for a science fiction film. Gritty and haunting at times but Robert Pattinson is capable of bringing tenderness to an otherwise bleak storyline.
½ April 25, 2019
My advise, save your money. This is the worst movie I've seen in a long time. Movie was dull and pacing was slow. Couldn't understand a word that was said.
April 25, 2019
Brilliant film. Pattinson was great
April 25, 2019
The cinematograhy of this movie is beautiful
April 25, 2019
A premise that makes zero sense, unexplained character motivations, and some simply laughable dialogue.
April 25, 2019
The kind of film that stays with you, begging multiple viewings. Ugly and beautiful, brutal and tender. Food for thought & an assault on your emotions. That's a lot to get from one movie ticket!
Super Reviewer
½ April 25, 2019
Science fiction filmmaking has always been one of the more interesting genres to me, due to the fact that your stories can be filled with endless imagination. From amazing films like 2001: A Space Odyssey to even mediocre blockbusters in Interstellar, they're always filled with concepts that impress me. Even if a sci-fi movie hits theatres and has me incredibly against it by the time the credits roll, I still usually find myself pleased with the visual style or the ambition behind the story as a whole. In the case of High Life, I absolutely admired everything about this movie, but I probably won't be telling anyone to rush out and watch it.

Following Monte, as he floats around in a shuttle drifting through space, he and his infant daughter try to survive, alone. With flashbacks to previous events and character interactions that explain their current situation, this is a film that begins very ambiguous, but ultimately becomes bogged down in exposition and overly complex narrative choices, that simply had me frustrated with the movie overall. The premise of the film itself and the visual style that they were able to pull off on a budget of just over 10 million dollars.

I absolutely loved everything about this movie that revolved around Monte (who was played very well by Robert Pattinson) and his daughter. Their growth throughout the film and development within their characters easily felt like the most impressive aspect. As mentioned above, the flashbacks and overly explanatory sequences took me out of the film. Not to ruin what the flashbacks consist of, but it was far less interesting than the present day timeline and they balanced the present day with the past quite evenly in terms of the film's run time, which was disappointing to me.

Although noticeably low-budget, this is a very nicely shot film with some very unique sci-fi visuals. I wasn't completely sucked in, because some of the sets and ways certain scenes played out felt slightly cheap in my opinion. I'm not usually someone who complains about this, because filmmaking is insanely hard to get right, especially on a low-budget, but something about the atmosphere of this movie felt slightly off to me.

In the end, High Life is the pure example of a movie that's not made for everyone. Even if I loved this movie, I still wouldn't recommend it, simply because there are many things presented throughout this movie that will turn off many viewers. I admired my experience with this movie as a whole and would've given the filmmakers a round of applause if they were at the screening, but the movie just didn't click with me in the ways I had hoped for. A very solidly constructed movie that just didn't quite work for me.
April 24, 2019
I don't understand these 1 star reviews. These people clearly watch only one type of movies where it's all rainbows and butterflies. This is a movie that you experience with all your senses. It isn't confusing yet it isn't predictable either. It's gutsy and refreshing. Go and see it in the theatre like it's meant to be experienced.
½ April 24, 2019
I really like the weird sexual violence and seeing a baby girls genitals. Totally necessary. *sarcasm* I suppose pedos and rapists will like those ports.
April 24, 2019
Claire Denis' 'High Life' is undoubtedly better on paper than it is on the screen. One has to assume that the script includes certain details like what "The Box" is, or clarify the discrepancy between the fates of the astronaut's bodies early on versus what we're shown throughout the movie.

Despite the film's limited dialogue, many of the lines feel bizarrely stilted, as if there was a problem in the French-to-English translation regarding the emotional meaning of what Denis was hoping to convey.

As a result, Denis has ultimately made a film that is just interesting enough to keep the audience's attention the entire time, but lackluster enough for them to never really care. Worse, the last twenty minutes are so packed with logical flaws that 'High Life' crashes into its final destination rather than ending on anything that resembles a high note, sadly wasting another superb performance by Robert Pattinson whose time and effort could have been better spent on something else.
½ April 23, 2019
Boring. Pretentious garbage.
Slow.
Violent for no rhyme or reason.
Very little point to it.
I left leaving feeling like I wasted 2 hours.
I like Solaris and 2001 a space Odyssey, so I'm ok with slow space dramas. That's not the problem here. The problem is that there is little to grasp onto in terms of content or meaning.
I would give zero stars if I could.
Please don't watch this drivel
Page 2 of 6