Hider in the House - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Hider in the House Reviews

Page 1 of 1
August 4, 2017
A long long time ago on a couch not so far away somewhere between the hours of 3 and 4 am a friend and I were up late watching TV, laughing at late night infomercials and public access TV, and we happened to stumble upon this gem of a movie. Somewhere between sheer horror, sheer hilarity and pure non-stop entertainment lies Gary Busey's "The Hider In The House".
There are a number of fantastic Busey performances out there to be sure. Some more serious and endearing like his portrayal of the sympathetic drunk uncle in "Silver Bullet"... some gripping like his asshole CIA heel character in "Predator 2"... some disturbingly weird and fantastically improvised like the mad doctor in "Surviving The Game"... and some simply unforgettable like the mentor buddy cop in "Point Break". Busey has a number of lesser works that run the character gamut, all with a signature Busey style. In "The Hider In The House" however, Busey combines them all in a masterfully-portrayed sympathetic, hilarious and endearing psychopath stalker who just wants to fit in... and be one of us... and burn the house down and kill us all... he's fun for the whole family. Clearly Busey's magnum opus, "The Hider In The House" has some great writing and some fantastic supporting performances as well. Particularly great is the exterminator played by the apparently-ubiquitous-but-almost-always-hardly-noticable Lenny Termo "Hey you - yo don't belong here! You're not goin' nowhere!" (my nominee for best supporting actor of 1990)... Krispen Glover's dad (who plays a fantastically pedophilic and lecherous sports freak) "Ooooh I wish I were back in kindergarten... especially with you!"... and some whiny kid who plays the little boy - "I wasn't burning my soldiers! I was pretending they were dad!". Special honorable mention goes to the school bully - "I know why... because ya got big ears!" Thrilling non-stop laughs and miscellaneous entertainment in this one. One of the top 10 movies ever made. I would recommend everyone watch this movie at least five times in their lifetime, and possibly as often as once per week. Get the dvr out if this is ever on TV because there is a fantastic rewind scene at least twice every minute. The blu-ray gods need to get on this ASAP remastered with a Busey commentary. Find it somewhere - you won't be disappointed. You can't shut it off, once Busey is already in.
½ February 12, 2015
Gary Busey plays a multifaceted, complex psycho with ease. Not anything groundbreaking (and especially not bloody, for any gorehounds reading), but Busey makes this one worth a look.
½ September 28, 2014
This movie has it's problems, but the creepiness of Gary Busey helps you to overlook it's faults.
July 23, 2014
Gary Busey being Gary Busey is what makes this worth watching.
September 26, 2012
Gary Busey at his creepy best.
½ September 9, 2012
not really that thrilling but it was a beautiful house!
November 28, 2011
Pretty much what you'd expect, 2 hours of Scary Gary acting weird and awkward.
June 5, 2011
No reviews? You fuckers. The moral of this film is to not let Gary Busey out on early parole. Or else he's going to squat in a newly built house that a yuppie couple has just purchased (who call each other babe, whatever that means. Cher?). He's also going to live in your attic and made a miniature version of the house with miniature versions of you in them, as well as himself. He will also probably kill your dog. Also, this movie has a great poster. You should watch based solely off of that.
½ December 19, 2010
interesting movie. I like it.
½ December 15, 2010
First movie I ever saw with Gary Busey, and I am a fan since then. Like his character, Donīt know if he is a good guy or bad guy and if he wants to protect the family or harm them.
August 29, 2010
This was actually really good apart from some cheesy acting.
Worth checking out
½ April 19, 2010
three things this movie has ... 1.a creepy gary busey who plays a deranged stalker hiding in the attic.. 2. nigel from this is spinal tap (micheal mckean)
3. mimi rogers is fucking hot as shit
an average thriller with a good cast which pulls it all together
½ October 24, 2009
I caught this when I was a kid and it has stuck out in my head after all of these years as one of the most bizzare movies I've seen plotwise. The film plays up Busey's odd side brilliantly and Bruce Glover(Crispens dad) gives an off handed creepy performance also. This is solid, cult classic gold! You'll have to lurk around e-Bay to find it on DVD.
½ May 15, 2009
Hider in the house features a really deranged Gary busey(he didnt even have to act). Nothing special about this movie, but Busey is always a joy to watch in bad guy roles.
½ August 19, 2008
This is a vastly underrated film. It is true that Gary Busey can only play a certain kind of role, but this is the exact kind of role written for him! Psychotic and traumatized, he plays a neurotic sensitive man chillingly well. Mimi Rogers isn't bad herself, and even what's his name Michael McKean does decent. Add some struggling '80s decor to boot and genuinely hilarious and disturbing Busey antics, and you have yourself a hell of an entertaining film.
February 23, 2008
Gary Busey at his creepy best.
July 20, 2007
Gary Busey is such a good actor in this you almost want him hiding in your house.
May 21, 2007
i almost wanna say that i've seen it...
Page 1 of 1