Hellboy II: The Golden Army (Hellboy 2) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Hellboy II: The Golden Army (Hellboy 2) Reviews

Page 1 of 1261
½ May 17, 2019
Es mas energica con acción que te dan ganas de verla sin parar y escenas bien realizadas con el mismo humor de la anterior pero a un nivel más po (C)tico.
April 20, 2019
A+ sequel. Loved it.
½ April 20, 2019
The charm is not as fresh as it was in the first Hellboy but its a more than entertaining comic book film with improved action and undeniable creativity as well as visual splendor.
April 18, 2019
Coming out of the cinema after the *new* Hellboy, I had one thought about it: I need to re-watch Hellboy 2: The Golden Army to wash this stink off of my mind. An awesome movie that puts to shame whatever the hell the guys in charge for this remake aimed at.

Because it is nothing more than an over-bloated gore fest, folks. It lacks the subtle comical undertones of the first, the good, down to earth dialogue and relatable characters, the intriguing story, the fascinating cinematography and anything else that made the original 2 cult classics. Sure, they might not have broken any box office records when they released, but I assure you, a third installment by the brilliant Del Toro, combined with the glove-like portrayal of Hellboy by Ron Perlman would have cashed in much more dollars than this and, more importantly, it would have cashed in many of our hearts for years to come!

Hellboy (2004) and Hellboy 2 (2008) are a must watch for many reasons. Some were stated above, some you will discover for yourself.
April 16, 2019
5/5. Funny, with a lot of heat, Hellboy II is superior to the original in every way.
April 16, 2019
I was actually pretty excited to watch this because I liked the first one and this sequel turned out to be better. The main charters are awesome, they are cool looking and actually have emotional problems that people can relate to. The costume design and makeup are wonderful, very detailed and colorful. Even the setting and set pieces are pretty. The action was much better too, exceeding the first one by a long shot. My only negative thoughts are that some of the CGI was bad and the actress who plays the main female is actually bad. But yeah, a better sequel in every way.
April 16, 2019
Even more amazing, visually stunning, emotional, fun, unforgettable masterpiece from truly talented director. Much better than most now-days generic comic-book movies.
April 15, 2019
GOOD MOVIE, "Hellboy II: The Golden Army (Hellboy 2)"(2008) to GO SEE at a THEATER, if you can!
April 12, 2019
I love this movie. The love story with Abe Sapien is adorable and poignant.
½ April 5, 2019
Superb sequel that improves on everything from the original, from the more developed villain to a deeper story. All the returning cast is superb, with Perlman once again brilliant as Hellboy, this time trying to fit into the outside world, while Doug Jones's Abe Sapien is expanded further with a possible love interest. For the new additions, Luke Goss is excellent as Prince Nuada, an elf going to war with the human world but for good reason. Behind the camera, Guillmero Del Toro improves on the original story with a deeper one about the fantasy world fighting for its existence. You understand the motives behind the villain's plan, even if it is horrific when implemented. The action and visual effects are improved as well, with a more colorful palate, while Danny Elfman produces one of his most beautiful scores in recent memory. Overall, an excellent comic book movie that holds up as one of the best in recent years.
March 27, 2019
a more enjoyalbe movie that is uses great sets and another brilliant preformance by ron pearlman.
½ March 19, 2019
I dont't understand the universal love for this movie. Hellboy 2 is vastly different from its predecessor, and mostly not in good ways. The story is very average, but I don't think that is its biggest flaw, its for me the setting. Hellboy 1's universe had just the right amount of wackiness besides the serious parts - and this way you cold still take the world seriously while chuckling at some of its over-the-top elements. In The Golden Army the world becomes too bloated to actually work - and the overuse of "cool" monster fights and the exaggerated visuals don't really help a lot either.
Besides the setting, every other element of the movie is like in the first film - but now they are all faded and shallow. This movie has some jokes in it, but nothing like the ones in the first one. The characters are there, but nothing seems interesting about them anymore. And finally, most of the scenes are not memorable, and you will likely forget entirely that you've seen this movie - just like I did.
I think I could forgive this movie's flaws, if it only was one entry in a series - like The Temple of Doom in the Indiana Jones franchise - but unfortunately it is not, and Del Toro's Hellboy had to end here, with this mediocre film.
March 15, 2019
Not as good as the first but better than most of the rest.
February 23, 2019
I love this movie, I love the characters. I am disappointed that Rupert Evans didn't return. I enjoyed that action sequences. Over all an enjoyable movie.
October 21, 2018
A classic sequel that is superior to the original!
September 4, 2018
Damn. Even better then the first. In my opinion
½ July 28, 2018
Creative and entertaining.
½ July 8, 2018
A derivative plotline further marred by formulaic characters overshadows any endearing qualities Hellboy II might offer.
June 27, 2018
i thought this was good
½ March 30, 2018
Hellboy (Ron Perlman) the demonic kitten-loving B.P.R.D agent along with his girlfriend Liz (Selma Blair), Abe Sapien (Doug Jones) the fish-like empath and a German ectoplasmic psychic known as Johann Krauss (Seth MacFarlane (voice) ), are called into action to prevent the powerful Elf-prince Nuada (Luke Goss) from unleashing the Golden Army, an invincible mechanical force capable of wiping out humanity, onto the world...

Fresh off of coming from his magnum opus in filmmaking with 2006's Pan's Labyrinth, Guillermo Del Toro's only sequel to date ditches the gothic tone of the first film in favour of bringing in more fantasy elements into the world that Mike Mignola created, making this one of Del Toro's most visually imaginative films in his resume.

The creatures and worlds such as the troll-market, the Angel of Death (Doug Jones), the Golden Army themselves and a wisecracking legless goblin king just to name a few, are all stunning to look at with the mixing of prosthetics and CGI being so well used in Del Toro's skill at worldbuilding, that it's not suprising why Peter Jackson chose him to originally direct The Hobbit films back when the trilogy was only going to be two films long.

Fan-favourite characters from the first film such as Abe and Tom Manning (Jeffrey Tambor) are thankfully given a lot more to do in this film, with the former in particular being given a cute sub-plot involving him falling in love with Nuada's sister (Anna Walton) which leads to one of the funniest moments of the film, in which both him and Hellboy sing Barry Manilow's Can't Smile Without You while drunk. Speaking of Hellboy, Ron Perlman once again steals the show as the sarcastic, yet lovable hellspawn so much that David Harbour is going to have big shoes to fill in the 2019 reboot set to be directed by Neil Marshall.

Overall, Hellboy II: The Golden Army's improvements in fantasy world-building, character design and acting, makes this one of Del Toro's best achievements of the 2000's. It may lack the groundbreaking storytelling and emotions of Pan's Labyrinth, but much like Pacific Rim and the first film, it's still one of the best sequels out there.
Page 1 of 1261