Haywire - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Haywire Reviews

Page 1 of 249
½ May 11, 2019
Could have been a good movie. To bad they didn't make to movie as good as the trailer.
March 10, 2019
One of the few movies where an 'actor' comes of as really bad-ass. Believable and enjoyable. Wish there was a sequal. Solid core cast!
½ December 15, 2018
The fighting is not faked, but the acting is. Weak work Mr. Soderbergh.
October 12, 2018
Lots of action and fighting. Worth seeing. Lots of big names. Thriller.
½ September 28, 2018
Considered, measured, controlled and precise, but a bit lifeless.
½ September 15, 2018
its gritty practical approach..

Haywire

Haywire is a plot driven action thriller about a spy who seeks revenge after a mission goes down and is hunted down by her fellow companions.

The choreography of all the action sequences are jaw dropping that is lethally performed which leaves the audience in an awe of it. The crisp of the feature isn't kept alive through pummeling their way out of the track, but the thrilling ride it offers in that limited span. Chess like slick moves, characteristics of the characters and scoreboard mentality game is what keeps these characters not only intriguing and mysterious but pragmatic.

As always, Soderbergh's pace is eerie, but he surely knows when to chew things and take it slowly and when to fasten and narrow it into one big punch. The background score can be daft at certain moments but is finely edited with decent cinematography and sharp sound effects.

The chase sequences are smarter than we usually get and so are tricks and treats that is constantly imputed in each aspects of it, to keep the audience tangled in its cruel cold bubble. At a certain point somewhere in its middle act, there aren't any verbal content and is purely relied upon the detailed physical screenplay. As the script enfolds, it gets juicier than ever and with Soderbergh behind the camera, it is definitely not short on execution.

Carano at the heart of it, may not be the anticipated actress, but surely delivers eye popping physical sequences that one has not yet encountered and the guest actors like Douglas, McGregor, Tatum, Banderas and Fassbender holds on to their part tightly. Neat and clean visuals, live locations and gut wrenching sturdy action sequences are the high points of the feature.

Haywire is not a game changer but definitely redefines the genre by offering some real concrete material to the audience that is horrendous for its gritty practical approach.
August 30, 2018
For all its convoluted turns and unimaginative beats, Haywire seems firmly more interesting in doing some cool stuff than telling a story. And most of the time, it works.
½ July 29, 2018
Fights were pretty rubbish, story so so, but I like Soderbergh's style.
½ June 21, 2018
If I could give it zero stars I would. Bloody awful film.
Super Reviewer
½ June 16, 2018
If you've ever wondered what Mission Impossible or Kill Bill would have been like if made by Soderbergh, now you have the answer. The fight scenes are pretty efficient but the formulaic plot holds no surprises, with irregular pacing and apathetic action scenes.
½ April 15, 2018
Original take on fights, odd looking yet interesting characters, Gina Carano, so yeah.
½ December 10, 2017
Not as good as the reviewers made it out to be.
October 25, 2017
Everything was so wooden, the acting, the story, the camerawork, the fight scenes... just all around dull. Nothing interested me, wasn't even cheesy enough to rate real terrible rating, just standard bad. Doubt I'll remember anything about this film a week from now.
September 21, 2017
For once I agree with most of the critics. This movie is a waste of such a good cast. Director tried way too hard to be stylish. That made the flow "haywire".
½ August 15, 2017
While the middle portion of the film feels middling and the ending makes the film feel minor in the established espionage genre, the film still contains great action scenes, a tight, intriguing mystery, and a great cast making it a fun, interesting addition to the spy genre.
½ June 24, 2017
I mostly dug this, especially the action and the tone (I have no interest in MMA but I like that kind of grapple-fighting when represented in action movies) but Carano's single facial expression and flat affect are a pretty big liability, and the plot is oddly paced and has no sense of scope so it feels unsatisfying at the end. I enjoyed myself but I can understand why you wouldn't.
June 11, 2017
Generally dull, the action feels very real but is so limply directed it takes all the heft out of it. Despite the solid cameos, SKIP.
February 26, 2017
just awful, critics are stupid.
January 30, 2017
Tanto rumore per nulla.
Il cast č molto ricco, la trama di spionaggio e contro-spionaggio č fitta perņ non convince appieno.Alla fine il film finisce lasciandoti ancora della "fame" addosso.
Page 1 of 249