Guest House Paradiso - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Guest House Paradiso Reviews

Page 1 of 21
July 8, 2018
a terribly stupid film but i really enjoyed it
September 5, 2017
Sorry Rik and Ade love you guys, but this movie blows not many laughs in it.
December 13, 2016
Best slapstick comedy ever.
February 6, 2015
Well it had to happen. :P With the success of the BBC series Bottom, as well as their live stage shows. Adrian Edmondson and Rik Mayall wrote this film spin-off, with Edmondson directing the film, (he'd had experience from directing some Comic Strip episodes), and it's exactly the sort of thing you'd expect from them. Just remove your brain for an hour and a half, and you'll laugh like a loon. Richard Twat (Mayall) and Eddie Ndingombaba (Edmondson) run the worst hotel in the United Kingdom, which is located next door to a poorly managed nuclear power station. Richard and Eddie's bad manners and violence towards one another leaves the guests, including Mr. Johnson (Bill Nighy) and Mr. Nice (Simon Pegg) completely appalled, but things look up for the Guest House Paradiso when famous Italian actress Gina Carbonara (Hélène Mahieu) arrives at the hotel seeking refuge from her violent fiancé Gino Bolognese (Vincent Cassel), who she ran away from at their wedding. Richard immediately see's the opportunity for more guests, but trouble is leaking... It's a very silly film, done on the cheap, and proud of it. But, there's nothing funnier than seeing Edmondson and Mayall knocking the shit out of one another. It's a shame we'll never see another one, as no-one could create grubby environments and characters and violent slapstick like Edmondson and Mayall.
December 26, 2014
Pointless dumb fun in a way most so-called pointless dumb fun movies hardly ever strive for. Immaculately put together and funny as all hell. And absolutely retarded.
Super Reviewer
July 12, 2014
Right lets get down to it then, this is basically the Bottom movie end of story, yeah sure there are the odd changes and snips around the edges but its quite simply Bottom on the big screen. Rik and Ade have played the same type of characters for their entire careers undoubtedly but these two fellas are clearly 'Richie' and 'Eddie' of Hammersmith, I think all the fans can agree on that despite what the guys say.

This works for and against the movie in my opinion. Basically we see the many of the same gags, pratfalls and violent slapstick from the TV show...and when I say the same I mean pretty much identical. The only difference is of course its been fleshed out on the silver screen with a better budget so everything looks slicker. Again this is not a problem essentially, I am very happy to see Rik and Ade knock seven shades of shit out of each other with the use of bigger and better effects...to a degree. But at times during the film I did find myself thinking they are rehashing too many old classic sight gags, verbal gags and violent gags and somehow it doesn't actually look as good!

How is this possible you might ask, well personally I think its down to the fact the TV show was actually more adult than the film and much more grittier. The constraints of the TV show elevate the material because it feels more anarchic and wild yet at the same time restricted, the stunts and effects are slapped together and seem really dangerous and realistic, plus the lack of any swearing somehow made it feel even ruder and filthier which I can't workout, the tempting hints I guess. In this film everything just seems a bit slow and tired, the guys are obviously not as young anymore but the fights and pratfalls just feel weaker and less inventive.

'Pheeb...One boiled egg.'

The sets in the film are nice and have that classic typically dated British seaside B&B visual atmosphere and vibe going on. Watching carefully I loved all the old set decorations strewn around the hotel like the old paintings and historic furniture. The kind of stuff your gran had when you were a kid back in the day, or even your parents back in the late 70's and 80's (if you're around my age). I also really liked all the little nooks, crannies and secret passage ways throughout the hotel which are used by Richie to spy on people and pinch things. It all adds more scope and depth to the setting plus adds inventive ways to create more laughs...which it does nicely in one sequence.

So the films visuals around the hotel do look good n grimy as you'd expect, certain props are used disgustingly well used for various painful moments and the sets are well designed reflecting that classic Bottom feel from the Hammersmith flat. The extra cast members are a solid oddball bunch that back at the time were relatively unknown but have now gone on to bigger things, most notably Bill Nighy and Simon Pegg. Neither of the pair actually have massive parts in the film of course as it all revolves around Richie and Eddie, but they add a much needed boost to the overall quality. Nighy probably gets the best of it with his face-off against Mayall in some classic Fawlty Towers-esque scenes at breakfast. Never really liked the character or performance from Cassel as it just felt way out of place really, other than that I still don't get why they didn't cast all their old school mates from previous shows, we get 'Spudgun' so what about the rest?

'Mmm Lady Diana Princess of Wales...slap me up you bitch'

Despite some great looking bits n pieces and some decent scenes of Mayall madness and campness, at the end of the day I couldn't help but feel slightly underwhelmed by the whole thing. I think like most folk I went into this with really really seriously high expectations from the pairs glittering TV career and basically the film could never live up to that. Don't get me wrong the guys have a bloody good go and the movie definitely delivers what you want from the duo in terms of crude crass vomit inducing toilet humour. I just really think this should of been a much stronger blend of their live stage show and the TV show, it should of been an all out adult comedy really. They try their best but it really feels like the laughs are being forced out after a bad spell of comical constipation. Was never too sure on that film title either.
½ June 30, 2014
Very similar to Bottom. Kind of a cross between that and Fawlty Towers. Laugh out loud funny for the first 10 minutes, but quickly becomes very repetitive and more ridiculous. "Where do your eggs come from?" "A hens vagina?" RIP Rik.
June 27, 2014
AWESOME! RIP Rik Mayall!
June 9, 2014
Totally classic 'Mayall Madness!'
May 31, 2014
They're idiots, but that's what makes them so great--Looney Tunes on speed!!
March 10, 2014
one of the best british comedies in the last ten years,very funny,the ending with all the sick is still gross though
February 10, 2014
Richie & Eddie are more insane than ever in this crazy flick. If you love the BBC show Bottom, you'll love this. I do - 5 stars.
November 4, 2013
I am the biggest fan of Rik Mayall and Ade Edmondson there is. I was interested in seeing 'Bottom' in a different setting, alongside different characters and in film form, so I was geared up to watch it. For the majority of the film, it wasn't particularly on par with their usual comedy and I know they can be very humorous actors. My gripe is with the ending. Everyone is being violently sick and vomiting, they don't make it funny, they make it into a nightmare. People are calling for doctors, crying. It was just horrific. I have no issue with being sick for comedy, BUT ACTUALLY MAKE IT FUNNY. I was so disgusted and upset by the ending that it made, what I believe, to be a substandard film based on a great comedy duo who I hold dear to my heart, into the worst film I have ever seen. It is so far the only film to physically reduce me to tears by how horrific it was. It's a shame because if not for that terrifying part of the film, I wouldn't have minded that much, and maybe even watched it again just to see my two favourite comedians doing what they do best; hitting each other and making jokes. But sadly it had to go to a very dark place to which I shall not be returning. Apologies if you enjoyed this film, I would have too if not for certain parts, but I just can't help but be be disgusted.
My advice? Watch 'Bottom' the TV series and their 'Bottom Live' performances if you want the proper 'Bottom' show humour.
July 10, 2013
quite disappointing, some funny moments but overall a wasted opportunity
May 30, 2013
I found this to be great. If you love the characters of Richie and Eddie from "Bottom" (despite this is supposed to differ from the TV show) than this is a film hard not to like. The film's only flaw some of the gags go a little long. However I believe Ade and Rik took the advantage of the running time of a feature film, to do stuff they couldn't do on TV. Overall, great for "Bottom" fans or just admirers of Rik Mayall and Adrian Edmondson.
Super Reviewer
May 10, 2013
Watched this a few hundred times, big fan of bottom!
½ April 19, 2013
rik and ade have brought there insane manic personna's to the big screen from there hit tv series, this is a big thing in england, but other countrys might not get it....
cant blame them i suppose
½ March 4, 2013
I've grown up with Adrian Edmondson and Rik Mayall. I remember my folks letting me stay up late to watch The Young Ones and I felt so grown up because it was rude. Of course most of it went right over my head... but it was physical comedy that resonates with the most immature and puerile of minds. Their second show, Filthy Rich & Catflap, escaped me but I caught up with it years later on video... and then of course, there was Bottom!! I was in my late teens when this show hit and I reckon I know every damn episode back to front... as well as their 5 live shows. These two guys are great together and all throughout their entire careers they have basically played the same two characters... whether its Rick & Vyvyan or Richie & Eddie... its all the same, and it works. And so it was a natural progression for them to carry their act over to film. The result was Guest House Paradiso. It's basically Bottom set in a dishevelled motel. A sort of Fawlty Towers gone wrong... I loved the movie from the get go but I know that others have taken a while to warm to it. With repeat viewings it will grow on you, trust me. Dick jokes, fart gags and violence... what more could you ask for? LOL. Richard and Edward (a more regal pronunciation) run a guesthouse together. They hate their jobs and they hate their patrons and so its basically a long string of insults and situations. Bill Nighy, Simon Pegg and Vincent Cassell offer fantastic comical support roles and help make Guest House Paradiso one of the most absurd, repulsive and hilarious British films ever made... in my opinion of course. LOL
February 6, 2013
This film confused and scared me. Love Rik Mayall but this film was disappointing and just plain bad.
January 22, 2013
Stupid British slapstick. Not my cup of tea at all. Simon Pegg as a guest in a very early role. Bill Nighy spends an all too short amount of time as a guest at the beginning of the movie.
Page 1 of 21