Grandma - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Grandma Reviews

Page 1 of 19
February 23, 2019
Another case of a star leading the film like the character in the story. Tomlin, in a genuinely arguable re-established definitive spotlight, brings in witty sporadic humor and fuels dramatic argument towards generational and relationship topics under a decent feministic direction that feels somewhat stilted during some confrontations. (B+)

(Full review TBD)
August 13, 2018
Truly mediocre , hammy acting , poorly scripted , waste of time.
Super Reviewer
May 4, 2018
I really liked this one. Both the grandma and the grand daughter were perfect. I loved how down to earth they both were and this didn?t slide into cloying as it so easily could have.
½ April 21, 2018
It's okay. The short runtime is a good idea since not much happens. Some of the scenes are too conspicuously contrived. Lily Tomlin is good and I like the granddaughter. It's a slight thumbs up although very low on the rewatchability continuum. 5.4 out of 10
April 19, 2018
Great acting by strong individual women
February 27, 2018
I watched this movie last noight on HBO and loved the story, well written.
February 24, 2018
Very well written. Acting just doesn't get much better than Lily Tomlin as Grandma. Lily has always brought a realism to any role, but this was spot on. She delivers so much human condition to each emotion, each situation. Beautiful in every way. Sage, the very vulnerable granddaughter is spot on, too. And no one recognizes Marsha Gay Harden for the actress she is, as much as they should. Kudos to Lily, and to Paul Weitz, the writer of this wonderful film. Well Done! I am behind; only just tonight watched this on Public TV. I hope we see lots more acting from Lily. Thank you, Lily, for all of the wonderful years of giving full on, spot on excellent work! Thank you. Gosh, this was good!
September 13, 2017
Lily Tomlin was fantastic in this film, and the major reason to see it. It is a dramedy with lessons to learn for everyone. Sam Elliott is excellent. I thought Lily Tomlin would be nominated for several awards. WARNING: If you have issues around birth control, planned partnerhood or abortion: STAY AWAY. This is a film for adults handling adult situations.
August 13, 2017
There's really nothing to this story. There's a simple overarching premise that is really only used as an excuse to uncover various aspects of Elle Reid's life and relationships. Unfortunately, due to the restrictions of the story's timeline, none of these aspects are adequately developed. The film feels half-baked at best.
½ July 5, 2017
This little indie flick is basically the merging of "Sideways" and "Grumpy Old Men". Plus, abortion. I suppose you'd call it a dramedy, but even though it has its funny moments (Lily Tomlin can't help but be funny), it's definitely more drama than comedy, due to the aforementioned abortion thing. The story is about a young girl who goes to her hippie grandmother for money to terminate her unwanted pregnancy, and who then spend the course of one day trying to come up with the money, road-trip style. But the story is not really about the granddaughter or even abortion - that's just a vehicle to tell Grandma's story (hence the name). The film is really about Grandma's journey of self-discovery. I had a hard time getting into this movie, the beginning is choppy and the story takes too much time to get going. Even at a clipped 1-hour-and-15-minutes, you don't get invested in the characters/story until about 45 minutes in, so the film seems too long. Add to that the fact that Grandma starts out as a total pill, she is really unlikeable and basically a caricature of a bitchy old lady. But as the story progresses, you learn her backstory. As the character becomes more engaging, so does the story, and the last half of the movie rewards you for sticking with it. It's a great role for Tomlin, I'm always glad to see a film with good characters written for older actors. I admire this film for not flinching away from the touchy abortion subject - it doesn't make any moral judgments on the subject and offers a pretty realistic picture, both the positives and the negatives. Other than that, there really isn't anything new or different about this movie. The whole thing is dripping with that "independent film" vibe that I've seen a thousand times over, complete with the feel good ending that I find a little tiresome these days. Far and away, the best part of this film is Tomlin, 'Grandma' is the perfect part for her and she nails it, from the bristly beginning to the softer end.
½ May 4, 2017
Fun and entertaining. Excellent cast!
½ April 18, 2017
Its a little sad and i didn't actually find it that funny. The relationships between the generations was engaging but i didn't particularly relate to any of the characters or scenarios. It was quite good.
March 26, 2017
With a stellar central performance by Lily Tomlin and a great script this drama-comedy manages to rise above the average film in that genre and becomes a great journey over its relatively short runtime. It also has a solid supporting cast, looks great, is really funny, has its poignant moments and has a solid score.
February 16, 2017
Lots of good acting and I love Lily Tomlin, but the script left me cold and it certainly was not a comedy.
February 12, 2017
Una muy buena película de mujeres sobre la vida y vivir la vida.
January 15, 2017
Tomlin is hilarious, as always. I enjoyed Elle and her open relationship with her grandaughter, supportive but still stern. It isn't that long of a movie, but the length felt just right. I liked it.
January 15, 2017
A slight, episodic plot barely covers the 80 minutes. Lily Tomlin's charismatic, fierce performance is worth the watch though.
Super Reviewer
½ January 10, 2017
An okay offering from Lily Tomlin. She doesn't get much help from the script or her co-actors in this one I'm afraid.
January 1, 2017
Heartwarming and delectably humorous, it is an aberrant family comedy about three generations of women in a lesbian-parented family catching up on their differences and finding unexpected reconciliation en route to an abortion clinic.
December 29, 2016
Engaging performances
Page 1 of 19