Grand Theft Auto - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Grand Theft Auto Reviews

Page 1 of 5
Super Reviewer
March 2, 2018
An heiress steals Daddy's Rolls Royce ("that's my baby!") so she can marry Joe Average which then escalates into a its-for-laughs 'zany' cross-country car chase. There's plenty of car crashes afterwards to hide that there's zero characterization. Even the romance, the driving impetus for this movie about driving, seems an unfortunate afterthought. Blasé.
October 14, 2017
Th is another movie that cast Ron Howard as a speed-obsessed young man, but it is a bit more charming than Eat My Dust, perhaps because the characters' motivations are a bit more sympathetic. You have a girl fleeing an arranged marriage, on the run from her father's goons who want to stop them from eloping in Vegas.

Worth a look.
½ September 13, 2015
This is one of many guilty pleasures. I fuckin love this cheese fest of a movie.
December 28, 2014
Crazy car crash movie (in every sense of the word!).
½ September 20, 2014
This was a very boring movie about cars just runing and crashing each other.. the movie is not like the games
August 10, 2014
Review In A Nutshell:

Ron Howard is a director that I have barely scratched the surface of; having seen only three of his films, and was viewed at a time where films were barely a priority of mine. Those films were "How the Grinch Stole Chirstmas", "The DaVinci Code", and "Angels and Demons". Those certainly are his most well-known works, but they aren't the ones that convinced the world that he is one of Hollywood's top directors. I didn't know what to expect out of Grand Theft Auto, as my lack of experience of the director may lead me to disliking the film and the fact that this is his first film, it may come off as predictably amateurish and lacking that distinctive quality that would stand him out as a filmmaker. Fortunately the film holds up quite well, and shows that Ron Howard's destiny in life is to be more than just an actor, he is a quality filmmaker.

Grand Theft Auto contains a simple plot, detailing the story of a young boy and girl driving towards Las Vegas to elope while being chased by particular individuals due to the reward that comes with their capture. The film wastes no time in pushing its plot forward, as within the first couple of minutes, the complication sinks in. From then on, the film delivers an adrenaline pumping and exhilarating ride, filled with stunts and characters that constantly maintain the audience's attention. During the film's first 30-40 minutes, I was with it. I was determined to see these two kids at the very end, hoping they would succeed in their plan and that they could outrun these obstacles. But when it hits around the middle of its second act, I started to grow tired of its intensity, as I was searching for something more from its story and characters. Thankfully, just before the film's climax, comes a break that elevates the drama between the relationship of the two protagonists, showing me that they are complex characters and not just hollow individuals, in service to the film's plot. Then the film's climax arrives, and it doesn't reach the excitement that the film was able to deliver during the early stages of the film, but it was handled well enough to be satisfactory.

At first, beyond its surface, the film has very little to offer. But once the film piles its story up, one can start to see Howard's intentions of depicting society as heartless opportunists, allowing themselves to only be involved in situations if one can gain a some sort of benefit from it; and what is more obvious than using a large sum of money as a motive. The worst one of course, is the fame hungry radio host, who intends to follow them through their entire journey. He shows no sympathy for the couple as it doesnâ??t help him get more followers; he simply wants the action to keep on going. Is this Howard's way of reflecting the superficiality of society, showing the desperation and lengths that one would go through in order to keep with the gossip of people that a person doesn't even personally know? I doubt this was Ron and Rance Howard's intentions when writing the film, but nevertheless it is there.

I never thought this film was going to impress me, as I assume that because this would be Ron Howard's first film; it would lack the polish that big budget Hollywood action films are able to deliver. Grand Theft Auto is actually a stunner in regards to its action sequences, delivering at least more than 3 or 4 major set pieces that had me going "Whoa, did that just happen?". This proves that Howard is a gifted director, who is able to understand what the audience wants and ensuring that his film is able to deliver above their expectations. True, this film is a stepping stone for the director as he still needs to prove to the studio that he is a profitable and valuable asset, and if one thinks this film doesn't deliver that, then you must be nuts.

The acting in this film is certainly its weak point. I was able to forgive the film for most of its moments, as I never expected anything astounding from a film like this, but there were a couple of moments, particularly the scene between the two protagonist during the third act, as Nancy Morgan's performance was just rotten. She tries so hard to be emotionally vulnerable and strong at the same time but instead it simply came out as an awkward campy performance that could easily make one cringe. Luckily, Ron Howard was able to elevate the scene between the two and overall made the moment impacting. It is clear that the supporting players in this film are having so much fun playing their roles, and I think that was one of the reasons why I was in such a gleeful mood during the entire film.

Grand Theft Auto is certainly not a cinematic classic, but it is a significant film for the now well-established director. It gives us a glimpse of his roots and a taste of what would emerge from him in the future.
August 10, 2014
Review In A Nutshell:

Ron Howard is a director that I have barely scratched the surface of; having seen only three of his films, and was viewed at a time where films were barely a priority of mine. Those films were "How the Grinch Stole Chirstmas", "The DaVinci Code", and "Angels and Demons". Those certainly are his most well-known works, but they aren't the ones that convinced the world that he is one of Hollywood's top directors. I didn't know what to expect out of Grand Theft Auto, as my lack of experience of the director may lead me to disliking the film and the fact that this is his first film, it may come off as predictably amateurish and lacking that distinctive quality that would stand him out as a filmmaker. Fortunately the film holds up quite well, and shows that Ron Howard's destiny in life is to be more than just an actor, he is a quality filmmaker.

Grand Theft Auto contains a simple plot, detailing the story of a young boy and girl driving towards Las Vegas to elope while being chased by particular individuals due to the reward that comes with their capture. The film wastes no time in pushing its plot forward, as within the first couple of minutes, the complication sinks in. From then on, the film delivers an adrenaline pumping and exhilarating ride, filled with stunts and characters that constantly maintain the audience's attention. During the film's first 30-40 minutes, I was with it. I was determined to see these two kids at the very end, hoping they would succeed in their plan and that they could outrun these obstacles. But when it hits around the middle of its second act, I started to grow tired of its intensity, as I was searching for something more from its story and characters. Thankfully, just before the film's climax, comes a break that elevates the drama between the relationship of the two protagonists, showing me that they are complex characters and not just hollow individuals, in service to the film's plot. Then the film's climax arrives, and it doesn't reach the excitement that the film was able to deliver during the early stages of the film, but it was handled well enough to be satisfactory.

At first, beyond its surface, the film has very little to offer. But once the film piles its story up, one can start to see Howard's intentions of depicting society as heartless opportunists, allowing themselves to only be involved in situations if one can gain a some sort of benefit from it; and what is more obvious than using a large sum of money as a motive. The worst one of course, is the fame hungry radio host, who intends to follow them through their entire journey. He shows no sympathy for the couple as it doesn't help him get more followers; he simply wants the action to keep on going. Is this Howard's way of reflecting the superficiality of society, showing the desperation and lengths that one would go through in order to keep with the gossip of people that a person doesn't even personally know? I doubt this was Ron and Rance Howard's intentions when writing the film, but nevertheless it is there.

I never thought this film was going to impress me, as I assume that because this would be Ron Howard's first film; it would lack the polish that big budget Hollywood action films are able to deliver. Grand Theft Auto is actually a stunner in regards to its action sequences, delivering at least more than 3 or 4 major set pieces that had me going "Whoa, did that just happen?". This proves that Howard is a gifted director, who is able to understand what the audience wants and ensuring that his film is able to deliver above their expectations. True, this film is a stepping stone for the director as he still needs to prove to the studio that he is a profitable and valuable asset, and if one thinks this film doesn't deliver that, then you must be nuts.

The acting in this film is certainly its weak point. I was able to forgive the film for most of its moments, as I never expected anything astounding from a film like this, but there were a couple of moments, particularly the scene between the two protagonist during the third act, as Nancy Morgan's performance was just rotten. She tries so hard to be emotionally vulnerable and strong at the same time but instead it simply came out as an awkward campy performance that could easily make one cringe. Luckily, Ron Howard was able to elevate the scene between the two and overall made the moment impacting. It is clear that the supporting players in this film are having so much fun playing their roles, and I think that was one of the reasons why I was in such a gleeful mood during the entire film.

Grand Theft Auto is certainly not a cinematic classic, but it is a significant film for the now well-established director. It gives us a glimpse of his roots and a taste of what would emerge from him in the future.
½ May 21, 2014
I had no idea what to expect from Grand Theft Auto, but with a title that matches a popular video game series, Ron Howard as director and Roger Forman as producer, I hoped possibly for some cheap fun in the gimmicks.

Grand Theft Auto is actually pretty funny in parts for certain reasons. I mean, the film delivers what the title promises because it is packed with so many cars being stolen by repetitive and campy characters. But once that novelty wears off, the film begins to run out of steam fairly fast. I know that the film has a low budget and can only do so much, but going into a series of repetitive crashes with a hell of a lot of random characters makes it seem less like a narrative picture and more like a series of random comedy sketches which all follow the same central theme but are very hit and miss with their success. Fans of cheap car crash movies may enjoy the gimmicks in Grand Theft Auto, but it's lack of cheap versatility proves to be its downfall and not even Ron Howard's role as director can save that. He is more of a stunt director than anything in Grand Theft Auto, because it isn't that necessary to have a genuine film director to craft something as simple as Grand Theft Auto together.
Ron Howard would later go on to beve a critically acclaimed director of many films, such as the Academy Award winning film A Beautiful Mind, so it is good to see him come so far since Grand Theft Auto. I guess it was just that film that he had to get out of the way before trying again. And for what it's worth, Grand Theft Autonjad a certain sense of low budget camp fun to it, but it is only so certain and is very inconsistent which means that Grand theft Auto is merely a sporadically funny comedy. There were a few moments where I laughed and I enjoyed a few of the car crashes, but the word few must be emphasised here. I guess I would say that Grand Theft Auto is fun in parts, but as a whole it is just ridiculous.
Grand Theft Auto is so ridiculously over the top but underwhelming that it is line tree watched on fast forward. The actors actually speak fairly slow, and the increased speed of the film makes Grand Theft Auto a little bit more fun in an unintentional and very silly way. But the simple fact that Grand Theft Auto doesn't have funny characters means that it cannot break free of the limitations facing its simplistic theme and repetitive formula. If you're gonna build a film solely on the basis of car chases and crashes, then they have to be good ones. But although there are a few decent ones in the intro, Grand Theft Auto soon after ends up on a repetitive streak that it fails to escape. I mean if you watch the film for ten minutes, you've already seen everything you're going to see for the remaining 74 minutes. There are no surprises in Grand Theft Auto, and the cheap fun runs out of energy pretty fast do of ends up more as a simple novelty than as an actual film.
Grand Theft Auto lacks the intelligence or originality of Ron Howard's many superior films, and the cheap fun of a good Roger Corman film.
I guess if anything it would be kind of fun to pretend that Grand Theft Auto was a spin off of Happy Days because of how it features both Ron Howard and Marion Ross in performing roles, and they both do a decent job of things in their performances. The youthful charm of Nancy Morgan is also a nice touch.

But despite a few funny moments, Grand Theft Auto is simply a sporadically funny comedy which is very repetitive, cheap and lacking in originality.
½ March 17, 2014
Grand Theft Auto is over-the-top, implausible, and cliché in the most entertaining ways.
½ March 13, 2014
a turkey worth watching.
March 5, 2014
Piss off, pig!

A rich girl decides she doesn't want to march to her parent's orders and eventually rebels to the point where she chooses a fiancé and decides to elope to Vegas. When her parents discover her decision, they send her to her room. She sneaks out, steals their car, and picks up her boyfriend and heads to Vegas. Her anticipating fiancé, set up by her parents, puts a rumor of her kidnapping out through the radio with a price on her and her true fiance's head. Everyone who needs money will hunt the couple down to stop them.

"He realizes there's a conflict."

Ron Howard, director of Cinderella Man, The Da Vinci Code, How the Grinch Stole Christmas, Ransom, Apollo 13, Willow, Far and Away, and Backdraft, delivers Grand Theft Auto. The storyline for this picture is pretty straight forward with interesting characters and situations and worthwhile car chase scenes. The acting is just okay and the cast includes Ron Howard, Nancy Morgan, Elizabeth Rogers, Clint Howard, and Rance Howard.

"I will not tolerate police harassment."

I watched this movie on Netflix recently and was always excited to see these old Ron Howard pictures (huge fan of the 70s car films). This was just okay, fairly average to be honest, and a definite step down from Death Race 2000, Two-Lane Blacktop, or Dirty Mary Crazy Larry. This is worth viewing once if you're a fan of the genre but is not a classic within the genre.

"Don't get your bowls in an uproar."

Grade: C+
January 7, 2014
Since the video game series was a favorite of mine, might as well check this flick out!
September 15, 2013
And nope it's not the game, it's the car chase comedy with Ron Howard, a funny story as well as decent crashes and smashes make this Howard-Corman classic watchable.
July 10, 2013
A decent enough car chase movie by the relatively young Ron Howard (also starring). It has all the usual from a movie of this type and for something made on a relatively low budget has plenty of really well done stunts, explosions and general destruction. All round fun but not much more.
May 24, 2013
68% "We've got a cockamania circus on our hands!"-Sam Freeman

Opie is involved in a chase thats causes thousands of dollars worth in damage.
May 10, 2013
This film is pure fun. Though it has a very "loose" structure that just leads toward a series of ever more explosive car crashes, I enjoyed it as all people should enjoy exploitation - for the FUN of it.
April 19, 2013
Great fun, very funny, a strange combination of Vanishing Point and Romeo and Juliet, overall great. One of Howard's best.
March 30, 2013
Ultra annoying first feature from Ron Howard.
½ January 8, 2013
it was an ok movie but not as funny as I thought it would be, I don't think it's worth seeing again, it was directed by Ron Howard and he also starred in it, I own this film on DVD, it was ok but expected it to be funnier
½ August 4, 2012
It was fun keeping count of the cars that were wrecked on film.
Page 1 of 5