The Goonies - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Goonies Reviews

Page 1 of 1500
May 20, 2019
The Goonies is an adventure film.Goonies is a film that has a group of kids who want to find a treasure.The actors of Goonies are good the landscape are amazing and the production do a very good work.
½ April 26, 2019
One of the best movies of all time.
April 25, 2019
One of the best movies of all time!
April 23, 2019
A timeless movie that inspires adventure for both kids and adults.
April 23, 2019
The Goonies is back in cinemas for a short time and I had unbelievably never seen it. I didn't go in with the highest of hopes despite it's classic status but I thoroughly enjoyed it. It's a sweet adventure about misfits, morals, honesty and childhood whimsy. Albeit a little cringey and saccharine at times you can't help but get swept away by the sense of fun it exudes and the genuine want for them to all succeed and save their town from the typically corrupt evil businessman guy. Having recently seen and loved Jordan Peele's "Us" I remembered during the film that The Goonies was a bit of inspiration for "Us" so a few lines gave me that satisfied feeling a movie fan gets when they link two completely different films together. It certainly has a sense of Spielbergian magic and it's a joy to watch all of the heart felt child performances and they're clearly all having a blast doing it. A fun adventure film with simple story morals but big heart.
April 19, 2019
This is now the 10th time I've seen the Goonies and I can say that it was as good as I remembered.

The Goonies is a cult film that came out in 1985 and was directed by Stephen Spielberg. The film stars Sean Astin as Mikey and Josh Brolin as Brand.

The acting for the most part was very strong especially for a mostly kid cast. Personally I don't very much like most children actors luckily for the Goonies the kids really feel like kids.

The film also has some of the best and most memorable characters in cinema history. The villains were also portrayed really well and were fun and enjoyable to watch on screen.

The characters from the Goonies to the Fratelli's all had really good chemistry with each other especially with the two Fratelli brothers Jake and Francis.

The cinematography was steady with some very good shots of the scenery and the characters.

The set design in my opinion is really strong all the way down to the smallest detail.

The props were good for the most part, but some times you could tell that they were fake.

The costume and makeup design fits the characters very well especially Sloth.

The film also has a very sound style from the colour scheme to the characters.

The practical effects are done very well especially for the time and budget of only $19,000,000.

The film also has some good special effects especially for the time even though you can kind of tell their fake.

The film also has a really great score and a really strong soundtrack. The soundtrack is also memorable and something that I could whistle off the top of my head.

The story follows a bunch of kids The Goonies who are trying to find a way to stay in their town after their parents are being forced out of their houses because of money problems. The Goonies then find a map that leads them to a restaurant in which a group of criminals are hanging out. The search is on to find one eyed Willies treasure.

The comedy is really strong and had me laughing out loud throughout the runtime of the film. One of the funniest scenes involves the Fratelli's trying to make Chunk talk.

The atmosphere in the film is also very good at points especially toward the end with one eyed Willie and his treasure.

The film did have a couple things wrong, but for the most part it doesn't really take away.

The film is also really enjoyable and over all a feel good film.

Over all I give it a 8/10 - one of the classics
April 18, 2019
A classic adventure film!
April 1, 2019
Una pelicula inolvidable
March 12, 2019
wow, what a great movie. def 10/10
March 10, 2019
A fun kids movie, not entirely believable but the same could be said for just about every movie. I watched this again recently and I feel it has held up pretty good, considering it is over 30 years old.
March 9, 2019
AMAZING!!! Currently have seen this movie 7 times and is my current favorite movie! It is hilarious and a must watch (especially for kids)!
-Eleven
March 8, 2019
Still love this movie, even though they cut out the octopus scene.
February 27, 2019
While the actors do a good job, the characters are unlikeable, the comedy is boring and the plot is way too convenient, this is a tressure not worth searching for.
February 24, 2019
An incredibly quotable 80s classic. Who doesn't love The Goonies?
½ February 23, 2019
One of the worst movies that I've ever watched. It was agony to sit through. A totally stupid and implausible plot coupled with dialog that consisted mainly of kids screaming and trying to yell over each other. Throw in a completely unconvincing romance, and you have a really terrible movie.
February 20, 2019
this is a good movie but its a movie for kids
January 15, 2019
Absolute classic movie - watched it many times over the years and just finished watching it again!
- Highly Recommended!
January 5, 2019
The Goonies should be the dictionary definition of adventure. It has wit, charm, hilarity and sheer memorability. One of the 80's very best films.
½ January 1, 2019
Jumpstarting many of these star's careers, such as Josh Brolin and Sean Astin the Goonies is a fun, funny movie full of heart and humor
December 13, 2018
watch for the story or watch for every reason because this movie is great definitely a poor soul if you don't
Page 1 of 1500