The Goods: Live Hard, Sell Hard - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Goods: Live Hard, Sell Hard Reviews

October 23, 2009
A throng of outrageous supporting characters do little to salvage this stalled effort.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 23, 2009
It isn't merely bad, it makes you want to clamp your hands to either side of your face and do an impersonation of The Scream.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/5
October 23, 2009
This film is so crass and so lowbrow its hairline is level with the carpet underlay. And yet, and yet, I must hang my head and confess I did laugh a fair bit.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 23, 2009
They look as if they could provide more laughs but are defeated by bovine gags retrieved from a trashcan full of out-takes.
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
October 23, 2009
That mainstream cinema continually serves up such offensive offal is one thing, but the fact that the boundaries of taste are challenged with such regularity is made all the more alarming when passed off as harmless fun.
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
October 23, 2009
The film is randy and rough-hewn even by the standards of its genre. I could claim to have found it tasteless and mirthless, but that would be a lie.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 20, 2009
It's a grab bag of comic ideas, but some of the gags are impressively perverse.
August 17, 2009
I definitely laughed, just not enough to fully recommend it.
August 17, 2009
This was funny in the beginning, no question, but then it turned into I thought a sort of a very stale comedy.
August 14, 2009
I laughed more than I thought I would (though of course hope springs eternal at the movies) and if I ran the Hollywood zoo, I'd give these particular screenwriters another assignment.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 14, 2009
The oh-so-out-there mentality earns some chuckles, but that, along with Piven's preening, gets very trying. A hard sell is still a hard sell.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 14, 2009
The Goods: Live Hard, Sell Hard has a beater's clunky, fast-moving charm.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 14, 2009
The Goods, which shows signs of considerable tinkering in the editing room, is understandably not getting a hard sell at all by its studio.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
August 14, 2009
The Goods is not without its share of laughs. But the laughs come with contempt and condescension, not empathy.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 14, 2009
This film is like a piano falling on a car -- it may sound funny, but not when it happens to you.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
August 14, 2009
Something about The Goods: Live Hard, Sell Hard feels forgettable, even though, in the moment, it's often very funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 14, 2009
The flick has the right cast to be a funny ride, but instead suffers from a panicky sense of desperation to cram it all in while offending as many people as possible with lowball yuks.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
August 14, 2009
The audience will no doubt laugh on cue as The Goods hits its marks with dutiful predictability, but they shouldn't be surprised if they come to feel like they've been had.
August 14, 2009
A grubby-looking comedy about the art of the sale.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
August 13, 2009
Most of The Goods just sits there, a lumpen load of dullness.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
August 13, 2009
An aggressively hard-sell of a loud, abrasive comedy.
August 13, 2009
A project about selling used cars invites abuse, but the movie indeed runs out of gas, squandering a wealth of comedy talent mostly associated with television.
August 13, 2009
The Goods has its exuberant moments. But the people behind the camera don't appear to know what they're doing as well as those in front of it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 13, 2009
Funny ideas bubble up from time to time only to disappear into a morass of stripper jokes and desperation.
Read More | Original Score: D+
August 13, 2009
The Goods is a cheerfully energetically and very vulgar comedy. If you're okay with that, you may be okay with this film, which contains a lot of laughs and has studied Political Correctness only enough to make a list of groups to offend.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 13, 2009
It's just repetitive, adolescent and lame.
August 12, 2009
The comedy concept is solid... It's the execution that's out of alignment in The Goods: Live Hard, Sell Hard.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
August 12, 2009
It's an unconscionable waste of talent, an immediate embarrassment for Jeremy Piven, Ving Rhames, David Koechner, Ed Helms and Tony Hale. Who knows how much they got paid, but if it wasn't a lot, they were robbed.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
August 12, 2009
It's a car-selling comedy that plays like a backfiring Bentley -- a shiny ride that runs in fits and starts, never quite hitting on all cylinders.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5