Goodbye, Mr. Chips - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Goodbye, Mr. Chips Reviews

Page 1 of 1
July 20, 2020
This was just brilliant.The best ever version of this classic tale,just wonderful.
½ February 27, 2016
skip this & see the best version of this oft told tale the non-musical 1939 version.
Super Reviewer
½ February 20, 2011
Masterpiece Theatre does it again.This is a beautifully rendered version of the beloved story. The acting, and photography, are top notch. The dialogue is very well written, and engaging. I think this is just as good as all the other versions I have seen. Clune's performance is not only outstanding, but very touching and heartfelt. There are scenes that brought me to tears. His expressive features underscore his solid acting. A very nice retelling.
February 4, 2011
Very pleasantly surprised with this remake of an old favourite. Martin Clunes continues to impress as Mr Chipping, breathing new life and bringing a new perspective to this much loved character!
July 12, 2010
Martin Clunes gives a fine performance and brought tears to my eyes. I find this version so much better than the old one with Robert Donat. I usually prefer earlier versions of any classic story, but I really didn't like the way Robert Donat played the old Chips; too jaunty and downright syrupy. The musical was, in my opinion, painful to sit through (though a couple of the Leslie Bercuse songs were very nice on their own.) THIS is my favorite adaptation of Goodbye, Mr. Chips!
January 2, 2010
truelly brilliant film gotta find it and buy this.
November 19, 2009
good old fashioned british hunour,romance n fiction all roled into one!
October 22, 2009
I really quite enjoyed this movie. Its a heartwarming and emotional tale. Martin Clunes pulls of a great performance and entirely different to what hes known for. (Martin Clunes)
January 8, 2009
it was a bit slow to start with but got better. Really enjoyed it. I cried 3 times! Really blubbed at the end! Lovely story with good messages. Martin Clunes performance is brilliant, very touching.
Page 1 of 1