Gods and Generals - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Gods and Generals Reviews

Page 1 of 44
May 15, 2019
If you like the Civil War this is the best movie available to watch.
April 27, 2019
There are plenty of people who've already made the points that I would have made, and better than I could have. So I'll just settle for giving this great movie a five star rating to help drown out the sensationalist brainlets.

That is all.
½ March 11, 2019
Considering RT gave Birth of a Nation a 98% score (even though it's basically propaganda for the KKK), their score of this movie just goes to show how backwards they've become in movie reviews. Gods and Generals was still pretty long and boring. Would've served better as a TV mini-series or just direct to dvd.
February 8, 2019
long but very powerful and emotional..today movies like this will be shot down cuz it doesnt paint the south as c
½ October 25, 2018
Excellent, moving; well-acted and well-written.
June 28, 2018
While many disregard this film as Southern propaganda, this film does a brilliant job of depicting a side of the war not normally seen while still giving us the stoic, anti-slavery sentiments of union officer Chamberlain. This film accurately depicts what it was like to fight on a Virginia battlefield with the mysticism of having Stonewall Jackson on the field that emboldened Confederates and brought fear into the hearts of Union soldiers.
½ April 22, 2018
Long and drawn out. But still beautiful in many ways.
April 5, 2018
This film is responsible and sensitive in humanizing the Confederate side but its not compelling enough to justify its ridiculous run time.
April 1, 2018
This was great and finally showed the southern generals and people as more than just a one dimensional racist pack of hillbillies. A little melodramatic with the family interactions but you have to expect a bit of that. Overall it was amazing
½ March 24, 2018
Initially looking forward to being not only entertained but educated, I sat waiting, thinking "....when's Ben Hur arriving?" Done with it after a half hour. Tired of tired acting, action and arrogant, foppish dialogue. Just amazed at how much looking to God and the heavens was done in the first 15 minutes. Thought it would get better... nup! Learnt nought about history.
August 10, 2017
This movie should be amazing. Tons of actors, good looking, score is nice. After the opening credits were probably 50% too long, I discovered that this was a movie about speeches. Blat! Don't care...
August 1, 2017
The negative ratings are mainly from folks that believe the South was all evil and the north was pure and innocent. BS. If not for Pickett getting lost for a couple of days, Gettysburg would have been a resounding victory for the South. Lee and Jackson were far superior to an generals in the Union. Lincoln had 3 times the men and equipment and yet was whupped for 2 plus years. The South will rise again. Forget Hell! lol
July 13, 2017
Best civil war movie ever made. Yes, it's long, and the dialogue can certainly seem to drag on and on at times, but the historical accuracy of the battles and characters is superb. The movie also does a good job of portraying the characters as the human beings that they really were, rather than the monsters that many people wrongly make them out to be.
June 24, 2017
The Civil War is still a very polarizing discussion even 150 years after. The war can't be effectively explained by either of the most popular views, the mythical Lost Cause, or the equally mythical War of Emancipation. However, Gods and Generals is one of very few movies not told totally from the mythical War of Emancipation perspective. That unique status may give some small justification to it leaning firmly to the myth of the Lost Cause side.
The filming is dynamic and fitting of its epic proportions. The costumes and makeup is definitely better than most films of this genre. The cannon fire and battle scenes are above the average.
While some of the characters are 2 dimensional and some suffer from being forced to read lines drawn from their written communiques, Stephen Lang delivers an immaculate performance as Thomas "Stonewall" Jackson and Jeff Daniels gives a very solid portrayal of Lt. Col. Joshua Chamberlain. And, Robert Duvall gives us the most believable portrayal of General Robert E. Lee to date.
Though long, for civil war aficionados this is a very watchable film!
May 22, 2017
The official score by Rotten Tomatoes is completely biased and irrational. The slight confederate bias doesn't deny the fact that it's a great historical movie and that it opens up our eyes to new perspectives on the war that we're taught is completely black and white (literally)
April 25, 2017
This is an unusually long movie, however, it is well worth the watch. Many people think that it is "pro confederate," but that is because we have always been taught that the civil war was just because of slavery, and that everyone in the south was bad. This movie, while partially fictional, gives a glance as to why the events of the early years of the Civil War took place, and how it shaped the men that, whether you like it or not, shaped our nation
½ February 17, 2017
Very skeptical to watch it at first, but it's defiantly a good movie *IF* you liked Gettysburg (1993). The strength of this prequel is expanding its characters from Gettysburg and it's very hard to appreciate them if you haven't seen Chamberlain defend Little Round Top, Hancock initiating the engagement at Gettysburg, etc etc. This movie focus' on the several battles leading up to Gettysburg, and it is very well done despite critical reception.

As a standalone film, it's very hard to like. As a sequel/Prequel to Gettysburg (1993) it's very easy to like and be engaged in.
½ February 17, 2017
I absolutely loved Gettysburg, and found the audiobook of "Gods and Generals" extremely compelling, but the attempt to adapt it to film was an abysmal failure. Worse, I made the silly mistake of taking a date to see it. I am about the biggest Civil War buff you ever want to meet, but I am not ashamed to admit that I slept through at least an hour of this mess. Stephen Lang is galaxies worse as Stonewall Jackson than he was as Pickett in Gettysburg, and Duvall as Robert E. Lee was sleep-inducing, as well. Honestly, I can't think of a single thing to say to praise this monstrosity. The battle scenes feel generic, even though they are miles more realistic than those in Gettysburg, and the terrible acting performances and atrocious direction are like poison pills for a film that spends a lot more time than its predecessor following the generals around between engagements.

Probably the single worst aspect of it all, though, is the fact that there is no dialogue, in the true sense. The characters speak to each other in melodramatic, long speeches. It would be awkward to watch even if it weren't so incredibly boring.
December 16, 2016
I don't know how anyone could give this a low rating..This was a fantastic movie... The Generals in this film are the kinds of leading men we do not have anymore... We need men like this to lead our country, not the crying liberals we have had for many years.....I did not find this a long sit at all....I loved this, and would sit again and watch it....I loved it !!!
November 5, 2016
This movie is really passionate for the Confederate(anti-US, slaveowners) side of the war. It also forgets Stephen Lang's role in the last movie and makes him the anti-Spartacus, insane father Stonewall Jackson. Too bad Martin Sheen couldn't come back, but I don't see how much better can Robert Duvall do here. Don't expect to see anyone familiar from Gettysburg apart from the Chamberlain Bros. I don't see how the dvd is marked "Special Extended Edition" and over two discs when it is only the standard version. If you need something to learn about the war, go to Virginia, because this movie tells little if anything.
Page 1 of 44