Girl - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Girl Reviews

March 15, 2019
Having seen the film, this cis critic certainly wouldn't claim to understand the reality of life as a trans person. It makes me want to, though.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 15, 2019
Even disregarding the controversy, Girl does not work, mainly because Dhont's focus is all wrong.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
March 15, 2019
An immersive, empathetic film that speaks the language of tolerance without getting preachy.
March 15, 2019
I found the film both informative and profound.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 14, 2019
By helping Monsecour heal by sharing her story, Dhont has done a wonderful thing that speaks to his purposes and successes. I'll be interested to see whose story he tells next.
Top Critic
March 14, 2019
I was grateful for Girl, which I think offers a new reading on the young trans experience.
March 13, 2019
Many dreams, Dhont suggests, come with nightmares attached - by society, by biology or even by the individual's own insurgent fears and qualms.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 13, 2019
The sheer sustained intensity of the drama and performances carry it through.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 13, 2019
A film which reminds us that nuance and representation matters.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 24, 2019
One of the most agonisingly well-observed films about being an adolescent that I've ever seen.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
December 27, 2018
It feels exploitative, rather than empathetic. But it's the irresponsible handling of the film's final, shocking scenes that is the most problematic.
Top Critic
October 8, 2018
Where most queer films are about external conflicts and prejudice, Lara's primary conflict in this movie is with what she sees in the mirror.
September 16, 2018
Dhost's nonjudgmental film doesn't traverse new territory for a trans film, and it features too much dancing, but it benefits from its authenticity.
May 16, 2018
This isn't just a trans story -- it's also a broader story of becoming, and the bold steps required to get there.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
May 14, 2018
Looks terrific, is not afraid to tackle a number of difficult subjects and features a star-making performance from acting and dancing talent Victor Polster.
May 14, 2018
How to stand out and blend in at the same time? Few films convey that tension better than "Girl," a deeply humane first feature from Belgian director Lukas Dhont about a transgender teen who wants to be a ballerina.