G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra Reviews

Page 1 of 1860
½ February 12, 2019
Snake Eyes and Storm Shadow are pretty cool, in fact the general look of the film is good looking. But then the characters start talking, and the story keeps going and it's never enough to keep you engaged, or entertained.
January 13, 2019
G.I. JOE: THE RISE OF COBRA had the potential to become an engaging action flick, but its ridiculous premise and its childish elements make this movie a bit too dumb for adults.
½ January 9, 2019
I don't know how I've let this film get such a pass for so long. Nothing in it makes any sense! Weaponizing warheads (oxymoron much?), stealing the technology that you built and could easily have built in your massive underwater facility just so it could be funded by NATO just to give yourself a bigger chance of getting caught so you can replace a president where you could just easily do so in transport, or maybe making ice sink in water (something that would have taken the entire crew years of not ever drinking from a convenience store to not comprehend maybe)... I don't know which was the worst travesty. Not to mention tarnishing the careers of some seriously amazing talent: Joseph Gordon-Leavitt, Lee Byung-Hun, Ray Park, Dennis Quaid, Christopher Eccleston, Jonathan Pryce, and even Channing Tatum or Brendan Frasier... All were in this film! How could that many good actors agree to such a trash compacted script! I think the only reason I liked this initially was because the trailers made me think it was a Halo movie, and when I was let down I tried to appreciate it for what it was. You can't make this many mistakes and expect me to like it, no matter how much I try to daydream about Mjolnir exoskeletons in film.
November 16, 2018
It's big, it's dumb.
October 30, 2018
Tremendous Actions,
Vfx,Cast,Story, Stunts everything is Tremendous...
Best Regards
½ September 14, 2018
Good fun action film.
September 12, 2018
G.I. Joe Rise of Cobra's special effects are more confusing and haphazardly (it seems just like a lot of straight lines scattered around especially with lasers firing at each other, the fires and explosions block out most of the screen so that you almost can't tell what's going on) than visually dazzling and entertaining - and also the film's very dense component of mind control and nanotechnology (nanomites to be precise) and chemical warfare leaves VERY little room for the characters to escape the movie's black-and-white morality. The movie worries too much about ensuring that its science fiction doesn't come off as too ludicrous and a lot more believable by having Destro explain it all out in his angry monotonous tone.

What director Stephen Sommers and the writers seem to be forgetting is that GI Joe A Real American Hero was popular for its characters, not for science fiction and original weaponry.
August 17, 2018
G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra is over-the-top with characters who don't have that much of a personality despite the writers' desperation to give them some. Marlon Wayans is a toned-down Marlon Wayans in this movie and the villains are more compelling than the actual heroes. Yet I find this movie fun in its own weird way The effects are decent at best, the action is fun and it's miles better than the other Paramount-Hasbro movie released in the same year. You know which one. I didn't really watch the cartoon or read any comic books so I can only judge the movie by its own merits. Yes, The Rise of Cobra has action movie cliches and corny one-liners but The Rise of Cobra isn't unwatchable. At least, it hasn't overstayed its welcome unlike those giant alien robots that live next door to the Joes.
August 12, 2018
It is the best movie ever made! Still can't believe most of the original cast wasn't in the sequel! Disappointed...
August 7, 2018
Not a horrible adaptation.
April 5, 2018
Awful, implausible and cheesy.
½ February 15, 2018
The sort of flick that is so relentlessly stupid, it actually takes pot shots at thinking. Case in point: One character (the supposedly brainy one) says to another, "I don't believe in emotions, since you can't prove they exist"-which is, uh, patently false? Only a person without a brain would ever discount what brain scans turn up. Ploddingly dumb, and not much fun as a result, because the movie never fully embraces the stupidity, thinking-like the one character-that it somehow is still above it all.
January 2, 2018
Idk why the reviews are so bad, but I thought it was great, actually. I was just expecting more to happen and more to the plot, but it was great otherwise. People must be on drugs if they don't like this movie.
½ January 1, 2018
There is a certain type of movies which are made to hurt people like me - that's how aggressively stupid they are. Let's just say that at some point of this "movie" there is a guy who needs to yell a secret Celtic word to drive a stolen jet and to destroy two missiles with nanowarheads sent to blow up Moscow and Washington...
Super Reviewer
½ December 30, 2017
G.I. Joe. Where to begin. Take a wildly popular and entertaining cartoon, top selling toy line, and give it a massive following that crosses a number of generations. Twist it, warp it, mutate it until it's unrecognizable. Now take a big dump on it, and put it to nonstop, irritating music along with cheesy CGI, bad acting, and a REALLY bad story, and you have G.I. Joe: Rise of Cobra.
I would call it laughably bad, but there is nothing humorous about how absolutely stupid this movie is. They could have given the characters different names and called it something else so they could have taken another crack at it.
G.I. Joe. G.I. JOE!!! You have one shot to get it right over the next few decades, and THIS is what we get? It's pathetic. I can usually at least get SOME entertainment value from it that the complete lack of physics and reality are forgivable. G.I. Joe made it stupid. It was ridiculous in every way.
The actors and acting were sad. Street Fighter with Jean Claude Van Dam was better than this. What a simple movie.
Unfortunately there is no way to give this lump of crap less than half a star.
Ever wonder why a movie has one, maybe two different previews? One reason is that they don't budget the money for advertising, and another is because it's so BAD they can't come up with more parts of the movie to put together to make a decent trailer.
At least while I was watching XXX with Vin Diesel, I thought it was really good. As soon as I started watching G.I. Joe I wanted it to be over. I told my wife that I'd go see it again, and as soon as she got home I begged her to spare me that pain again.
They spent $175,000,000 dollars to make the most..... visually insulting movie I've ever seen. I would have paid it to Dr. Evil as ransom if he would have threatened to make me watch this. Forget the nuclear missile.
Don't go see it just because it's G.I. Joe. Don't even go see it. You have been warned.
August 6, 2017
Mindless fun. Lots of ridiculous action and explosions. Acting is pretty paper thin with very little characterization and the script lays out the plot at every step. Yet..I still enjoyed it. Lots of silly gadgets and some great fight scenes..and literally everyone's in it. :)
½ July 11, 2017
Yes the writing is absurd, the acting is overall just as silly, and the directing is overconfident and overstuffed, but I'd be lying if I said I didn't have fun watching this movie. The action was a lot of fun, and the plot was just formulaic enough to pass for a genuine G.I. Joe plot.
June 17, 2017
A great, fluent action movie.
½ May 31, 2017
A goofy plot and bad acting define G.I. Joe: Rise of the Cobra.
Page 1 of 1860