Ghost Ship - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Ghost Ship Reviews

Page 1 of 424
June 12, 2020
i thought it was pretty good
May 5, 2019
This movie is son underrated! The music is good, the story is strong, Gabriel Byrne did a wonderful job, the plot twist is really unexpected and the cast just click naturally.
½ April 22, 2019
This movie is one of my all- time favorites. I watched it all the time as a child
April 1, 2019
Absolutely awful. A star cast is wasted in this completely unscary and unsatisfying horror movie. The whole cinematography and atmosphere seems off kilter, it's like watching Disney's attempt at horror. Truly terrible.
½ March 29, 2019
"Any film that does not reference its own title in dialogue is simply not worth watching." -Henry David Thoreau

For true lovers of cinema, there occasionally will surface a film that shatters all preconceived notions of what is possible within the medium. These truly generational works will captivate and inspire, leaving an audience with a heightened sense of reality; an altered world view that can never be undone. These films, forever be embedded in the collective unconscious of the human race, include Casablanca, The Godfather, Schindler's List, and now Ghost Ship.

I have arrived at a place where I can remember who I was before I first sat down with six of my cats and slid Ghost Ship into my VCR, but that person seems almost like a stranger. From the moment the crew is introduced to the idea of a mysterious vessel floating adrift through the Atlantic Ocean, I felt as if I was along for the ride with them. Every twist and turn along this entirely unpredictable adventure left me more and more invested in the outcome. The character design, acting, and dialogue, was so intensely believable that after a few short minutes I felt as if I knew these people all of my life.

In a blur, my viewing of Ghost Ship was over. Not until the end credits rolled did I realize that at some point I had left my couch, and I was sitting on hands and knees on the cold tile of my living room, inches away from the TV screen.

If you are watching this film for the first time, I envy you. I would give anything to be able to experience that first viewing again. Savor every moment, you will never get a second first time.
March 29, 2019
Ghost ship is the movie I wish I had seen before I embarked on my three month long quest to find my missing yacht in the middle of the bermuda triangle. Ghost ship saved my babies from a storm. Ghost Ship is what hollywood needs to be and what dragons hoard in their lairs. Im not even joking, I have personally seen dragons with mounds of Ghost Ship copies in various formats.

SPOILER ALERT
By the way, it was an amazing moment when it was revealed that the ship was a ghost ship the whole time. Total mind fuck.
½ February 7, 2019
an interesting movie, not amazing though
some scenes and dialogue can feel cliche
practical effects were good, special effects dont hold up
nice music
plot was good until it got towards the end
overall i enjoyed it, not a movie many would watch more than once
January 21, 2019
The beginning scene was pretty good but the rest of the movie fell of,some characters are sort of funny and cool but other than that the movie is pretty bad.
Super Reviewer
½ January 16, 2019
This is one of those days where I wish I could just crank this review out in five minutes and be done with it because, again, I'm really short for time and I need to cook dinner before tonight's movie. Fuck my life. In all seriousness though, this movie is a bit of a conundrum for me. I know, for a fact, that I saw the first bit of this movie on some cable TV network when I was younger. But I cannot, for the life of me, remember if I had actually seen this in theaters when it first came out with my mom or aunt or both of them. I spent my entire time watching this movie trying to remember as to whether or not I had actually seen this. And, in all honesty, I still can't remember if I did see it in theaters. I'm not saying that my memory is perfect, but I've got a pretty good memory when it comes to movies I've seen in theaters. And this is just one that I'm completely blanking on. I can usually tell if it's one or the other, but I can't do that for this movie. Also, why the fuck am I wasting my time trying to remember whether I could remember such an unmemorable slog of a movie like this one??? Spoiler alert, I didn't really like this movie. It's not like the concept of a ghost ship is a new concept in the medium that is horror, but has it ever been executed as ineffectively as it was in this movie. It's one of those flicks where you just pay attention because you decided to watch it, but you don't REALLY pay attention to. Like you're just watching mindlessly, consuming what this film has to offer without really thinking anything. Talk about engaging, eh??? This tugboat crew is hired to, well, tug this ocean liner that mysteriously disappeared over forty years ago, at the point of this film's release at least, closer to sixty now. When the crew gets to the ocean liner, they find large quantities of gold and, of course, they think they've got it made. The thing is that there's quite a bit to the movie before we actually get to this point and, you know what, I don't really care to recap it because it's fucking boring and uninteresting. After they recover the gold and take it back to their boat, which explodes as the result of some spirit/demonic presence attempting to prevent them from leaving. This starts off a series of increasingly strange events that leads to the death of the entire crew, with the exception of Epps. I suppose the idea is that you're gonna be so intrigued by the mystery of what happened on this ship, where the gold came from and what was the motivating factor for the constant betrayals that went on aboard as everyone tried to get a piece of the pie. I mean $200 million worth in gold is enough motivation but, of course, there was a manipulator here. Anyway, the point is that I didn't really care about any of the mystery behind this ship. So, if you're like me, and you don't care about the mystery behind the disappearance of this ship, where the gold came from and who's the demonic spirit manipulating this, then what's the fucking point of it all? There is no point. The horror is terrible, the characters aren't particularly likable and the scripting is all of the place in that it doesn't know what it wants to be. What am I, or anyone else for that matter, even watching this movie for? I mean, the film fails to provide any reasonable amount of entertainment, so what was this meant to do??? I think I'd like this movie more if it was made to promote Mudvayne's second album. Mudvayne's song 'Not Falling' is featured heavily in this film. Why would I like this movie more for that? I don't really know and I can't actually answer that question, but there's something absurd of spending millions of dollars in producing and marketing this movie only for it to serve as promotional material for a shitty heavy metal band's second album. And I say this as someone who grew up as a metalhead, it's just that I never liked Mudvayne. Regardless, I suppose that's neither here nor there. It comes to be revealed, in the third act, that the person who took the crew to the ocean liner is the demonic spirit that's manipulating everything. It's a job for him, you see, he salvages souls for a living(?) as punishment for a lifetime of sin. I mean, I guess that makes sense, but who doles out the punishment?? Is this Satan himself??? Cause isn't eternal hellfire and damnation punishment enough??? The fact that this guy gets to avoid hell, by salvaging human souls on this ocean liner, honestly, isn't really that bad of a punishment. I mean it was a twist for the sake of a twist. And, even then, it wasn't a twist. The reason I say it wasn't a twist was because you kind of knew that Ferriman was involved somehow. And the reason I say it's a twist for the sake of it is because it, REALLY, doesn't stand up to scrutiny. I imagine they thought they were being cute by having Ferriman/the demonic spirit be a salvager, like the crew of the tugboat are, but when you actually think about it and you analyze it, it doesn't really stand up to any sort of actual scrutiny. You're just supposed to take things at face value and leave it at that, you're not meant to ask questions. And, while it's not as bad as some of Shyamalan's worst twists, it's really bad. It's not that it's that outlandish or preposterous, it's just the fact that it raises more questions than it answers and none of those questions are satisfyingly answered in this movie. I don't really know what else you want me to say about this movie. I feel like I've gone over everything that I need to have gone over in order for this review to be complete. There's nothing of value or importance in this movie. I'm sure this is someone's favorite horror movie and, honestly, I ask myself how and why that is possible. There's so many great horror movies out there and THIS is someone's favorite horror movie??? I'm just going by the law of probability, there's seven billion on this planet, one of them is bound to love this movie. Life just isn't fair sometimes and the fact that there's someone that loves this movie is proof of that. Hey, whatever floats their boats I guess (pardon the pun). Regardless, I felt that this movie sucked. From the horror to the writing to the unlikable characters to the twist, this movie offers very little of value. The film's cast is decent. at best, but, let's just say, they were swimming upstream.
½ January 16, 2019
boring and predictable
January 14, 2019
I enjoy this everytime I watch it. Great B movie to watch on the weekend.
½ January 14, 2019
I love this movie it is one of my favorites and shall continue to be.
½ January 13, 2019
1.5/5. Ghost Ship has a god-tier level opening sequence, but the rest of the film is pretty boring.
January 13, 2019
Me gusta por los eftos y la historia ., no se como comentar pero voy a prender saludos. como comprarla en digital?
January 13, 2019
The people that give this a bad rating are nuts.
Aside from the early 2000s fart rock and the sometimes dodgy CGI, this movie is fucking awesome!
Good story, excellent actors, and decent to excellent gore effects.
Good.goddamn.movie
January 6, 2019
I saw this film in the theater and still enjoy it over 20 yEARS LATER. "GHOST SHIP" is reminiscent of the '30S AND 40S FRIGHT FILMS, WHICH I'VE ALWAYS ENJOYED. THERE IS A CLASSIC FEEL TO "GHOST SHIP." YES, THE PLOT IS OLD, BUT SOMETIMES WHAT'S OLD IS NEW AGAIN.
December 19, 2018
here is an effective scene in the opening but it is false promise and the film is a mediocre ghost slasher on a ship. Ghost Ship is essentially a movie about a bunch of anonymous characters stuck in a floating haunted house. In general, this kind of movie can be diverting if it's put together correctly. (Consider, for example, that Ridley Scott's Alien is essentially a haunted house movie, set on a spaceship.) Unfortunately, Ghost Ship shows little in the way of solid craftsmanship. Since the primary asset of a haunted house movie is rarely the plot, this sub-genre must rely on elements like shock tactics and suspense â" two characteristics where Ghost Ship falls short. Aside from an occasional, half-hearted "boo!" moment, there's nothing scary about this movie. Nearly all of the characters in Ghost Ship are flat, underdeveloped, and uninteresting. The cinematography is meh and the CGI is barely tolerable.
November 6, 2018
I truly don't understand all the hate for this movie. I loved it as a child and still find appreciation for it as an adult
½ October 22, 2018
Ghost Ship is essentially a movie about a bunch of anonymous characters stuck in a floating haunted house. In general, this kind of movie can be diverting if it's put together correctly. (Consider, for example, that Ridley Scott's masterpiece Alien is essentially a haunted house movie, set on a spaceship.) Unfortunately, Ghost Ship shows little in the way of solid craftsmanship. Since the primary asset of a haunted house movie is rarely the plot, this sub-genre must rely on elements like shock tactics and suspense - two characteristics where Ghost Ship falls short. Aside from an occasional, half-hearted "boo!" moment, there's nothing scary about this movie. (Watch it for the opening scene).
½ October 19, 2018
honestly guys, this movie is a shit show but you guys honestly gotta watch it like waste of time but you just gotta watch it. you know what you'll never actually believe what i'm saying until you watch it so just full send.
Page 1 of 424