Get Christie Love! - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Get Christie Love! Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ August 30, 2018
The girl is smart and beautiful and brown-skinned. Got to love the ass-kicking. Fashion is not laughable in this old film. Did they just make a remake of it?
May 12, 2014
This was a made for TV movie intended as a pilot for the Get Christie Love TV show. I remember the TV show. It was ABC's answer to compete with NBC's Police Woman with Angie Dickenson. It was a lot like Police Woman but only lasted one season. I liked it but it didn't last. I also remember Teresa Graves on Laugh-in. She was one of the Bikini girls along with Goldie Hawn that had punch lines painted all over their bodies. ABC thought they could capitalize on the popularity of the Pam Grier movies. The story for the pilot was based on a book by Dorothy Uhnak. You can still buy the book on Amazon. The police woman in the book was white and the story really didn't fit the mold of a Blackplotation movie. All they did was change the last name of the character and had a black woman play the part. The book was based on a call girl witnessing a murder and the police trying to get her to testify against a gangster. There was no murder in the TV movie. They were trying to stop a drug shipment. The actress playing the part of the call girl didn't make a good call girl. She seemed more like a well educated society lady. She was better as Captain Kirk's android love interest. A couple of the scenes with Christie and her boss in front of her apartment would be considered borderline sexual harassment today. I've got this movie on DVD but the sound quality of the DVD is really bad. I had to put on head phones to hear the dialog. My other DVD's don't have that problem.
½ September 9, 2013
A film with this kind of premise would usually end up being terrible, especially for a made-for-TV film. However, thanks to plenty of cheesy moments, Teresa Graves' solid performance, and one very solid drama scene near the end make it fun visit to 70's blaxploitation films. However, this is only a film for people who enjoy blaxploitation films or just cheesy films in general.
April 28, 2013
Almost a three star film....but not quite. It was really missing the action and gritty dialogue similar to other early 70s blacksploitation films. This was a tv pilot for a short lived series and it really feels like it.
November 1, 2012
Pretty decent movie for one that was made for tv.
½ October 15, 2012
Yeah, adapting the general feel of a Blaxploitation film like Foxy Brown to a television film isn't the best idea, so you lose a lot of the 'bite' that those films have when you sanitize them for the broadcast television audience.

Rental for the completists only, as there's a lot of downtime during the middle portion of this one.
Super Reviewer
February 8, 2011
I haven't seen a Pan Grier movie yet to compare to this. I didn't think it was too bad though. So, this made-for-TV movie led to one season of a TV series and as expected with TV censors it was much tamer than the low budget blaxploitation flicks coming out at the time. Still Teresa Graves was smart and beautiful in this picture as she works undercover to outsmart drug runners and suppliers.
May 22, 2010
46/100. This has become somewhat a cult favorite, but that doesn't mean it's good. The performances don't ring true. The plot is a little much and it failed to hold my interest. There are too many slow stretches and it just isn't that interesting.
May 22, 2010
This has become somewhat a cult favorite, but that doesn?t mean it?s good. The performances don?t ring true. The plot is a little much and it failed to hold my interest. There are too many slow stretches and it just isn?t that interesting.
cosmo313
Super Reviewer
February 8, 2009
This is a pretty decent (largely forgotten) blaxploitation flick. It's truly a product of the 70's-meaning that it appears dated, but that really only adds to its charm.
Super Reviewer
½ February 10, 2008
I remember seeing this when I was a young teenager. This later went on to become a TV series about an undercover police detective. It wasn't very good but it was novel at the time because there were few African American females as lead stars back then.
February 4, 2008
Pretty decent movie for one that was made for tv.
½ November 7, 2007
an old school classic ... i luv it !!!
August 26, 2007
It was just... funny. Couldn't take it seriously (quite indicative of "the time")
July 10, 2007
the low-budget version of the lothario's fantasy electronic bedroom is pretty amazing, but the convoluted plot has one too many dead ends. awful cinematography, awful graininess, awful ending, and totally worth watching. ask me if you want to borrow it. lucie liked an album cover only because she thought christie love was on it.
July 8, 2007
"You under arrest, sugah!" Christie Love is more so a female, African-American Barnaby Jones than a sanitized imitation of Foxy Brown. It's too bad that the subsequent TV series didn't catch on as Christie could've been a huge positive role model. Teresa Graves plays her as sassy but strong.
July 1, 2007
Hasn't dated well, but I could see why it was so popular at the time
March 19, 2007
The action, the music. Go get Christie Love!!!!
Page 1 of 1